We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gotta stay here to REALLY see Denali” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kantishna Roadhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denali National Park and Preserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kantishna Roadhouse
Save
You added Kantishna Roadhouse to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   1 Doyon Pl # 300, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Gotta stay here to REALLY see Denali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2006

After seeing how touristy the entrance to Denali was, I'm so glad we stayed INSIDE the park. Our family (mom, dad, & 2 teen kids) stayed here 2 nights in late June 2006. We had a wonderful time. The grounds were beautiful. I loved the hanging flower baskets at the entrance, and the river running alongside the cabins. The rooms were clean and well stocked. Plenty of blankets for chilly nights. We wished they had black-out curtains though, since the nights are so bright. Food was always fresh and tasty. And, they accomodated my picky daughter by cooking a grilled cheese sandwich when she wouldn't eat the standard meal. We enjoyed the gold panning more than we expected and liked the guided hike that we took. Beware though, the mosquitos are THICK! Especially on the trails. On the bus ride in, it was cloudy and drizzling which was great for animal watching. Another thing to point out about the bus was that there are a LOT less people on the overnight buses than on the day buses. So, when you stop to see an animal, everyone can have a good view. Those day buses looked SO crowded - I don't know how they got any good photos. On our last evening, after dinner, the sun finally broke through the clouds and Mt. McKinley finally came out to show herself. So at 9:30PM, the Roadhouse staff loaded up 2 vans and drove us out to Wonder Lake for photos of the mountain. Wow! We also got great views on the drive out the next morning but less animals since it was hot with the sun out. By afternoon, the mountain was all covered by clouds again. And to think that we would have missed that fabulous view if we'd've stayed at the entrance. Bugs aside, of our 17 days in Alaska the 2 in Kantishna were among our favorites!

  • Liked — Location - relaxed atmosphere
  • Disliked — Mosquitos
  • Tips/Secrets — This is the only property Inside Denali park that has a Bar.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    35
    18
    11
    3
See reviews for
27
56
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2006

Recently returned from two nights at the Kantishna Roadhouse. While the cabins were acceptable, the food ranged from average to fabulous, and the staff were lovely, no one warned us about the mosquitoes. One of our guides said that the mosquitoes "weren't bad" that week, since there had still been over-night freezes the week before. If what we experienced wasn't bad, I can't even imagine being there later in the summer. While the basket of mosquito-net hats and the cans of insect repellent (availble for purchase in the lobby) were dead give-aways of on-going issues, no one had said anything about a potential bug problem while we were making our reservations for this trip. One member of our party suffers severe reactions to insect bites, and when we arrived at the Roadhouse and saw the swarms of mosquitoes that were everywhere, she was ready to turn around and leave. For the next two days we went nowhere unless we were wearing long sleeves and pants or were covered with Deep Woods Off.

Obviously, when you're out in nature you have to expect to find insects, and Kantishna is about as far into the Park as you can go. Still, there's a difference between mosquitoes and MOSQUITOES, and had we known what to expect we might have chosen to stay closer to the entrance to the Park and taken a day-trip out to Kantishna, since the drives out and back on the Denali Road are not to be missed. Between the unbelievable scenery and Gary's uncanny ability to find animals (not to mention his talent as a raconteur), the drives almost made up for two days of mosquito-swatting and dodging. If you're the kind of person who either isn't bothered by mosquitoes or doesn't mind being bitten, the Roadhouse is a true Denali experience. However, if you tend to be squeamish or have allergy issues, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, NC
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2005

We loved the Kantishna RoadHouse. The accoommodations were wonderful, the food was great, the staff was tops. Molissa, Emmitt, Ann, Marie, Gary, David, Krispin, Louis were just fantastic. They were never too busy to stop and talk or answer any questions we had. We really enjoyed talking to all the staff. Gary was fantastic. He is soooo enthusiastic about the wildlife and keeping the park as it is. We were very fortunate to have him on our trip to Kantishna. David was great to. We saw lots of wildllife and the views of Mt. McKinley were beyond our expectations. We only stayed 2 night, we wished we could have stayed longer! Because of our experience at Kantishna we had as near a perfect vacation as you can possibly get.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2004

Almost everything about the Kantishna Roadhouse experience was exceptional. Loved the bus ride to and from the property. The friendliness of the staff is wonderful. Lodging accomodations are mediocre: comfortable beds, clean facility. Food is OK - not gourmet but not boring. Breakfast is a buffet style you enjoy with other travelers (sort of boarding house seating) - which is very fun.

We had one of the staff drive us out to Wonder Lake and we bicycled back to the Lodge - a unique opportunity to experience Denali.

The ruggedness of the park is so compelling and this is one of the few ways to become part of it.

The pricing of the visit is a bit out of line for what they offer once you are with them. But, where else can you have this time in the park?

Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2004

Recently returned from the great country of Alaska.
We stayed at Kantishna Roadhouse 2 nights. Great cabins, very clean. Good food. Wonderful, helpful staff. Fishing, hiking, biking, A place to really relax and get away. We could stay there a month with no problem. Walking distance to Wonder Lake. We were driven in by van and flew back to train station. Be sure and FLY in or out. Fly-by Mt. McKinley was fantastic. Visibilty 120 miles. Have many outstanding pictures. This was our second stop on a 2 week tour.
No one could be disappointed with Kantisha Roadhouse !!!

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kantishna Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantishna Roadhouse

Address: 1 Doyon Pl # 300, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Hotel Class:3 star — Kantishna Roadhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kantishna Roadhouse is a backcountry lodge resort in the heart of Denali National Park. Comfortable well-appointed cabin lodging, all-inclusive experience. Enjoy abundant activities including daily guided hikes, gold panning with expert guides, free mountain bike rental/usage, and fly-fishing for Arctic Grayling in Moose Creek. For those that choose to stay in camp for the day, our comfortable natural history library, cozy lobby, or outdoor screened-in porch -- offer pleasant alternatives. This is a true Alaskan adventure in one of the most beautiful national parks in the world. The transportation to and from the resort is half the fun. Our red and white bus, marked "Kantishna Roadhouse," gives you the opportunity to see abundant wildlife in its natural setting, including grizzly bears, wolves, moose, caribou, dall sheep, among other critters. Kantishna Roadhouse is the only resort in the backcountry with a bar/saloon. Sip wine on the banks of the Moose River while you take in a beautiful sunset by the fire. Enjoy activities and relaxation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kantishna Roadhouse Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kantishna Roadhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.