We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better for this price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grande Denali Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Grande Denali Lodge to your Saves list
Grande Denali Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   238 Parks Highway, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Could be better for this price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stay for Denali Grande Lodge for two nights. The hotel is located on top of the Mt. We booked the twin room but got a room with no view. The bed was spacious and comfortable. I like the fact that the basin was separate from the restroom. There is free wifi in the room. The only plus of staying here is the view from the lobby and watchout area is really beautiful. An awesome place to take picture of Denali National Park.
We had our dinner in the restaurant there and we feel that the quality is just average. I didn't like the fact that no breakfast is provided too.

Room Tip: Do request for a room that overlook the Denali National Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear GekT, thank you for your review and for staying with us. I am pleased that you found our beds comfortable and spacious. I am sorry that you found our food "average" - I hope that you informed your server of any concerns you may have had. As for breakfast, I don't believe that any hotels in the Canyon include breakfast with the price of their sleeping rooms. We do offer several breakfast options - Grab and Go in the lobby, our Alpenglow Buffet and the option of ordering off the menu in the Alpenglow restaurant. Thank you for noticing our beautiful view. We hope you enjoyed your time in Alaska. Dee Dee Kay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    139
    102
    56
    35
See reviews for
97
165
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The lodge restaurant and gift shop was very impressive - the room was not. It was comfortable and that's that. The separate lodge that we were in was very long with 1 center elevator so you had to walk from the check in desk in the gift shop area to the middle of the lodge then backtrack to your room. The room was reminescent more of a Motel 6 -- sparce and uninviting. Our room was a view room with balcony but no chairs there to sit and relax. They had spotted a bear on the property the week before so all the outside lights were kept on all night. The restaurant was very overpriced and the lodge secluded enough you had no other dining options. The food was average although the seafood fettichine was so strong I could not eat but a few bites and I am an avid fish lover.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Srtravelers3, thank you for your review. I am happy that you enjoyed the view. We are making upgrades to our sleeping rooms for 2014. The suggestion of chairs on our little balconies is a wonderful idea and I will make sure that we pass it on to our General Manager. As for the restaurant - did you let your server know you were unhappy with your meal? I am sure we would have been happy to prepare you something else. Although "secluded" we do offer a complimentary shuttle service 12 hours a day that gives our guests the option to explore other dining options and the "Canyon" shops. I do hope you will visit us again and see the changes we have made. Dee Dee Kay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Really nice room with an incredible view. We overlooked the entire town of Denali!! Free shuttles are always a plus!!! Didn't get to stay but one night but really wish we could have stayed another night!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Danegirl71, thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for your comments concerning the view and our shuttle service. We are very proud of our staff and I will pass these comments on to them. Dee Dee Kay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humansdorp, South Africa
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We turned up a few days before they closed for the winter and had no problem getting a room.Room was good,no problems-nice view down to the river.They have a coffee maker but I missed a little fridge,though..like to keep my drinks cold!! What I like about some Alaska hotels is that they have the basin outside of the bathroom but still secluded,so that one person can be inside showering while the other can be outside using the basin and mirror/hairdryer etc.The Grande is THE place for views if you stay in the Denali Village,the other 2 hotels are big hotels used mainly by the tour/cruise companies and are alongside the river,so they have no view,except of the river I presume...We had sandwiches from the small counter as you enter the hotel-they sell sandwiches and other stuff for your trip into the park as well as coffee and drinks and we used them every morning for breakfast and for picnic food for the day.Wi fi available and 2 computers at a station in the passageway.There was a bear alert while we were there,but never saw the critter!!We booked excursions through the hotel and was promptly picked up outside the hotel.They also have a shuttle in to town and back although we did not use it as we had our hire car-carpark a bit small though and always full.No problems and we can definitely recommend you stay here-just don't try walking up the mountain-its steep!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Tokkelosh , thank you so much for your review - it really is a GRAND view at our Grande Denali Lodge! I love the photos you took of the signs as well. I prefer to walk DOWN the road and then take the shuttle back up (smile)! I am happy to hear that our front desk staff took such good care of your tour needs and that you enjoyed our dining options. The "Grab and Go" area in the lobby has been very popular this year. We are pleased that you had a wonderful stay. I will certainly make sure that I pass your comments along to our team. Dee Dee Kay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I highly recommend this place to stay. We had both dinner and breakfast here and were pleased with the quality of the food. There is Wi-Fi in the rooms and views from most rooms. It's a short shuttle ride to go down to the "town". It's not open of course in the winter, but worth the stay in the summer months.