We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Hike” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mosaic Canyon

Mosaic Canyon
Route 190, Death Valley National Park, CA
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Overland Park, KS
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Cool Hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We took this hike to kill time before hitting the sand dunes at sunset and really enjoyed it. You don't have to hike to far up the canyon until it gets interesting. Lots of cool boulders/trails/paths to climb on and explore. We really liked this one!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    56
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great place to hike to get out of the wind”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We chose this canyon because the wind was blowing 40 mph and we wanted some respite. What a beautiful canyon ! As we hiked up into the canyon we noticed a park ranger who was assisting someone trapped on a ledge. On our way back we witnessed her rescue by other park rangers with ladders and climbing ropes. She was safe and uninjured and the rangers were friendly and helpful.
As we hiked back down with the rangers we got a chance to ask them many questions. What a great bunch of people. They all said they had the best jobs in the world !

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, Utah
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Mosaic canyon was OK, intersting rock not much hcolor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We visited Mosaic canyon around 4 pm on 2/21. You drive up a 3+ mile dirt road to get to the canyon. The road is easily drive by a passenger car (our Honda Civic had no problems with the drive). The hike starts out through a small slot canyon and you need to scramble up some slick (and slippery) marble rock. This section is one of the most interesting of the hike. After that you are just walking up a flat wash. We hiked up a mile and while the view was interesting, we found most of the mosaic like rock was in the first 1/4 mile and the canyon walls were not as colorful as I expected. Perhaps it improves if you hike further out. The mosaic rock formations at the beginning are worth seeing but I am glad my wife pointed them out I was looking for something much more colorful.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lewiston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I'd visited this canyon two years ago, never dreaming I'd have a chance to visit again. Lucky me. Like so many places in Death Valley, every turn in the trail offers a new treat for the senses and something new to wonder about. You can spend only a half hour here and have a wonderful little hike, but I hope you'll spend much more than that and take the time to sit and enjoy the silence and the drama of the scene all around you--even up in the sky where domestic and military planes are constantly passing, silently or not-so-silently. The hike can be very easy or you can add scrambles up dryfalls or little slides down the smooth, smooth rock.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
81 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Great reward for little effort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

My wife & I did a day trip to DV at the end of January and hit a dozen or so of the "attractions" on the eastern side of the park. We did three canyon trails (Natural Bridge, Golden Canyon, and Mosaic Canyon) and of the three Mosaic offered the best return on investment. It's about a 2 1/2 mile drive down a bumpy gravel road to get to the parking area, but you only have to hike about a quarter mile into the canyon to reach the narrow and well polished walls of the canyon. We were a little pressed for time so we didn't walk the whole trail but even the short ways we went was well worth the trip. Lots of cool geological features there and great photo opportunities as well. A must see in DV!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mosaic Canyon also viewed

Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 
Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 

Been to Mosaic Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mosaic Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.