We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location / Adequate Accomodations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grande Denali Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grande Denali Lodge to your Saves list
Grande Denali Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   238 Parks Highway, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755   |  
Hotel amenities
Bel Air, Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location / Adequate Accomodations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2008

We stayed at the Grande Denali Lodge as part of our Alaskan Cruise ground tour. The hotel was beautifully situated looking down over the entrance to Denali National Park. The rooms were clean but otherwise average. The Lodge had a restaurant with a spectacular view, but I felt very overpriced. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    135
    102
    56
    35
See reviews for
96
164
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ga
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2007

Husband and I stayed at Grand Denali Lodge one night before our trip into the park early the next morning. Like every place you stay in Alaska, the price was very high (comparatively speaking). The staff (manager and front desk) were super nice and helpful. The room was OK, but like all Alaskan accommodations cost much more than comparable room in Lower 48.

  • Liked — management, front desk staff
  • Disliked — parking area
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2007

Our reservation was lost. Hotel staffs were kind enough to resolve the issue. We had paid top dollar nearly $400 a night to get an "Featuring unsurpassed views of the Alaska Range". Instead we got a small room (kid size) and a view of the parking lot and the window into the next hotel room. Other than a bed there was no place to sit in the room. No couch as it was shown and described on the web site. So we complained to the staff that there must be a mistake. We told them that we had booked the "king grande view room". We were told the website is not accurate.
The staff upgraded us to the "cabin" nearly $450 a night. Cabins were 300 yard down a steep dirt road. I mean steep. I love to hike on weekends but I don't enjoy hiking to my bedroom with my luggage.

The cabin was dirty. We have stayed in un-named motels off highways on our trips up and down the country, We now have a new definition of "dirty". There were piles (I don’t mean just a few dozen. There were do many. It was indescribable) of dead flies and bugs on the window sills and the floor. I also got poked with a loose fingernail walking barefoot on the floor. Stupid me, should have known better. Bring band aide and antiseptic if you plan to stay here.

It felt like camping, hike down the steep dirt road and sleep with dirt and bugs, except much more expensive than a campsite.

I don't mind paying little and getting little in return. It burns me to pay top dollar and getting crap in return. Their hotel is nothing like what they describe on their website.

We met another couple that said they had similar experience and did not plan to come back. They too were misled by the website.

  • Liked — total rip off. However, staffs are fine.
  • Disliked — The hotel grossly misrepresents the accommodation. It is FILTHY. I have stayed in cheap motels. This one is FILTHY. For paying nearly $400 a night you will have a wonderful parking lot view.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Denali National Park and Preserve hotels

Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2007

When we arrived at the Grand Denali we were advised along with about 20 other people that we did not have a room! The hotel manager advised that they overbooked all the time. They gave us a room at a flea bag around the corner. I paid 300 per night six months a head of time to be moved to a hotel (cabins) of course they refunded a hundred dollars a night.

The staff was rude and stated it waas a regular policy to over book, that there was no recourse for the traveler, so beware!

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax VA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2007

Spent two nights here as part of a Celebrity Cruise Tour and loved the place! Of course, we were one of the lucky ones who not only had a view of Glitter Gulch, but a balcony to boot! Rooms were large and comfortable. Adjacent Lodge was lovely with helpful staff and good food and drink. Gift shop had a higher than average selection with some spectacular photographs of Denali wildlife. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again but would want to ensure a non-parking lot view -- even if it cost a bit more.

  • Liked — Tremendous Views
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

This hotel is a beautiful gem in the midst of "tacky tourist town" - yet, it is NOT in the midst of the town - it is situated up on a high bluff all by itself. I was SO GLAD we were not down in the valley with the rest of the "touristy area." Our room was very nice, clean, decent, not small. Bathroom was great. We couldn't ask for more comfort in the "wilderness." The restaurant is expensive, but SPECTACULAR views - 3 sided, huge windows to take advantage of the mountain ranges surrounding the hotel. We had the best meal of our whole vacation in this restaurant - our first evening there. It was pricy, but the food, and service was top-notch. We also ate breakfast the next morning, and were not disappointed. It wasn't cheap, but your paying for the VIEW and the wonderful service. We will seek out this hotel again, try to get a room with a view, and relax, relax, relax in the room, restaurant and/or bar area. Phenominal views - can't say enough! Just awesome! Oh, and if you decide you need to go down the mountain to the "tacky tourist" area, there is a free shuttle that will bring you there. What a deal!

  • Liked — The beautiful view
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

The Lodge itself was picturesque but not overly luxiorious. It gave one a comfortable home style feeling. The rooms were adequate with only a few having a fantastic view of the valley below. The prices are quite high on everything but the staff were cheerful and helpful. Most of them are college kids in Alaska for the summer. What makes this lodge spectacular is its natural setting high on a bluff. That alone is worth the price of admission. Afterall, we simply sleep in our rooms. Go the bar or restaurant and you will have all the scenery you could ever want.

Grande Denali is a gem.

  • Liked — Setting
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grande Denali Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Denali Lodge

Address: 238 Parks Highway, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grande Denali Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay above it all! Relaxation and adventure await you at the Grande Denali Lodge. Offering more than comfortable accommodations, you'll have a truly Alaskan experience! Proudly Alaska native owned and operated by Old Harbor Native Corporation, our lodge features an authentic design with log construction, vaulted ceilings and a warm stone fire place, spacious sleeping rooms with private baths, and the most breathtaking views in Denali.We offer a savory dining experience at Alpenglow Restaurant. Serving traditional Alaskan fare in a setting with up-paralleled views of the Denali Canyon. For an early morning pick-me-up visit Peak Espresso, known for it's specialty coffees and convenient gourmet grab-and-go food items as well as box lunches. Wind down your day of exploration by enjoying a signature cocktail perched on top of Sugar Loaf Mountain in Peak Spirits Lounge. A wide variety of optional tours are available in Denali National Park, and our Front Desk staff is available to answer question or make tour reservations on your behalf. Adventure is just steps away at the Grande Denali Lodge! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Grande Denali Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Denali Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve
Hotel Grande Denali
Grand Denali Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grande Denali Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.