We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Fun and Educational” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Husky Homestead

Husky Homestead
PO Box 48, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
+1 907-683-2904
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Farms, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy a warm welcome and experience a true Alaskan lifestyle at Husky Homestead, home of Iditarod Champion Jeff King. This tour is widely heralded as an authentic look into rural lifestyles based on 35 years of Alaskan adventures: from freight hauling on Denali to crossing the finish line in Nome with a champion Iditarod team. Be greeted by cuddly puppies and share an intimate view of the Alaskan Husky as they explode from the kennel on a training run. Get a behind-the-scenes look at what goes into creating a championship team and carving a life in Alaska's Interior. Hear compelling stories from the trail and see actual racing sleds, arctic survival gear and equipment used to traverse 1100 miles of Alaska's most rugged terrain. Our 2015 tour season begins on May 12 and will end on September 17th.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Terrific Fun and Educational”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Jeff King, his staff, and particularly his daughter, Ellen, make this a fun and educational outing. Of course they get you right away by handing you a puppy to cuddle!
I learned alot about the Iditerod and how Huskies are bred and trained. Yes, there is a commercial aspect to it, but who cares? It's fun! I have a far greater respect for all the mushers and will follow the race more closely next year.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    46
    8
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holt, Missouri
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“PUPPIES! Worth the price of admission”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This tour was recommended by our travel agent and SO glad we decided to do it! We were in a small group and were picked up at our hotel. The shuttle driver was very friendly and knowledgeable and ended up doing part of the presentation. The puppies really set the mood for a fun time. Jeff King was very engaging, funny and interesting. He answered several questions from the group and made you feel very welcomed. We purchased his book "Cold Hands, Warm Heart" and have thoroughly enjoyed reading more of his stories and adventures.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Husky Homestead - Denali Alaska”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

excellent "infotainment"...informative, fun and much more enlightening overall than expected...the puppies are great but the overall presentation, content and experience make a visit here really special...our best for much success in the coming year's events !!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, PEI
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“It's all been said before!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Great staff, great presentation...if you like dogs, you'll love this. I learned a lot more than I expected.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacygne, Ks
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A must-see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I loved this excursion. They hand you a puppy as soon as you get off the bus. I knew very little about the Iditarod or the dogs and found the tour to be very informative but enjoyable. The time with Jeff King speaking was very good. He seems very personable. I would go again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Husky Homestead also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to Husky Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Husky Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.