We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected sight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eureka Dunes

Eureka Dunes
Death Valley National Park, CA
Improve this listing
Type: Geologic Formations, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These dunes, the highest in the state, are located near Death Valley.
Rancho Mirage, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Unexpected sight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

If you have driven into Death Valley National Park from the southern entrance after seeing the salt flats I think you will be a bit amazed to see California's tallest sand dunes rising up to meet you. We got there just as twilight was ending and so did not get a chance to walk out on the dunes. Will save that for the next visit to the park.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“How to walk in loose sand of the dunes.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Tip I was given by two little kids at Great Sand Dunes Natl Park years ago: Take off your shoes and hike with just socks. Much easier and feels great to the feet! My wife and I did it several years ago at the Stovepipe Wells dunes, and plan to do the same this yr when we drive out to Eureka.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Dunes what can you say”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

It's cool to see the dunes in the park but we also have been to white sand and thats much better in many ways. But this is just one of many different landscapes

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sunrise a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We managed to catch an afternoon at the dunes and the shadows for photography was good but nothing like we experienced at sunrise. Lots more color and shadows. Unfortunately we did not get a sunset there but still it is awesome to see sand dunes in the middle of the desert.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Eureka Sand Dunes, Death Valley National park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

the highest dunes in California - about 700 ft. If you get to the top, start sand sliding down the slip face and listen for the dunes to "sing" - or hum, really... not many dunes do this. Amazing valley, great place to camp. fun to sleep up on the dunes when weather is nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eureka Dunes also viewed

Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 

Been to Eureka Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eureka Dunes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.