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear MazatlanAmiga, thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. The views from the lodge and many of the rooms is spectacular. I hope you were also able to enjoy the beautiful fall colors. Thanks for the compliment on our food as well. We have very talented team in our kitchen. We are sorry you can't stay with us in the winter but hope to see you again in the summer months! Dee Dee Kay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We originally had made reservations for the Denali Bluffs Hotel. About three weeks before our trip, we were sent an email saying that they had overbooked the Bluffs (do they do this all the time?) and that we had been 'upgraded' to the Grand Denali Lodge. We weren't asked if we wanted this 'upgrade', we were just told that they had done this. Since we were traveling with another couple, I called to make sure that they had also been upgraded, and they had. We also had reservations to do the Kantishna tour into Denali NP and had been told that the bus would pick us up at the Bluffs. I asked about this and was told that there was a shuttle that ran between the two hotels that we could use. This was good to know, however when the time came we decided to drive ourselves down to the Bluffs instead. Fast forward 4 or so weeks... After driving the very winding road up to the Grand Denali Lodge, which isn't bad at all, we checked in. There we were told that our 'upgrade' had been to a room with a view of the parking lot. Wow, what an upgrade! BUT, we were also told that for 25 more dollars we could have one of the rooms with a beautiful view. Is this some kind of scam? We still wonder what kind of view we would have had, had we been allowed to stay at the Bluffs? So we fell for it, and paid $25 to get a room with a view. And the view is beautiful! The lodge where the lobby, restaurant, and gift shop is located is very nice and grand with soaring log beam ceilings. The building where the rooms are located, is very plain. The rooms are also very plain. There was nothing Grande about any of it - maybe a small step above a Super 8. The rooms were clean, but very basic. We were put in a room right next to the ice machine, but thankfully it was quiet throughout the night. The following morning, we ate breakfast in the lodge restaurant. We had the continental buffet. $12 a person for nothing special at all. Some of the items needed to be replenished. The bread area was not kept cleaned, and they definitely need a new toaster. Overall, it was just a frustrating and disappointing experience to be moved to a different, less convenient lodge, with a fancy name but a plain room with a view of the parking lot (unless we paid 25 more dollars), and a breakfast buffet that was expensive, but only fair. We had expected more of a place called the Grande Denali Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear LoriS, thank you for your review. We do take your comments seriously. I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your upgrade. I would like to let you know that the rooms at the Bluffs are not as spacious as the rooms at the Grande and there is a $25 charge for a view room at the Bluffs as well and there are limited view rooms. As for the breakfast, I am sorry you didn't enjoy it. We do offer a full menu for breakfast as well and a "grab and go" area in our main lobby. We are upgrading the bedding and the look of the rooms for 2014. Thank you for your comments, as much as we do not like to relocate our guests, Denali was very full this summer and because the high conversion from some of our partners, there were times we had to relocate guests from our moderately priced Denali Bluffs property to our more expensive Grande Denali. Dee Dee Kay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in Sept 2013. We had a comfortable stay. The only negative thing was the maintenance department. On the day of our check out we were woken up at 8 am (knocking on the door) by one of the guys, who wanted to know what time we are checking out! The check out time is at 10 am. This was very annoying!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear rajivsamvatsar, thank you so much for your review. I do apologize for the knock on your door. We have changed that policy for 2014. I am glad that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us. Please come back and we will let you sleep in with no one knocking! Dee Dee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grande Denali Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Denali Lodge

Address: 238 Parks Highway, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grande Denali Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay above it all! Relaxation and adventure await you at the Grande Denali Lodge. Offering more than comfortable accommodations, you'll have a truly Alaskan experience! Proudly Alaska native owned and operated by Old Harbor Native Corporation, our lodge features an authentic design with log construction, vaulted ceilings and a warm stone fire place, spacious sleeping rooms with private baths, and the most breathtaking views in Denali.We offer a savory dining experience at Alpenglow Restaurant. Serving traditional Alaskan fare in a setting with up-paralleled views of the Denali Canyon. For an early morning pick-me-up visit Peak Espresso, known for it's specialty coffees and convenient gourmet grab-and-go food items as well as box lunches. Wind down your day of exploration by enjoying a signature cocktail perched on top of Sugar Loaf Mountain in Peak Spirits Lounge. A wide variety of optional tours are available in Denali National Park, and our Front Desk staff is available to answer question or make tour reservations on your behalf. Adventure is just steps away at the Grande Denali Lodge! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Grande Denali Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Denali Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve
Hotel Grande Denali
Grand Denali Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grande Denali Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.