We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Las Vegas airport o Dantes View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dante's View

Dante's View
Dante's View Rd. off Rte. 190, 30 mi south of Furnace Creek, Death Valley National Park, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Lookouts
Attraction Details
cheshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Las Vegas airport o Dantes View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Can a fellow tripper help us to identify the best route out of Las Vegas Airport to Dantes View in Death Valley please. We'll be picking up a hire car about 11am ish at the airport and overnighting at Furnace Creek Resort before travelling on to Yosemite. Can we "do" Dantes View and journey on to Furnace Creek with it being a "rush"?
Does anyone know the best route from Death Valley to Yosemite - we've been told to journey via Fresno but it seems way out - are there road closures in May which resulted in this advice?

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    57
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mohave Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best View in Death Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The drive to Dante's View is well worth the extra time. Be sure to stop here for the best view of Death Valley National Park.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, Utah
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A great view of Death Valley and the salt flats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were at Dantes on 2/20 and found it to be a great view on the valley. Be prepared for some wind and cooler tempatures (we ended up wearing our winter coats and gloves) but the view is worth it. You get a good view from the parking lot but hike the 1/4 mile out to the overlook for a better view.
The drive up is paved and pretty easy, the last 1/4 is a bit twisty and steep but nothing to worry about. Overall it took us about 1/2 hour to make the drive.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great views, but time of the day is important”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I think Dante's view is the perfect destination - the views are awesome, the road is beautiful.
I believe the height of that place is just right for the views you see, we also visited Aguereberry Point which is at higher elevation and while it was also very nice I liked Dante's view more.
But the time of the day is important - we had to go there twice, because first time we got there after sunrise at Zabriskiy point (like 1.5 hour after sunrise) and part of the Valley was in a shade, so we couldn't take good pictures, so we went there for the second time in the middle of the day and were able to see the whole valley.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Possibly one of the most beautiful view points on earth, it's a photographers paradise. It is a must when visiting Death Valley. Easy access via paved and well maintained road and parking lot.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dante's View also viewed

Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 
Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 

Been to Dante's View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dante's View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dante's View to your Saves list