We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A name with a view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dante's View

Dante's View
Dante's View Rd. off Rte. 190, 30 mi south of Furnace Creek, Death Valley National Park, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Lookouts, Sights & Landmarks
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A name with a view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were on our way out of Death Valley when we left the main road to drive on this narrow road with a few hairpin bends to reach this famous view point. It's worth the approx 15 minute drive as the top suddenly opens out into this wonderful vista, showing the salt plains of Badwater stretching out below. You can walk a little but need good soles on your footwear. Great for a picnic and a few photographs. The toilet facilities are not wonderful and are back down the road a short way. Would be a wonderful place for sunrise or sunset views.
A grand finale to our time in Death Valley.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    83
    15
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paso Robles, CA
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Expansive Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The long climb up to Dante's View is worth the drive - - but bring a jacket, the temperature is dramatically lower than in in the valley far below, and winds can be an issue. Great views of the valley and mountain ranges!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“What a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Take some decent walking shoes, some water, a good camera and take some binoculars. The view is spectacular..

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Sunrise - So Peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We arrived just before sunrise, one other couple there. We felt like we had it to ourselves, its so peaceful and beautiful - great photo opportunities watching the sum come up from behind the mountains. It takes about half an hour from Furnace Creek so get your timings right, we missed sunset the night before by 5 mins arghh

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strandhill, Ireland
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
105 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Great views...show DV at it's most impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

When you stand around 5000 ft above Death Valley, that's when you can get an real good impression on how big, vast and extreme it is! You get this & more at Dante's View! About 18 miles or so from Furnace Creek Ranch, but everything in Death Valley is a pretty long drive! It's worth it though! And for bonus points, it's about 20f cooler up here than the valley floor!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dante's View also viewed

Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 
Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 

Been to Dante's View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dante's View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.