We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of McKinley Chalet Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added McKinley Chalet Resort to your Saves list
McKinley Chalet Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Milepost 238, George Parks Hwy, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755   |  
Hotel amenities
Iowa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Average place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I would like to say this is the best place to stay in the world since we won a trip there, but that would be a lie. It is just average. Rooms were clean. There is a nice river behind our building that you can walk to. I am not sure if it is worth the money, but the are not too many choices up there. I was exspecting more rugged. If the price is right I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    193
    164
    69
    50
See reviews for
164
260
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Room was great, very nice decor, size, and location! We enjoyed the hiking trails surrounding the chalet. Staff was friendly and helpful. Shuttle availability was great! We thoroughly enjoyed our time there.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Tennessee
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Checked in for 2 nights on Holland tour,captured audience. Given a room in F building-nice river view-turns out the only good part.
Wife attempted to take a shower-ice water then scaling-back and forth,no warning.Slight burns.Told front desk next am,said they would fix along w/no working fan or heater in bath.After breakfast checked and nothing done,said they didn't know,saw the woman I talked to and she admitted wrote wrong rm no. down.They sent maintenance man-fixed heater ,said it would take elect guy for fan and couldn't do anything about shower because it had been that way for 2-3 MONTHS. Parts on order.Went to frt desk,acted dumb,told them had to move -now-had tour at 1:30pm.Said I could move to T blding, only one available,about 3/4 mile away.I told them no,wanted to stay in area w/group.Found open one,somehow in bld A. Moved on run so we could make tour. Found out a couple of other couples on tour had same problem w/shower water,up/down temp.Returned from tour that night-9pm-and saw we had a great view of back of bld w/smoke stacks--but we had a working shower.
Rooms are very dated--(tv-old box style and tiny and you had to sit on bed to watch-we watched some news),2 small doubles,old couch and dirt in areas----no ref or micro ---real old time considering the cost.
Service-slow and clueless.
Why rent out rooms that they know could cause injury-what if small child was trying to take a shower and a blast of scaling water hit their body-they knew this for months. No warning, no nothing and even acted like,front desk,they had never heard of this problem.
You can put up w/some things but not something they know about that can cause injury and do nothing.

I wrote both Denali Properties and Aramark and heard absolutely NOTHING and this happened in late August 2012. I would like to hear from them--will I ever-not yet and probably never.

I could give more negative insite --food,gifts,service-but hopefully persons will not stay at MCR.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Denali National Park and Preserve hotels

Niagara Falls
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The resort has different sections and we were right among the trees. The room has a sitting area in the front and the bedroom at the back with a double bed and a single bed. It did seem like you were at a lodge in the middle of the forest giving you that rustic feeling which was great. There was a gift shop and restaurants on site and a great museum. There were stores and reataurants across the street. There are buses to take you to other parts of the park and to see the kennels for the dogs used with the dog sleds. Great place

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The McKinley Chalet Resort has a scenic bar, windows from floor to ceiling. An excellent stop to cap off a hard day of touring. Beautiful view and great service. McKinley Chalet Resort was a pleasant surprise all away around. A must stop.

Room Tip: We had a room in the back....on a clear night the stars were breath taking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed at the McKinley Chalets for 3 nights. We visited in the shoulder season; so we could get a room in this busy place a day before reaching Denali.

This is a large property with a good chunk of their business coming from tourgroups and cruise companies. The lobby area seemed very busy most of the time and as long as you can live with it, the staff are efficient in checking you in and out.

Our cabin had a small sitting area, a bedroom and bathroom. Furnishing and facilities in the room were average. There was a covered walkway to the common areas - very helpful when it rained. There was a nice view of the Nenana river from outside the room.

There are 3-4 restaurants/cafes at McKinley Chalets - food was ok but pricey; but I guess that's Alaska for you. There are a few restaurants and cafes just across the road from the entrance which operate in the season.

Finally, like many resorts in the area, McKinley Chalets runs shuttlebuses to the railroad station, the Wilderness Access Centre etc. And it is one of the stops for the Park Connector bus running from Fairbanks to Anchorage.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driftwood, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

First of all, after reading other reviews, I would like to say that our 2 night stay was extremely pleasant. Our room was at the very back of the property next to the river. The room had a rustic feel, yet quite clean and comfortable. It was located on the first floor so it was easy to access the walking trails and river. Shuttle buses ran from the main lodge to the outer buildings every few minutes so guests didn't have to walk too far.

Also, this property was close to restaurants, gift shops, and galleries. All you had to do is cross the road.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to McKinley Chalet Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McKinley Chalet Resort

Address: Milepost 238, George Parks Hwy, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — McKinley Chalet Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your McKinley Chalet Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mckinley Chalet Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve
Hotel Mckinley Chalet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McKinley Chalet Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.