We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scotty's Castle

Scotty's Castle
123 Scottys Castle Road (NV 267), 53 mi northwest of Furnace Creek, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
760-786-2392
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, Castles, Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Group tours/day tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This castle in the desert was built by infamous Wild West huckster Walter Scott and financed by insurance magnate Albert Johnson.
San Mateo, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Well worth a stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have toured the house a couple of times... most recently in March 2013. First of all it is amazing... a castle in the desert. Very different from anything else around. The stories of Johnson the insurance man and Scotty the con-man are wonderful. The building is beautiful.

The first time I took the tour (2006) it was first person... the guide was stuck in 1930, and knew nothing of more modern events... It was a spectacular tour. My teen age son had a great time as well. On my recent tour, the guide did not do first person, and when asked was a bit defensive... In all, he was not one of the best house tour guides I have seen, but even with a lesser guide the tour was worth it, and both I and daughter and friends had a blast.

In 2006 I took the underground tour as well... lots of fun, lots more information about the place... also worth it.

The castle is very different than other Death Valley experiences... It is a long way from other things... if staying in Death Valley this makes a good day with a loop through Beatty and Ryolite.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    76
    20
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
rochester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cool living in the dessert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Very interesting tours of this home at the north end of death valley. The high volume of water from an underground spring made life here on a comfortable oasis possible. Built by an insurance company owner in the twentys. Had its own generators too.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

What is surprise ! A cattle in the middle of no where. Turn over it has quite a story. I enjoy my trip so much, even though I had to drive more than 40 miles out of our way to see it. Make sure you stop by to see the Ubehebe Crater also. If you have time, I recommend you take the full tour for both the castle and the underground.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, KS
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We did the upstairs and basement tours--a little expensive and I was a little skeptical, but ultimately ended up enjoying it. I did have more fun on the underground/basement tour though as it went more into the technology of things there---amazing technology/design for when and where this beautiful home was built. It is a bit of a haul to get up there (assuming you are staying at Furnace Creek), but worth the drive.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Calif.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Eastern Sierra's Roadtrip 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Very interesting. Death Valley is out in the middle of nowhere and as you turn the corner there is an oasis with a beautiful residence, someone's little getaway. The tour was excellent and being part of a National Park the cost was reasonable. The history from the early 1900's was very interesting to read about and listen to.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scotty's Castle also viewed

Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 
Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 

Been to Scotty's Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scotty's Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Scotty's Castle to your Saves list