We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ugh. More disappointing than ever.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Furnace Creek Dining Room

The Inn at Furnace Creek Dining Room
Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
760-786-2345
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $35
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
San Carlos, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Ugh. More disappointing than ever.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Maybe it's because the location is so fabulous, but we just cannot seem to give up hoping that we will some day have a wonderful dinner here. We learned long ago to bring our own wine, as the wine list is just on paper and they seem to be out of most selections. The food is just average and, for the price, poor. For example, one of the salad choices for Thanksgiving dinner was tomatoes with mozzerella and balsamic dressing. The tomatoes were crunchy and almost green! The ingredients for entrees are of poor quality and are not well prepared. The prices are outrageous. The Wrangler steak house at the FC Ranch has better food, but is similarly over-priced and has service problems of its own. Even Stovepipe's restaurant has better and fresher ingredients. It's really a shame because it's such a beautiful setting.

The old art work showing famous scenes from the Park has been replaced with anachronistic portraits and landscapes from other locations in the desert south west. One would hope that Fred Harvey would be embarrassed at having his own likeness showcased above the mantle in this beautiful historic dining room.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xanterra, Executive Director at The Inn at Furnace Creek Dining Room, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Dear 206dvr,

Our sincerest apologies for the dining experience you had at the Inn at Furnace Creek Dining Room. Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. It's comments such as yours that help us identify problem areas and take measures to correct them.

Your comments have been shared with both the Executive Director Team and the Food and Beverage Management Team. I know we cannot change your experience but I hope that you can be confident that we've heard your concerns about the service and value we offer and have collectively taken a proactive approach to addressing them. As a repeat guest your feedback is extremely important to us. We appreciate your business and hope to see you next year.

Kindest regards,

Daisy Hobbs
Executive Director of Operations
Furnace Creek Resort
dhobbs@xanterra.com
Office (760) 786-2345
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    60
    50
    20
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Only Average but Premium Presumption”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

The staff were good, attentive and professional. The meal was only average, although the restaurant pretends to greatness.

It took almost an hour from order to service. The vegetables were tough and barely edible. The pork chop, the evening special, arrived overcooked, underseasoned - bad and boring. My companion had duck, which was better. Breakfast was good, but nothing exceptional. Not a place with which I would bother again.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
“A diner to forget”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

I am sorry not to have read reviews of the restaurant before. The food was badly prepared and expensive. Expensive, I could undersatnd but badly cooked and seemingly having spend the day under DV sun!!
Better to go to the Ranch next time.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xanterra, Executive Director at The Inn at Furnace Creek Dining Room, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Dear 1201CH,

Our sincerest apologies for your experience with the food quality at the Inn Dining Room. Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. Comments such as yours help us determine problem areas that we can address and resolve.

We have spoken with our Inn Chef and have been assured something like this won't happen again. Again, we are truly sorry about your experience and we hope that you will visit us again in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Daisy Hobbs
Executive Director of Operations
Furnace Creek Resort
dhobbs@xanterra.com
Office (760) 786-2345
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Ordinary food - and a slightly stiff and formal atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We dined here on our second night at Furnace Creek (we were staying at the Ranch rather than the more upmarket Inn). We were keen to check out the fine dining and the ambience of the big old hotel on the hill. It is indeed a very fine hotel, with a lovely bar, terrace and dining room overlooking the desert view (however, there was nothing to see at night!), lounging furniture, open fireplaces etc.

The dining room was only about a third full because the Inn had only just opened at the start of the season, but the staff still seemed a bit harried. The host made a big fuss of checking our reservation and consulting with the manager about our table allocation - which seemed completely unnecessary as there were numerous empty tables!

As is our habit we each had an appetiser, then each couple shared an entree (the portions being so overly generous). Nothing was especially noteworthy. My seared tuna appetiser was over cooked. My husband's seafood chowder was much too thick and not especially tasty. Our dining companions shared a buffalo pot roast served with root vegetables - lots of flavoursome meat but it was inclined to be tough which was a disappointment. My husband and I shared the special of the evening - a rack of lamb. There were two sizeable chops - it was fortunate that we like our meat medium rare - these were verging on raw in the middle! However, they were very tasty and tender. The artichoke risotto which accompanied them was gluggy.

All in all this was a lacklustre dining experience. We had a much better meal in a more convivial atmosphere the previous night at the Wrangler Steakhouse at the Ranch (see separate review).

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Fine dining in a remote location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We were staying at the Furnace Creek Ranch but wanted to celebrate a birthday with a little more style. The Dining room at the Furnace Creek Inn proved to be ideal with an excellent menu, wine list and service all combining to make it a memorable experience. Thoroughly recommended for anyone wishing to dine in style whilst staying in Death Valley.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Inn at Furnace Creek Dining Room also viewed

Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 

Been to The Inn at Furnace Creek Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Furnace Creek Dining Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.