We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“INCREDIBLE PRESENTATION” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Husky Homestead

Husky Homestead
PO Box 48, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
(907)683-2904
Website
Update attraction details
Type: Farms, Nature/ Wildlife Areas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Enjoy a warm welcome and experience a true Alaskan lifestyle at Husky Homestead, home of Iditarod Champion Jeff King. This tour is widely heralded as an authentic look into rural lifestyles based on 35 years of Alaskan adventures: from freight hauling on Denali to crossing the finish line in Nome with a champion Iditarod team. Be greeted by cuddly puppies and share an intimate view of the Alaskan Husky as they explode from the kennel on a training run. Get a behind-the-scenes look at what goes into creating a championship team and carving a life in Alaska's Interior. Hear compelling stories from the trail and see actual racing sleds, arctic survival gear and equipment used to traverse 1100 miles of Alaska's most rugged terrain.Come visit Husky Homestead today! We offer three tours daily at 8:30am, 12:30pm and 7:00pm. Our 2012 season runs from May 14th through September 24th.
PETOSKEY
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“INCREDIBLE PRESENTATION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

MUST DO.......Iditarod winner Jeff King presents an amazing story of what it takes to do that race, along with how he raises his huskies here. Dogs/pups are just lovable and powerful to watch, staff here is exceptional. Very interesting and worth time/money!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    24
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eagle River, Alaska, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great dog sledding demo & talk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

As an Alaskan I though this was a great dog sledding attraction to learn all about dog sledding and the Iditarod from and a true champion. This was most behind the scene info I have seen regarding the Iditarod prep and running and Jeff King is a great individual and competitor. Don't miss this attraction while in the Denali Park area. Since i live in Anchorage I visit the park every few year & I never knew this attraction was there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Don't miss this tour!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

If u love dogs, u will especially love this tour. What great dogs and their staff. Jeff and girlfriend are superb hosts for this informative and dog loving experience. So glad we went. We will surely be watching and cheering for Jeff and team next race...knowing the love and work that has gone into their performances.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Informative and entertaining for the whole family, especially animal lovers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This was a wonderful thing to do with the whole family.

If you are staying within a few miles of the Denali entrance, they will pick you up and return you to your hotel. Our driver was none other than Jeff King, 4-time Iditarod winner. He is a colorful character and a fascinating person.

When you get off the shuttle, you are immediately handed a bundle of warm fur. Who can resist a 2-week old warm puppy? They are simply irresistible (eyes closed, pink paws, velvety fur)! Then they describe the training process and give demonstrations outside.
Afterwords, you go inside and sit and listen to Mr. King talk about the race. He is really entertaining and the time goes by quickly.

It is a little pricey, but it is a once-in-a-lifetime experience, and you get a true feel of what it must be like to live in Alaska. There are coupons for it in some of the visitors' brochures, and they do offer some discounts. I would definitely recommend it!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“VERY NICE ACTIVITY !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Very nice people, cute dogs, nice thing to do on a evening after a hike at Denali !! Good entertainment !

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Husky Homestead also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to Husky Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Husky Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.