We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, great location, bed was like heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort to your Saves list
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Highway 190, PO Box 187, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very nice, great location, bed was like heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

Very nice clean upstairs room in 900 building, bed was so comfortable! This resort is right in the middle of the park where you want to be. There's lots of nice green trees here and a beautiful pool. There's lots to do at the resort - horseback riding, golf, tennis, swimming, etc. plus of course there's all kinds of things to see near there. There's also a really nice little museum here that was super interesting (to me anyway). They also have a general store and several restaurants and a bar. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The only down side is the cost of the food in the restaurants, but you have to figure how far somebody has to go to bring the food in to this remote resort.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tw0Fr0mSanDieg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

We spent 1 night at the Furnace Creek Ranch. We drove to Death Valley from a luxurious stay in Vegas and it was so wonderful to be in these amazing natural surroundings. We checked out the Inn at Death Valley junction and decided to move on from the time warp. So glad we did. We stopped and paid our entrance fee to the park and called the Furnace Creek Ranch from a pay phone to make our reservation. Lucky it was winter and they had availability on the day. Stopped off at Zabriskie Point on the way to the Ranch. It is really close and the view of Death Valley from all directions is wonderful. Popped into the tourist info (just past the Ranch) for a map and and some info and then went to check in.
Everyone was really friendly and pleasant. We had a really nice ground floor room in the end block. The room had two large beds, sliding doors out, a small but clean bathroom and very nice.
We went for a swim in the great pool filled by natural hot spring water. It was cool outside (around 7 pm) but really nice in the pool. It was freezing out by the time we got out of the water and made a run for a hot shower! It felt great afterwards. We headed for the general store for a look around. It is wonderful, has everything you need and don't need! Went to the bar for a fantastic locally brewed beer and met some nice people. Then went next door for a steak. The restuarant was not very busy, but really comfortable, great service and although a bit expensive the meal was terrific!
We walked back to our room and had a great night's sleep, very comfortabe. Everyone is up early so the noise is not a problem. Fridge and coffee machine in the room so you have all you need. Popped into the general store to pick up coffee and something for breakfast and hit the road to see the sights. On our way back en route to Stovepipe Wells we popped back to the general store for another coffee, visited the post office and stopped next door to fill up with gas (very expensive but necessary!).
We loved our stay and would recommend the Furnace Creek Ranch as the best place to stay in Death Valley. It has everything you need and given the fact you are in the desert it is a wonderful place that fits in well into the surrounding landscape.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geronimoturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bretagne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

We spent one night in Furnace Creek Cabins. The cabins are nice and confortable, the air conditioning worked well. Walking throughout the ranch at night, with the heat, felt exotic and relaxing. The light at sunrise was fantastic and the surrounding was so quiet and peaceful.
It is really worth staying for the night to complete the visit of Death Valley.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gibri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

Just to be clear, there is a fancy hotel and a more modest one in Furnace Creek. We stayed in the more modest one. To their credit, they had done a recent reonovation which looked pretty nice. The problem is that the walls are paper thin and we could hear EVERYTHING our neighbors said and did. That being said, the location is fantastic...right in the heart of Death Valley and close to most of the major attractions. The service people are very nice and there are a couple restaurants on the premises. Speaking of which, my wife picked up a really bad stomach funk (she threw up 9 times in one day.) We have no definitive proof that it was because of the restaurants at Furance Creek, although she did eat at the steak house the night before getting sick. The food manager came to talk to us and said he took at food-related illnesses very seriously and would investigate. I take him at his word, and about 24 hours later my wife we herself again.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank HamachiReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alaska
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

It is 6 a.m as I write this review of the so called "resort." Room stinks, beds awful, bathroom dirty and doors literally rusting from the frames. Pillows and bedding the worse! I have stayed at many dumps in my life, but this is the worse, ever! It is a shockingly, terrible, disgusting place. Did not see the Inn, but I cannot recommend Xanterra hotels to anyone. Seriously, this was one of the worse nights of my life.

Some more features: big wet stain above the bed, upstairs noise so bad, with each walk, I awake. YUK, YUK YUK!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank valcarcejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

We stayed in a cabin, not the motel or resort. The carpet was absolutely filthy, the bathroom sink was so small, there was no place to sit anything, except on the floor. The room was dreary, drab and dark. We always had clean towels, so I have no complaints about hospitality. The room had a mini fridge and a coffee maker. We paid $136/night to stay there. Each cabin has two rooms and two parking spaces, but other people parked in our parking space so we had to park at other cabins several times. There are several places to eat there, but the food is very expensive, as there is no place else to eat. But, you do get large servings. One morning we split a breakfast order of pancakes and bacon. The pancakes were the size of our plate. There is a laundry building and a post office in this area also along with a wonderful pool, but I would stay in the motel instead of the cabins if I visited again. There are several gas stations in the park and gas cost $3.25/gal. when we were there, so gas up before you get there.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2009

We came in the middle of the night in the middle og july - waaay to hot to stay for more than one night. I found the ranch okay, but the pool was like taking a hot shower. The rooms are fine and air condioned.
We stood up early in the morning to go seightseeing - and that was indeed beutiful. But before 10 AM we were on our way...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NikoCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
24.8 mi away
Longstreet Inn and Casino
Longstreet Inn and Casino
#1 of 1 in Amargosa Valley
3.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
97.7 mi away
Corral Creek Resort
Corral Creek Resort
#2 of 4 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
27.3 mi away
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
#1 of 1 in Death Valley Junction
3.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Address: Highway 190, PO Box 187, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnace Creek Resort, situated in a lush oasis surrounded by the vast and arid desert of Death Valley National Park, California is just 120 miles northwest of Las Vegas, Nevada and 275 miles northeast of Los Angeles, California. This property hosts two hotels - the historic, 4-diamond, 66 room Inn at Furnace Creek and the more family oriented 224 room Ranch at Furnace Creek. The Inn at Furnace Creek offers guests elegant accommodations in the heart of Death Valley. This 4-diamond resort has operated for more than 86 years, and still pampers every guest. The Ranch at Furnace Creek has been welcoming guests since 1933 and offers a casual, family-like setting - the perfect complement to the classic elegance of the Inn at Furnace Creek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Otel and Low Cost Holidays so you can book your Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing