We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After a Hard Day of Touring” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McKinley Chalet Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added McKinley Chalet Resort to your Saves list
McKinley Chalet Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Milepost 238. 5, George Parks Hwy, Alaska, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755   |  
Hotel amenities
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“After a Hard Day of Touring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The McKinley Chalet Resort has a scenic bar, windows from floor to ceiling. An excellent stop to cap off a hard day of touring. Beautiful view and great service. McKinley Chalet Resort was a pleasant surprise all away around. A must stop.

Room Tip: We had a room in the back....on a clear night the stars were breath taking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    194
    164
    69
    51
See reviews for
166
261
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the McKinley Chalets for 3 nights. We visited in the shoulder season; so we could get a room in this busy place a day before reaching Denali.

This is a large property with a good chunk of their business coming from tourgroups and cruise companies. The lobby area seemed very busy most of the time and as long as you can live with it, the staff are efficient in checking you in and out.

Our cabin had a small sitting area, a bedroom and bathroom. Furnishing and facilities in the room were average. There was a covered walkway to the common areas - very helpful when it rained. There was a nice view of the Nenana river from outside the room.

There are 3-4 restaurants/cafes at McKinley Chalets - food was ok but pricey; but I guess that's Alaska for you. There are a few restaurants and cafes just across the road from the entrance which operate in the season.

Finally, like many resorts in the area, McKinley Chalets runs shuttlebuses to the railroad station, the Wilderness Access Centre etc. And it is one of the stops for the Park Connector bus running from Fairbanks to Anchorage.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driftwood, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

First of all, after reading other reviews, I would like to say that our 2 night stay was extremely pleasant. Our room was at the very back of the property next to the river. The room had a rustic feel, yet quite clean and comfortable. It was located on the first floor so it was easy to access the walking trails and river. Shuttle buses ran from the main lodge to the outer buildings every few minutes so guests didn't have to walk too far.

Also, this property was close to restaurants, gift shops, and galleries. All you had to do is cross the road.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed two nights in the recently built Chalet Canyon Lodge at the McKinley Chalet Resort. Simple but very beautiful and blends well with the area but.....because we stayed mid September the weather, especially the nights were getting very cool. The person that designed this section of McKinley Chalet Resorts did a very poor job at heating the units. On arrival our unit was 54 degrees and despite raising the thermostat for a few hours in didn't rise above 56 degrees. The maintenance man sent to check it out said the first floor units are cold, the second floor units are warmer and the third floor units are hot. They changed our rooms. This is an item that should be addressed and maybe just effects those staying when the temperatures are near the freezing mark. Other than the heat our stay was very comfortable and the diversified staff have great personalities and eager to please. It's a short walk to the Boardwalk where stores and good restaurants are located.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We enjoyed our stay during the land part of our cruisetour. We took the Denali Tundra tour and didn't get to the hotel until 10:30 p.m. They kept the restaurant open so those of us on the tour could eat. The cooked to order breakfast was very good the next morning! Very nice accomodations!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, Alaska, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were here on our first Denali Road Lottery Trip . We were greeted with kindness and enthusiasm. The desk clerk was most helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable. Very quaint and rustic. We enjoyed being able to walk the trails with our dog. The breakfast buffet was delicious and our over all experience was great! No stress! Highly recommend The McKinley Chalet Resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

We were forced to stay here after we were bumped from Princess Denali, another review to write there! The McKinley chalet, what can I say if you are in a lower room the sounds of guest upstairs will drive you mad as will the toilets and showers. Don't expect to sleep. The rooms in D block had only a double bed. The dining room was unfriendly with little gluten free choice, the bar smelled musty and was tiny.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Denali National Park and Preserve hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to McKinley Chalet Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McKinley Chalet Resort

Address: Milepost 238. 5, George Parks Hwy, Alaska, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — McKinley Chalet Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your McKinley Chalet Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mckinley Chalet Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve
Hotel Mckinley Chalet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McKinley Chalet Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.