We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Furnace Creek Inn - Shame On You” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort to your Saves list
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Highway 190, PO Box 187, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
Hotel amenities
Garden Valley, California
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Furnace Creek Inn - Shame On You”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Been staying here for almost 30 years. We will never go back. Over priced, untrained staff, place needs major overhaul. We stayed in the pool bungalow, it has not been upgraded since we stayed in the room 20 years ago. Floor is rotting around the toilet, our shower consisted of water the color of ice tea, and you had to run the water 5-10 minutes to get it warm All this and you get to pay $500 per day. No wait staff for the patio on our first night. Thankfully we only wanted wine, the bartender had to read a book to make any drinks. Had to move dirty dishes from one table to another, no one to bus tables. Found out after having microwaved fish that the chef had quit. Our second night the food was so bad they comped our dinner. On Sunday they had run out of tables in the dining room so they allowed a single person to sit at table in the lobby. The table sat dirty all day. Finally we wanted to use the table, so we had to ask someone for something to clean it with, instead of doing it themselves, they handed us the rag to to wipe the table ourselves. We watched at 3:30 the valet leave as people were arriving. People were looking for help with cars and bags, finally my husband told them they would have to walk up to the desk and take care of their own bags. An hour later the valet comes back, it was so ridiculous the other guests along with us were laughing. The service was so bad we couldn't believe it. If you told anyone about problems they'd look at you with a blank stare and never do anything. There were four people at the front desk all day but at 3:00 there was only one and a line out the door of people trying to check in. When we checked out the person at the desk asked about our stay, I started to tell him, but he really didn't care. He tried to hand me back the keys to the room, I told him they were the keys to the room we were checking out of, he says "Oh, I usually just hand out keys". The management company the state uses is a joke and guess what folks you pay for them with your tax dollars. BEWARE!!!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    1,480
    688
    174
    73
See reviews for
766
1,679
67
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Awesome location, view (esp. if you have a room in the east wing; not true for all rooms) & building (given the place & history). Rates are really, really over priced, but not many choices.
Staff extremely friendly.

the most convenient location to visit the wonderful (and sometimes scary let's be honest) Death Valley.

Room Tip: on the eastern wing for the sunrise, quietness and the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Since many years we stop here and spend New Years Eve at the Inn...

The rooms, altough called renovated, are quite "oldish"... And having in mind that the rates are as high as the Bel Air a 5* plus in Beverly Hills its not worth the money...

But nothing beats the Death Valley on a New Years Eve, so thats why we stay....

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I visited the Ranch about 8 years ago and then again this November. I don't remember it being so creaky and thin-walled. But this time, we could hear a lot of sounds coming from the adjacent rooms, which kept us up at night and woke us up early in the morning. I did notice that the bathrooms were upgraded and they are perfect. But there needs to be an insulation and flooring upgrade as well, I understand that they are old buildings, but the noise takes away from the experience of being in a remote area and, instead, it feels like you're in the middle of the city, with all the hubbub going on around you.The restaurants (Cafe and Buffet) are atrocius in value and taste, Death Valley is not so remote anymore in 21st century standards. The dining room in the Inn, on the other hand, was the best experience of our trip.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The ranch is overpriced but the only game in town, besides the very plush Inn at $300 plus. We paid $300 for 2 nights. The bed was comfortable, the rugs so stained, one wanted to float above. In spite of the flimsy building it was surprisingly quiet. It is November so we did not need the air conditioner which sounded like a small plane landing. The staff was friendly and helpful. The place needs updating! But than, most people only stay once!

Room Tip: If in Death Valley, stay at the Inn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Inn is nice but too expensive the Ranch is OK. Our room was 151.00 a night at the ranch in November. The ranch could use some sprucing up a bit its outdated . Needs new carpet in the rooms because of stains maybe some paint would be nice. The rooms other wise are clean. The restaurants on site are just OK food unexciting and menus are limited due to the out of the ways location. Its ice too have a market and gas nearby. We came in for two nights for hiking so it is nicely located for the sightseeing. Weather is very mild in November.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I recently took our first tour through Death Valley, and stayed at the Furnace Creek Ranch for one night. We were really disappointed with The Ranch; especially because of the steeper pricing. When I spend over $100 a night for a hotel, I expect it to at least be clean. The carpets were stained, the walls were dirty and scratched, and there was quite a bit of hair all over the bathroom walls. GROSS.
We were also taken back at the prices for food at The Ranch. The woman cashiering their lunch buffet actually asked us if we wanted to look before we paid- it was that bad. This was probably the most disappointing part of our stay. We couldn't believe the prices being charged for under-whelming and quite stale food. GROSS

Room Tip: DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY. Stay outside of the park if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Address: Highway 190, PO Box 187, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and Despegar.com so you can book your Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.