We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast with a view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Panamint Springs Resort Restaurant

Panamint Springs Resort Restaurant
Highway 190, 31 mi west of Stovepipe Wells, Death Valley National Park, CA 93556
775-482-7680
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
South Haven, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Breakfast with a view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stopped here at a little before 7 a.m. on our way out of Death Valley. Coffee was ready, but food was just coming. We were able to have some coffee and sit out on the porch. Good coffee, excellent view - dining outside is a real treat.

Breakfast was a buffet and somewhat limited - scrambled eggs, sausage, cold cereal, potatoes were all right, but not great. Would have preferred ordering off a menu, but that wasn't a choice. Friendly staff.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    27
    17
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Pretty good food for the middle of nowhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stopped here on our way out of DV and seemed to be the first patrons of the day. The waitress was very friendly and the food was pretty good, a little overpriced but a better value than the 49er Cafe at Furnace Creek. The dining room is covered with very cool pictures of DV.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Had a Great Lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Drove out from Lone Pine today for lunch-we both had burgers which came with a large mound of fries and they were delicious! My husband made two beer selections from the 170 choices (really) and I had the Prickly Pear Cactus Margarita. We were both pleased with our selections.

Yes, the food is a little on the high side if you are used to Carl's or Mc D's, but let's consider the location and also the fact they tasted much better. The beers were very reasonably priced.

The service was very friendly and prompt, especially considering they had just had a bus load of foreign tourists right before we arrived. I could definitely see this as a stopping off point for groups, (particularly motorcyclists out for a drive!)

We will definitely make this a stop on our next adventure into Death Valley, when the days get a little cooler.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, Warks
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Didnt stay at Hotel , just ate at restaurant, Dissapointed after years of visiting ;-(”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Been visting here for years................. Unfortunatley the same thing has happened here as so many other places in the area. The cost of food is ridiculous..... we even questioned it and we are use to eating in expensive places....
Staff are friendly, locations great and uniqueness still remains, location as charming as ever but its simply a fact that this place has fallen prey to the price cranking weve seen in the area.......and to be honest the food was average, my salad was in fact not very good at all...

Such a shame ;-( ill probabley go back as ive always liked the place but this is the first step to it becoming just another cafe on the side of the road in death valley. gutting...

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich UK
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 201 cities Reviews in 201 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
“what would you expect ?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

as other reviewers have noted; if staying in Panamint Springs you have limited options; this is in the middle of nowhere for God's sake. We were staying in the RV park over the road and had resigned to dining here - and were, it must be said, pleasantly surprised. Cactus juice margaritas followed by a very decent pizza and salad; local beer, and pretty good value too. Casual, affable but competent service. And a memorable view of Panamint valley at sunset. Come on you grumblers out there - have a sense of occasion and magic of it all !!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panamint Springs Resort Restaurant also viewed

Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 

Been to Panamint Springs Resort Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panamint Springs Resort Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.