We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of Campground for RV's Furnace Creek Inn” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort to your Saves list
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Highway 190, PO Box 187, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
Hotel amenities
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
“Review of Campground for RV's Furnace Creek Inn”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The campground was:

10 minutes walk away from the showers which were actually these from the pool (not clean, no plugs).
The RV Site itself looked like a better parking ground on gravel.

In my opinion - if U do not want RV's than just do not open a site. Not worth the price, I suggest the site opposite,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    1,452
    676
    168
    68
See reviews for
757
1,635
66
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We were in death valley last week and had a comfortable stay here...you dont have many options in the national park, but this one is really an oasis in the desert..the place has a western feel to it straight out of a Clint Eastwood classic...our cabin was small and not the cleanest but overall I wouldn't complain..it has lot of dining options and the general store is good too...the borax museum is a gem and really interesting..we arrived early and had to wait till 4 to check in...the golf course, pool and tennis courts are well maintained...overall I would give a 4 stars..cheers

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We chose to take a room at the Ranch rather than the Inn as it was immensely more affordable. After we had checked in, driving back to building 9 we could hear a loud group of young adults whooping it up in the common area between buildings and the pool. We looked at each other and wondered how bad was this going to be.
But it was no big deal in the end. Our room faced the opposite way from that busy common area, and the sounds did not travel to our balcony as we enjoyed the setting sun on our little porch area. The room was clean, well-lit, and comfortable. Small refrigerator was useful. The room was very quiet overall - even in the morning when one usually hears others turning on showers, we were not bothered by any noise.
The pool is terrific! We thought that 85F warm-spring water sounded hot when we checked in, but the following afternoon when we used the pool, we had to admit it was just perfect. The pool did not get crowded with young people until pretty late in the afternoon when we were ready to go back out to see other things in the desert.

Room Tip: Odd numbered room in the 900 building will be on the quieter side of the property. And even though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

we have just had 2 nights at furnace creek resort, stayed in deluxe room. not overally impressive from outside, room inside was better, had small seating area outside. being single story the room had no noise from above which was great, was a bit of noise from outside the door given the rooms are basically directly off the internal road. handy having some food options on site however limited and expensive. staff all seem to be casual, and most we dealt with hadn't been there long. Xanterra seem to have a monolopy on the area giving little other options avail. microwave in room would be good. Inn prices seemed ridiculously expensive so little choice left.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Had a two night stay at the Inn which is located about a mile from the Ranch. The Inn was built in 1927 and the rooms are a little dated but comfortable with all amenities. The bed was comfortable and I slept well after a day hiking in the park.The staff make a real effort to be helpful and seemed sincerely friendly. The food at the Inn was excellent but the menu a little uninspired and the service was a little slow. Despite this we had dinner there both nights because the food was so good. I have no hesitation to recommend the Inn and I look forward to returning.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

A nice resort in the desert of Death Valley. We stayed at the ranch, the room was clean and comfortable but had an older feel to it. The ac was loud but you were grateful for it as it soared into the 90 even in late October. I enjoyed my horse ride in the desert and the staff was very friendly, over all a nice place to stay in Death Valley.

Room Tip: Get a room by the golf course and watch the sun raise and set over the desert.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We needed an escape from Las Vegas and this was the perfect place. The rooms were clean and had everything you could need but shouldn't have in the desert...refrigerator, air conditioning, ceiling fan etc. The beds were small but comfy and the room though old was clean. It is nice to stay in the park it makes trips to the sites inside it convenient. There are not many hotels close by and the park is expansive at 140 miles so it's worth the extra money to be in the thick of it. The Furnace Creek Ranch is a mile away and drinks (they have a decent wine list) on the patio at night were amazing the stars are some of the brightest out here I have ever seen! Be forewarned the food at the Furnace creek ranch and Inn is expensive and not very good. But that seems to be the case at all the national park restaurants I've ate at. I appreciate the fact they cater to vegetarians and those with restricted diets ie. GF especially since they are in areas where local restaurants usually are not, the execution of it could stand some improvement though. Overall it was a great experience.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Address: Highway 190, PO Box 187, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.