We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pup Fish !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salt Creek

Salt Creek
Death Valley National Park, CA
Improve this listing
Torrance, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Pup Fish !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stopped by the Salt Creek Interpretative Trail on our way up to The Racetrack, and glad we did. A nice boardwalk, and well maintained by the NPS rangers. We were on the hunt for the ever elusive ‘salt creek pup fish,’ My fiancé managed to spot one and catch a photo. Regardless of seeing any tiny fishes, it is a nice walk, and pleasant way to get out of the car and stretch your legs for 20 minutes.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    21
    11
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hurricane, Utah
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Interesting to water in the desert, pupfish not so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My wife and I went to see the pupfish on 2/21/13, it is an easy 1.5 mile drive up a dirt road which our passenger car had no problem with. From the parking lot, you follow a boardwalk through the streams, swamp, small ponds and get to see the pupfish. It was interesting seeing flowing water in D. We saw many pupfish but they are so small it's like seeing mini minnows. It's an easy 1/2 mile walk. There is a picnic table and bathroom at the site.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohave Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Desert Pupfish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is an excellent place to view pupfish and to take a nice, easy stroll along the boardwalk. Spend time looking into the water as the fish are fast. They are sometimes shy and will hide underneath the banks. Once you see them, they are playful like puppies.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Salt Creek, Death Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

3 mile dirt road to a river that flows across the bottom of Death Valley all year! In March and April the Salt Creek Pupfish come down to the boardwalk area to mate and lay eggs; the rest of the year they are upstream by the spring source. Pupfish are mo more than 3 cm long!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Creek also viewed

Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 
Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 

Been to Salt Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.