We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A.MA.ZING.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dante's View

Dante's View
Dante's View Rd. off Rte. 190, 30 mi south of Furnace Creek, Death Valley National Park, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Lookouts
Attraction Details
Makawao, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A.MA.ZING.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Dante's View is an overview of Death Valley. Don't miss it. It is way up high, so it is very COLD and WINDY! So dress accordingly (not just a winter coat, but a hat, scarf, gloves! Seriously!). You'll be miserable if you don't bundle up. The view is seriously amazing, and you can hike/walk quite a ways for more views if you are bundled up enough.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    66
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stratford upon avon
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Well worth the drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

We drove to Dante's View on our way back to Las Vegas as it was the last sight to see, we were not disappointed the view takes your breath away, we had been to the valley where the temperature was at 118f so it was a welcome change to have a cool breeze blowing, I took a panoramic view with my camera as it is difficult to explain to friends the beauty when we go back home.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“What a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Had been to Death Valley before but missed going up to Dante's View. OMG what a view. Take a jacket with you as although it was in the high 90f in the valley floor you are about 8000 feet plus high and late morning it was only about 54F. The views are simply breath taking and nothing like I have seen before. Well worth the drive from Vegas. A view not to be missed.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Sunrise spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

It is half hour drive from the DV resort centre up and up the switchback road to a large car park. From there you can take footpaths to get a little higher, and the view across the valley is amazing. The sun comes up behind you and we watched the peaks changing colour as the sky got lighter and the colours appeared. Well worth the effort and we came away with great photographs, though how those guys did it on bikes..... Wow, they must be fit!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, South Yorkshire, England, UK
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
“One of our favourite parts of our DV trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Heading out of Death Valley, this was one of our final stops on our 2 day adventure and boy did we save the best til last. Amazing views and a lovely drop in temperature after the scorching heat of DV.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dante's View also viewed

Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
Death Valley National Park, CA
 
Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 

Been to Dante's View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dante's View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.