We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place in remote Death valley” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort to your Saves list
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Highway 190, PO Box 187, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Charming place in remote Death valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We were in death valley last week and had a comfortable stay here...you dont have many options in the national park, but this one is really an oasis in the desert..the place has a western feel to it straight out of a Clint Eastwood classic...our cabin was small and not the cleanest but overall I wouldn't complain..it has lot of dining options and the general store is good too...the borax museum is a gem and really interesting..we arrived early and had to wait till 4 to check in...the golf course, pool and tennis courts are well maintained...overall I would give a 4 stars..cheers

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ratheesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We chose to take a room at the Ranch rather than the Inn as it was immensely more affordable. After we had checked in, driving back to building 9 we could hear a loud group of young adults whooping it up in the common area between buildings and the pool. We looked at each other and wondered how bad was this going to be.
But it was no big deal in the end. Our room faced the opposite way from that busy common area, and the sounds did not travel to our balcony as we enjoyed the setting sun on our little porch area. The room was clean, well-lit, and comfortable. Small refrigerator was useful. The room was very quiet overall - even in the morning when one usually hears others turning on showers, we were not bothered by any noise.
The pool is terrific! We thought that 85F warm-spring water sounded hot when we checked in, but the following afternoon when we used the pool, we had to admit it was just perfect. The pool did not get crowded with young people until pretty late in the afternoon when we were ready to go back out to see other things in the desert.

Room Tip: Odd numbered room in the 900 building will be on the quieter side of the property. And even though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

we have just had 2 nights at furnace creek resort, stayed in deluxe room. not overally impressive from outside, room inside was better, had small seating area outside. being single story the room had no noise from above which was great, was a bit of noise from outside the door given the rooms are basically directly off the internal road. handy having some food options on site however limited and expensive. staff all seem to be casual, and most we dealt with hadn't been there long. Xanterra seem to have a monolopy on the area giving little other options avail. microwave in room would be good. Inn prices seemed ridiculously expensive so little choice left.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwigreenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Had a two night stay at the Inn which is located about a mile from the Ranch. The Inn was built in 1927 and the rooms are a little dated but comfortable with all amenities. The bed was comfortable and I slept well after a day hiking in the park.The staff make a real effort to be helpful and seemed sincerely friendly. The food at the Inn was excellent but the menu a little uninspired and the service was a little slow. Despite this we had dinner there both nights because the food was so good. I have no hesitation to recommend the Inn and I look forward to returning.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

A nice resort in the desert of Death Valley. We stayed at the ranch, the room was clean and comfortable but had an older feel to it. The ac was loud but you were grateful for it as it soared into the 90 even in late October. I enjoyed my horse ride in the desert and the staff was very friendly, over all a nice place to stay in Death Valley.

Room Tip: Get a room by the golf course and watch the sun raise and set over the desert.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmy2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We needed an escape from Las Vegas and this was the perfect place. The rooms were clean and had everything you could need but shouldn't have in the desert...refrigerator, air conditioning, ceiling fan etc. The beds were small but comfy and the room though old was clean. It is nice to stay in the park it makes trips to the sites inside it convenient. There are not many hotels close by and the park is expansive at 140 miles so it's worth the extra money to be in the thick of it. The Furnace Creek Ranch is a mile away and drinks (they have a decent wine list) on the patio at night were amazing the stars are some of the brightest out here I have ever seen! Be forewarned the food at the Furnace creek ranch and Inn is expensive and not very good. But that seems to be the case at all the national park restaurants I've ate at. I appreciate the fact they cater to vegetarians and those with restricted diets ie. GF especially since they are in areas where local restaurants usually are not, the execution of it could stand some improvement though. Overall it was a great experience.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kimmefiction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Arrive pulling a 5th wheel. Site was changed when we arrived and was nothing near what was described. Only shower is at the swimming pool and they only open that when they feel like it, I stood outside the pool gate for two hours waiting for them to open at the time I was told it would open.
They really have you over a barrel here in the wilderness and they know it. I can't imagine staying here again.
Reservation person was uninformed.
Check-in was slow and unsatisfactory.
Employees were unhelpful, uninformed and seemed unhappy to be working here.
Trailer site was similar to Walmart parking lot without the shopping.
Facilities are old, worn and needy.
The Ranch could be so much better but it isn't!

Room Tip: Stay at Stove Pipe Wells instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
24.8 mi away
Longstreet Inn and Casino
Longstreet Inn and Casino
#1 of 1 in Amargosa Valley
3.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
97.7 mi away
Corral Creek Resort
Corral Creek Resort
#2 of 4 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
27.3 mi away
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
#1 of 1 in Death Valley Junction
3.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Address: Highway 190, PO Box 187, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnace Creek Resort, situated in a lush oasis surrounded by the vast and arid desert of Death Valley National Park, California is just 120 miles northwest of Las Vegas, Nevada and 275 miles northeast of Los Angeles, California. This property hosts two hotels - the historic, 4-diamond, 66 room Inn at Furnace Creek and the more family oriented 224 room Ranch at Furnace Creek. The Inn at Furnace Creek offers guests elegant accommodations in the heart of Death Valley. This 4-diamond resort has operated for more than 86 years, and still pampers every guest. The Ranch at Furnace Creek has been welcoming guests since 1933 and offers a casual, family-like setting - the perfect complement to the classic elegance of the Inn at Furnace Creek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing