We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chalet Canyon Lodge - the newer part” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McKinley Chalet Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added McKinley Chalet Resort to your Saves list
McKinley Chalet Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Milepost 238, George Parks Hwy, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755   |  
Hotel amenities
Brockville
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Chalet Canyon Lodge - the newer part”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed two nights in the recently built Chalet Canyon Lodge at the McKinley Chalet Resort. Simple but very beautiful and blends well with the area but.....because we stayed mid September the weather, especially the nights were getting very cool. The person that designed this section of McKinley Chalet Resorts did a very poor job at heating the units. On arrival our unit was 54 degrees and despite raising the thermostat for a few hours in didn't rise above 56 degrees. The maintenance man sent to check it out said the first floor units are cold, the second floor units are warmer and the third floor units are hot. They changed our rooms. This is an item that should be addressed and maybe just effects those staying when the temperatures are near the freezing mark. Other than the heat our stay was very comfortable and the diversified staff have great personalities and eager to please. It's a short walk to the Boardwalk where stores and good restaurants are located.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    194
    164
    69
    50
See reviews for
165
260
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We enjoyed our stay during the land part of our cruisetour. We took the Denali Tundra tour and didn't get to the hotel until 10:30 p.m. They kept the restaurant open so those of us on the tour could eat. The cooked to order breakfast was very good the next morning! Very nice accomodations!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, Alaska, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were here on our first Denali Road Lottery Trip . We were greeted with kindness and enthusiasm. The desk clerk was most helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable. Very quaint and rustic. We enjoyed being able to walk the trails with our dog. The breakfast buffet was delicious and our over all experience was great! No stress! Highly recommend The McKinley Chalet Resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We were forced to stay here after we were bumped from Princess Denali, another review to write there! The McKinley chalet, what can I say if you are in a lower room the sounds of guest upstairs will drive you mad as will the toilets and showers. Don't expect to sleep. The rooms in D block had only a double bed. The dining room was unfriendly with little gluten free choice, the bar smelled musty and was tiny.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Denali National Park and Preserve hotels

Florida
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

After many hours on the bus, having disembarked our Cruise Ship, for our Land Tour portion, the McKinley Chalets were a welcome sight. The arrangements were all made, room keys were ready, and handed out to all of us.

The lodge is a rustic type, but with all the modern conveniences, with shuttles running from main building to the outlying cabins, and a 3 story lodge (where we were lodged). After we checked in, we had a wonderful meal in the restaurant onsight. Also had a great gift shop, and bar area, plus a 2nd restaurant, which offered smaller meals on a buffet. It also had a snack bar, as well.

Our room was a "special needs" one, and only complaint there, was that the sink did not have any room to put anything more than a toothbrush, toothpaste on it. Not really good for 2 people sharing space in a bathroom. Other than that, bed was fine, all amenities good. We did find it surprising that there was no AC (but a ceiling fan)(Since we are Florida residents, we are not used to not having AC). We did fine, however, and of course it did have heat, if we wanted it.

We spent 2 nights at this resort, and would recommend it to others. It is however, owned by Holland America Cruise Lines and most visitors were ones off of the cruise ships. One more thing, our luggage was delivered to us, just as promised, which was a welcome sight, after a long ride on motorcoach.

Room Tip: The canyon lodge we were in, was a good walk from the Main Lobby, up and down hilly terrain (paved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twinsburg, Ohio, USA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We really enjoyed the McKinley Chalet Resort. We were on land/cruise tour with Holland, and it was only a short ride from the train to the resort. It is conveniently located right in the middle of Denali. All of our tours picked us up at the front door, and there is a Starbucks and a good restaurant/bar in the hotel. It also has a really nice gift shop with an area where you can buy pop, water, and snacks.

Our room was in the lodge down the hill from the main lodge, and it was really nice and comfortable. Decor fit the area, had a queen bed, and a flat screen tv. It also had an ceiling fan! We had a group of 13 people, and we were all placed on the same floor.

All shopping in Denali is conveniently located across the street from the hotel. We will go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here as a place for going to Denali Day Trips. It was a good choice. The room was very nice, modern, and comfortable. I would suggest to stay at the lower lodge. It is more away from the noise of Denali the town.

The resort has good quick meals especially for breakfast at mail lodge. There is a shuttle to the Park entrance and train station. Very convenient

Room Tip: Pick room at the lower facility. It is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to McKinley Chalet Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McKinley Chalet Resort

Address: Milepost 238, George Parks Hwy, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — McKinley Chalet Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your McKinley Chalet Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mckinley Chalet Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve
Hotel Mckinley Chalet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McKinley Chalet Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.