We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view that has paved access” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dante's View

Dante's View
Dante's View Rd. off Rte. 190, 30 mi south of Furnace Creek, Death Valley National Park, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$209*
and up
Small-Group Death Valley National Park Day Trip from Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Death Valley National Park, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best view that has paved access”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

For those that have a sedan or a family car this is one of the best views you can get to. At the parking lot there are little use trails that go to the north and south of the parking lot, south is lower, north is higher.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    622
    123
    20
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Makawao, Hawaii
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A.MA.ZING.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Dante's View is an overview of Death Valley. Don't miss it. It is way up high, so it is very COLD and WINDY! So dress accordingly (not just a winter coat, but a hat, scarf, gloves! Seriously!). You'll be miserable if you don't bundle up. The view is seriously amazing, and you can hike/walk quite a ways for more views if you are bundled up enough.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stratford upon avon
Level Contributor
124 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Well worth the drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

We drove to Dante's View on our way back to Las Vegas as it was the last sight to see, we were not disappointed the view takes your breath away, we had been to the valley where the temperature was at 118f so it was a welcome change to have a cool breeze blowing, I took a panoramic view with my camera as it is difficult to explain to friends the beauty when we go back home.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“What a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Had been to Death Valley before but missed going up to Dante's View. OMG what a view. Take a jacket with you as although it was in the high 90f in the valley floor you are about 8000 feet plus high and late morning it was only about 54F. The views are simply breath taking and nothing like I have seen before. Well worth the drive from Vegas. A view not to be missed.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Sunrise spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

It is half hour drive from the DV resort centre up and up the switchback road to a large car park. From there you can take footpaths to get a little higher, and the view across the valley is amazing. The sun comes up behind you and we watched the peaks changing colour as the sky got lighter and the colours appeared. Well worth the effort and we came away with great photographs, though how those guys did it on bikes..... Wow, they must be fit!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dante's View also viewed

Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 
Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 

Been to Dante's View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dante's View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.