We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canyon Run Whitewater Rafting-FABULOUS!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Denali Raft Adventures

Denali Raft Adventures
Mile 238.6 Parks Hwy, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
1-888-683-2234
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Boat Tours
Attraction Details
Shirley
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Canyon Run Whitewater Rafting-FABULOUS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Our group of 6 finished this river raft exhilarated and amazed. At the start we bundled up in Neoprene suits to protect our bodies from the freezing waters and heard clear safety instructions from our guide Becky. We chose to paddle down Canyon Run and loved every minute of it. Becky was fun and personable but also highly qualified so our group always felt safe. Do remember to bring the rubber gloves to keep your hands dry.
I highly recommend this company even though you do need to book your trip separate from the cruise line. They are a great company and will be sure to get you back to your cruise ship in plenty of time.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    20
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We took the Canyon Run at 6:30pm. Very experienced guides and a lot of fun with them. Bring with weatherproof gloves if you can. The rafting was wonderful and we had a great day with them.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great Float Trip..great guide.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

It was nice easy float trip down the river.. good fun but don't expect to see any real wildlife. Our guide was experinced and she was alot of fun..
I was not happy with the old smelly lifevest..ewww
The drysuits were very warm and i was never cold or uncomfortable..

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome -- Mary rocks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I took our parents and my 8-yr old niece on the 4 hour scenic tour, and it was great. I was hesitant since our moms aren't overly adventurous and my niece is so young, but it was a fantastic trip. Mary was our guide, and she was awesome. She made sure to 'ease' us into the rapids, and once we got the feel of it, she took us on a great ride. She was also really good with my young niece and made sure she had a good time.

Next time we will run the canyon to get some better rapids, but the scenic tour was still fun!

I highly recommend Denali Raft Adventures and suggest you request Mary as your guide!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great fun and all we did was hold on!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We took the McKinnley Express float trip at 6:30 pm. The guide does all the work. Dry suits are supplied, although you should probably bring a warm hat and waterproof gloves.

All of the guides at DRA are experienced rafters who come back year after year. They have great stories to tell about the park and are very entertaining along the way. Their safety training is extensive, even the most nervous on our raft was put at ease, although we all got wet at some point!!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denali Raft Adventures also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to Denali Raft Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Denali Raft Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Denali Raft Adventures to your Saves list