We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Good. Not great.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Furnace Creek Dining Room

The Inn at Furnace Creek Dining Room
Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
760-786-2345
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $35
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Milwaukee
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“It's Good. Not great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

A little pricey for what you get, but good. Not a lot of other choices. When we got done, we said, OK. It was fine.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    60
    53
    22
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible meal and they did not care”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Four of us went for what we thought would be a good dinner. The wait was long enough for us to order a second bottle of wine. When the food came, the pastas were cold, the steaks overcooked. We sent them back. The second time, steaks came out cold - good meat but cold. The pastas had been microwaved. Waiter was friendly, brought the manager, who acted like he couldn't care less. Several hundred dollars wiser, we will not return. The cafe 49er down the road was a relief.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Overall a good time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The dining room is wonderful and our server is very attentive. The preparation of the food was excellent but typical of every Xanterra restaurant was the fact they simply skimp on the ingredients. My steak while wonderfully prepared was still not a good cut of meat. They need spend a little more charge me the extra 5 bucks.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“TERRACE GREAT, RESTAURANT Nice, but slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Excellent classy staff and fun to talk with. Service was very good. If you are a vegetarian, it may be a challenge.

LUNCH ON THE TERRACE IS OVER THE TOP!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“excellent food at reasonable prices (given the location)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife and son had two breakfasts here, and my wife and I had a lovely anniversary dinner here. In each case the food was excellent -- especially at dinner -- and the service friendly, efficient and attentive. The room is quiet and great for conversation, and some of the tables have stunning views of the Panamint Range across the Valley.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Inn at Furnace Creek Dining Room also viewed

Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 

Been to The Inn at Furnace Creek Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Furnace Creek Dining Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.