We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must-see!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Husky Homestead

Husky Homestead
PO Box 48, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
(907)683-2904
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Farms, Nature/ Wildlife Areas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Enjoy a warm welcome and experience a true Alaskan lifestyle at Husky Homestead, home of Iditarod Champion Jeff King. This tour is widely heralded as an authentic look into rural lifestyles based on 35 years of Alaskan adventures: from freight hauling on Denali to crossing the finish line in Nome with a champion Iditarod team. Be greeted by cuddly puppies and share an intimate view of the Alaskan Husky as they explode from the kennel on a training run. Get a behind-the-scenes look at what goes into creating a championship team and carving a life in Alaska's Interior. Hear compelling stories from the trail and see actual racing sleds, arctic survival gear and equipment used to traverse 1100 miles of Alaska's most rugged terrain.Come visit Husky Homestead today! We offer three tours daily at 8:30am, 12:30pm and 7:00pm. Our 2012 season runs from May 14th through September 24th.
Lacygne, Ks
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A must-see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I loved this excursion. They hand you a puppy as soon as you get off the bus. I knew very little about the Iditarod or the dogs and found the tour to be very informative but enjoyable. The time with Jeff King speaking was very good. He seems very personable. I would go again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    45
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Husky Homestead Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We loved learning about what it really takes from the dogs and the musher to compete and win the Iditarod race. Very fascinating. Jeff King was entertaining and an engaging speaker. Great touch being greeted by all the puppies.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Tour of the Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Where to start. Hearing the Iditarod winner describe the challenges of the race and training the dogs was riveting. He also has a great sense of humour and keep the audience engaged.
So much better than the scripted stuff you get elsewhere.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I love the dogs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I enjoyed the dog sled demonstrations, and the fact that we got to hold the puppies! This is a great place to visit to get the real 'feel' of the area. Nice location and great people! I want to visit again!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“grear dogs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

loved the way they worked their dogs Holding the 2 weeek old puppies. The talk was very informative about how they prepare for the idiirod

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Husky Homestead also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to Husky Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Husky Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;