We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough considering the environment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort to your Saves list
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Highway 190, PO Box 187, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
Hotel amenities
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good enough considering the environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Room with 2 queen beds gave us enough space for a family of 4. Shower was Not good. Swimming pool was lovely and my boys enjoyed the basketball court.
Food was reasonable and though the set menu in the main restaurant was quite expensive they let us share it so we got 2 menus for 4 people with $ 6 extra for the use of salad bar and that made it quite good. The steaks were big enough for 2 by British standard.
There isn't much else in the area and perhaps a bit of competition wouldn't go amiss but the set up was much better than what I expected after reading some of the reviews.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    1,625
    784
    202
    92
See reviews for
847
1,868
74
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

After leaving Yosemite, we drove to Death Valley for a three night stay. Two of those nights were at the Furnace Creek Inn, and one was spent camping. Because the camping night was in between the hotel nights, we asked if we could leave the luggage we didn't need in the hotel, to avoid it frying in the car. Edna was extremely helpful and had our luggage put in her office where she could lock it, and even had it arranged to be brought up to our room for the following day. The staff at both the Inn (fancier) and the Ranch (casual) were very nice and helpful. The Ranch and the Inn are about a mile apart, so we drove to the Ranch a couple of times for groceries from the general store, and food at the restaurants. The rooms we had at the Inn were nice, with a lot of the features original to the 1920's, when the hotel was built. We had a room that shared a long balcony porch, where we sat in the evening watching the sun set behind the desert mountains. The pool is great, and open late. It's big, and even during a busy tourist season, we were usually the only ones bathing. Over all, it's a great oasis in what is the hottest place on earth...

Room Tip: If your budget can swing it, ask for a king room, attached to the balcony, over looking the garden o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

I called from England to check on our upcoming reservation. A very rude woman answered and hung up on me when I asked for the front desk. I had her on speaker phone, my husband said maybe we were just disconnected. So I rang back another time, the woman said "I am the front desk and I have other guests to take care of now" and hung up!!! We were shocked to say the least. I have sent a message to the xanterra corporate office, but now am desperately looking for another place to stay as I cannot give business to this place! I've never experienced such rudeness from a business that wants my money!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

After a long days travelling and getting into Death Valley whilst it was pitch black, reception staff were helpful in checking us in. The welcome at this time was the pool that was open till late, and needed to cool down. Now for me a one night stay is more than sufficient. I used one of the restaurants for a take out and ordered a bowl of chilli, however didn't expect it to come in a plastic coffee cup. The rooms were we're fairly basic, but did have air condition which is well needed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed here on our way from Las Vegas through to Yosemite. Given the location, you can't complain about the accommodation. The rooms were very clean and the air conditioning worked great. The location is very central to all the popular sights to drive to and the bar and restaurant at the end of the day is a great end to the day. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. I would use it as a stop of point for one night only if you're planning a trip as while it's an interesting place, it's not somewhere you want to stay for too long unless you're really into rocks and blistering heat.

Word of warning, if you need the toilet, wait until you get to your room back at the Ranch, as opening the door to one of those public toilets on the side of the road is like opening the door to Satan's den. I watched my wife's knees buckle as she cracked the door before turning away quickly. Being somewhat interested in what could cause such a reaction, I approached and was confronted with something I've never experienced before. In fact I think I heard a demonic voice willing me to enter, and a head rotating in the darkness, but I couldn't be sure as my eyes were watering too much. Just hold on, or find a bush that is taller than 6 inches..!!

Overall it's a really good place to stop off on your way through and given its location, you can't complain. If you're from a country which doesn't have extreme heat, make sure you drink plenty of water and wear a hat because this place is hot and you will lose fluids without knowing it. Beer doesn't replace fluids either..

Room Tip: All rooms are in a good location, away from the road and noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We, family of four, stayed for one night at the ranch. Staff were generally friendly, at check in and in the restaurant. Our rooms were ok, maybe a bit outdated, but large and clean. And the air condition was strong, maybe a bit loud, but keeps the room cool, also in the July heat.
The location of the hotel is excellent, in the middle of the Death Valley, with all of its sights nearby.
We enjoyed the pool, helped us to cool off in the heat of July.
My only complaint would be that the prices, especially in the restaurants and the shop are high - but you are in the middle of the desert and there are hardly any alternatives.
Tip: Look at the stars in the night, there is a beautiful dark sky

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

After a 7 hour drive from Yosemite, through Death Valley, Furnace Creek is a welcome oasis. I imagine that most visitors are over nighters on the way to sin city, therefore some niceties like a cold one on arrival would be very welcome. Unfortunately the bar doesn't open bar until 7 pm, however you are invited to drive down to the sister resort the Furnace Creek Ranch, less than a mile away, to quench your thirst but if we wanted to do that perhaps we would have booked there?
The Inn is a pleasant establishment but suffers from lack of investment. We were greeted by a lovely lady ( Edna?) with a quirky sense of humour, the room was comfortable although the plumbing desperately needs an overhaul and the air conditioning is likely to keep you awake. Dinner was restricted to an all you can eat affair with the "ranch" the only other alternative. I would like to give the Inn a better revue but they have you by the short and curlies and they know it!.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Address: Highway 190, PO Box 187, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnace Creek Resort, situated in a lush oasis surrounded by the vast and arid desert of Death Valley National Park, California is just 120 miles northwest of Las Vegas, Nevada and 275 miles northeast of Los Angeles, California. This property hosts two hotels - the historic, 4-diamond, 66 room Inn at Furnace Creek and the more family oriented 224 room Ranch at Furnace Creek. The Inn at Furnace Creek offers guests elegant accommodations in the heart of Death Valley. This 4-diamond resort has operated for more than 86 years, and still pampers every guest. The Ranch at Furnace Creek has been welcoming guests since 1933 and offers a casual, family-like setting - the perfect complement to the classic elegance of the Inn at Furnace Creek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.