We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheep and not meaning inexpensive.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of McKinley Chalet Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added McKinley Chalet Resort to your Saves list
McKinley Chalet Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Milepost 238. 5, George Parks Hwy, Alaska, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755   |  
Hotel amenities
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Cheep and not meaning inexpensive.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was part of our Holland America cruise/tour. I don't know how much we paid for the room since it was part of the deal. The food was pricey but was tasty and the wait crew were attentive and cared.
Our room was warm but in bad need of repairs. The Corian shower surround was coming loose from the wall. The shower rod was not attached to the wall at one end. We didn't report any of it.
Our friends in a different room had trouble with water temperature but we didn't notice a problem.
The location was great and we didn't spend a lot of time in the room.
The tundra tour was great with a great tour guide, a definite highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    194
    164
    69
    51
See reviews for
166
261
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jonesborough, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We were in the Canyon lodge at the back of the main building. Rooms and lodge were beautiful. Shuttle was available to take you to the main lodge if you didn't want to hike up the hill. Rooms were very clean. We stayed here as part of a Holland American Cruise tour. Much nicer than the lodge where we stayed on our last Alaska visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were on a Holland America Cruise/Tour and were there for two nights. Our room, a King suite on the 3rd floor, was beautiful, clean, and had an excellent view of the mountains. I was impressed with the whole resort. The food was good in both restaurants although expensive. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talent, OR
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here as part of a Holland America Cruise-tour. Our room was in the building marked CL on the property map on their web site. Since it was part of the cruise pricing, I have no idea if we got a good deal or not, since I have no idea what we actually paid for the room.

The room was large, and had a nice view of the mountains.The furnishings were in good condition. The blinds and window needed a little maintenance, as they were difficult to impossible to operate. One oddity, possibly due to location - all of the cups in the bathroom were paper coffee cups. I don't know if this is normal or was a result of the almost all day power failure they had on the day we arrived.

In this building, there is no 24/7 staffed front desk. There seemed to only be someone there when tours were arriving and departing. When we wanted some hot chocolate mix, we just had to go behind the counter and find it.

This building is at the bottom of a long hill, which we didn't mind walking, but if you can't handle that there are shuttle busses than run fairly continuously.

We only ate at the Courtyard Cafe for breakfast. It was really pricey!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I would like to say this is the best place to stay in the world since we won a trip there, but that would be a lie. It is just average. Rooms were clean. There is a nice river behind our building that you can walk to. I am not sure if it is worth the money, but the are not too many choices up there. I was exspecting more rugged. If the price is right I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Room was great, very nice decor, size, and location! We enjoyed the hiking trails surrounding the chalet. Staff was friendly and helpful. Shuttle availability was great! We thoroughly enjoyed our time there.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Tennessee
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Checked in for 2 nights on Holland tour,captured audience. Given a room in F building-nice river view-turns out the only good part.
Wife attempted to take a shower-ice water then scaling-back and forth,no warning.Slight burns.Told front desk next am,said they would fix along w/no working fan or heater in bath.After breakfast checked and nothing done,said they didn't know,saw the woman I talked to and she admitted wrote wrong rm no. down.They sent maintenance man-fixed heater ,said it would take elect guy for fan and couldn't do anything about shower because it had been that way for 2-3 MONTHS. Parts on order.Went to frt desk,acted dumb,told them had to move -now-had tour at 1:30pm.Said I could move to T blding, only one available,about 3/4 mile away.I told them no,wanted to stay in area w/group.Found open one,somehow in bld A. Moved on run so we could make tour. Found out a couple of other couples on tour had same problem w/shower water,up/down temp.Returned from tour that night-9pm-and saw we had a great view of back of bld w/smoke stacks--but we had a working shower.
Rooms are very dated--(tv-old box style and tiny and you had to sit on bed to watch-we watched some news),2 small doubles,old couch and dirt in areas----no ref or micro ---real old time considering the cost.
Service-slow and clueless.
Why rent out rooms that they know could cause injury-what if small child was trying to take a shower and a blast of scaling water hit their body-they knew this for months. No warning, no nothing and even acted like,front desk,they had never heard of this problem.
You can put up w/some things but not something they know about that can cause injury and do nothing.

I wrote both Denali Properties and Aramark and heard absolutely NOTHING and this happened in late August 2012. I would like to hear from them--will I ever-not yet and probably never.

I could give more negative insite --food,gifts,service-but hopefully persons will not stay at MCR.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Denali National Park and Preserve hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to McKinley Chalet Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McKinley Chalet Resort

Address: Milepost 238. 5, George Parks Hwy, Alaska, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — McKinley Chalet Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your McKinley Chalet Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mckinley Chalet Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve
Hotel Mckinley Chalet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McKinley Chalet Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.