We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonder lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount McKinley

Mount McKinley
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Improve this listing
Visit Mount McKinley like an insider
Top Rated
$649*
and up
Northern Lights Overnight Tour with Dog Sledding
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Mountaineering, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: America's tallest peak, this 20,320-foot mountain is the most famous part of this national park.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Wonder lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We took the 6:15am bus to Wonder Lake. Well worth it. The further we went into the park the more animals we saw. The scenery is breathtaking. We saw the summit inside the park. Saw 2 grizzly bears, one with cubs, carribou, wolve, fox. dall sheep, moose. There are plenty of stops to get out and hike or eat lunch and catch another bus going in further or returning to the visitor center. Highly recommend going all the way to Wonder Lake. It's a long day but with all the stops it goes by so fast. We actually saw the summit our first four days in Alaska and that's usually unheard of.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    71
    19
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Long Day but fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We took the tour that goes way into the park. If doing it again, would have opted for a shorter trip. Saw lots of animals and scenery, alas not Mt. Danali

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Breath Taking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We were one of the lucky ones that actually got to see it in all its glory. There was not a cloud in the sky, we took so many pictures but how could anyone resist!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We were thrilled to be some of the few who saw the north and south peaks at the same time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We enjoyed the less expensive bus transportation into the Eielson visitors center. Our driver was good at spotting the wildlife in the "usual" spots. The Dog sled talk and demo was really nice! Dogs like to be petted, and visitors are encouraged to do so!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Rare unobstructed glimpse!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Took the bus tour with family at 6 AM. Was rewarded with an amazingly clear and beautiful morning where we could see almost all of the mountain. It had a layer of clouds around it's halfway point, making it appear as if it was an entire mountain floating above the other mountains, really cool. Alas, it clouded back up by the time we got to Eielson VC, but since we missed it the first time we visited in 2008, it was great to just get a peek and some pics. Even if it takes more than one trip, see this mountain, it's incredible.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount McKinley also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to Mount McKinley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount McKinley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.