We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic campground” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Furnace Creek Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Death Valley National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Furnace Creek Campground
Save Saved
You added Furnace Creek Campground to your Saves list
Death Valley National Park, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
California
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Basic campground”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at the Furnace Creek campground for three nights in mid-November in site 150 on the walk-in side. This site is fairly large and at the top of the loop, so you aren't sandwiched in with other campers. It doesn't have many trees, which was fine for our stay because it wasn't very windy. The biggest drawbacks to this campground are no showers and the fire pits are very shallow so they are hard to cook on. For $5 per person you can use the showers and pool at the Furnace Creek Ranch - we did this one night and our kids all went swimming, so it was worth the money but sort of a hassle as the FC Ranch is not walking distance (at least not carrying towels, a change of clothes, and shower stuff). The plus is it was only $18 per night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    28
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

It's just like any other National Park campground.
You arrive, pick a site, pay at the terminal and you're all set.
You get your own picknick table and most (but not all) campsites are large enough. Restrooms were not very clean but still ok. No showers.
During our stay, it stormed out there which made it quite special.
We got a drink at the nearby ranch.
At 12$ a night, it's what you can expect of a NP campground.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We unfortunately could only stay one night, if you're there to see all the sights of Death Valley, you definetly need at least an extra night, but was OK since I've been there many times. We stayed in the "walk-in tent loop" section which is very quiet since there are no RV's/generators to deal with. The campground is conveniently located so you can walk to the golf course, store, restaurant, bar, etc. Very friendly and helpful camp hosts. Looking forward to staying there again in the Spring!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Furnace Creek campground is good enough and spread out well. It's well located for most day trips out to the rest of the national park for sure. Being the only one bookable in advance, even in November (not Thanksgiving weekend) by about 4pm it was almost fully-booked; so be warned. There are two others operating on a first come first served basis though and they had stacks of space all night. Of those, take the top of the two. The first is ghastly, almost like a parking lot.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We had a great site and our fellow campers were great except for the one wacko who was compelled to 1) violate flag etiquette by flying an un-illuminated flag after sunset and 2) play both America the Beautiful and then taps on a trumpet!! After others in the campground expressed their displeasure, he finally shut up and a peaceful evening was had by all.

We much preferred the location to Mesquite Springs as far as being centrally located.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

Furnace Creek is hand's down the best campground within Death Valley National Park. Centrally located, which makes day trips out to the rest of the park easy. Rangers and campground Hosts were very friendly. Bathrooms are basic, but clean. No lights in the bathrooms at night, so make sure to bring a flashlight.

I highly reccommend reserving a site next to the trees, otherwise the wind (up to 65 mph at night) and sun during the day can be brutal. We had site # 114 and I would definately reserve that same spot again.

Showers are available at Furnace Creek Ranch, which is just down the road. $5 gets you a ticket to use the pool and showers. When we were there, they only let campers use the pool after 5pm and only sold 70 tickets per day.

Gas was $5.40 a gallon at Furnace Creek on 4/06/11. Since we wanted to visit Rhyolite ghost town anyways, we just drove a bit further up the road to Beatty, NV for gas. Saved about a $1.20 gallon. And then hit Titus Canyon on the way back.

Still some construction noise from the Vistor Center rebuild. Mainly just the beep, beep, beep of the trucks backing up.

If you go, make sure to do the Artist's Drive. Simply breathtaking!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

We spent three nights at site 39 which provided a decent amount of shade for hiding the tent (stayed in the tent-only loop). Fire pit and grill provided, and campsite clean and well-managed. Bathroom nearby, but only three stalls and two sinks. No hot water or showers. Have to go to Inn for that...$5 per person. Only frustration was the construction crews building new visitor center. They start at 6 a.m., so waking up slowly to peaceful view of the mountains was not an option. But glad to know a new center is coming for everyone to enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Furnace Creek Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnace Creek Campground

Address: Death Valley National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Death Valley National Park
Number of rooms: 129
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Campground Hotel Death Valley National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Furnace Creek Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.