We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a stop between other sites” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Devil's Golf Course

Devil's Golf Course
Badwater Rd., 13 mi south of Furnace Creek. Turn right onto dirt road and drive 1 mi, Death Valley National Park, CA
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A seemingly infinite number of crusted salt formations jut from the "course."
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Worth a stop between other sites”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

There are interesting salt formations to check out. If this wasn't located between the Badwater salt flats and Furnace creek, it wouldn't be worth the drive, but since it is, it's worth spending a little time there.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    80
    41
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Amazing, must see with Badwater!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We went to Badwater and then Devil's Golf Course. I agree with the other reviewers that you must see both of these sites. DGC is along a flat dirt road. Once there you can walk as far as you want into the weird rock and salt formations. We saw people who were really far out. My kids liked this better than Badwater because the formations were more interesting to look at (and they liked the name better).

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Badwater's bumpier cousin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Like the Badwater Basin, this is a vast field of salt crystal formations, but the weathering processes have sculpted slightly taller forms. (Only the devil could play golf here.) You have to have a taste for the stark beauty of this kind of landscape to enjoy this, but if you do, it's worth the stop. Great photo opportunities in the morning.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellaville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Strange Part of the World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

They say on a quiet hot day, (Everyday?) you can hear the Devil hitting golf balls? It was only 85F the day I was there, so the Devil must have been playing somewhere else.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“is there life on mars?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This place looks like a satellite image of mars. I urge you to visit this place. For me this was the most exciting place in Death Valley. If you are interested in what mars would look like (if really hot instead of cold!) then come check it out. I hope you decide to walk onto the field and if you do, be very, very careful it would be really easy to seriously hurt yourself. It may look like soft mud from far but that is very hard rock.I also tasted the salt on the floor, yep it tastes like Salt! Don't do that !

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devil's Golf Course also viewed

Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 
Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 

Been to Devil's Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devil's Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.