We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine, but wouldnt rave” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Save Saved
You added Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Highway 190, PO Box 187, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
Hotel amenities
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“fine, but wouldnt rave”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

we have just had 2 nights at furnace creek resort, stayed in deluxe room. not overally impressive from outside, room inside was better, had small seating area outside. being single story the room had no noise from above which was great, was a bit of noise from outside the door given the rooms are basically directly off the internal road. handy having some food options on site however limited and expensive. staff all seem to be casual, and most we dealt with hadn't been there long. Xanterra seem to have a monolopy on the area giving little other options avail. microwave in room would be good. Inn prices seemed ridiculously expensive so little choice left.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,744 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    655
    1,300
    591
    145
    53
See reviews for
643
1479
61
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Had a two night stay at the Inn which is located about a mile from the Ranch. The Inn was built in 1927 and the rooms are a little dated but comfortable with all amenities. The bed was comfortable and I slept well after a day hiking in the park.The staff make a real effort to be helpful and seemed sincerely friendly. The food at the Inn was excellent but the menu a little uninspired and the service was a little slow. Despite this we had dinner there both nights because the food was so good. I have no hesitation to recommend the Inn and I look forward to returning.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

A nice resort in the desert of Death Valley. We stayed at the ranch, the room was clean and comfortable but had an older feel to it. The ac was loud but you were grateful for it as it soared into the 90 even in late October. I enjoyed my horse ride in the desert and the staff was very friendly, over all a nice place to stay in Death Valley.

Room Tip: Get a room by the golf course and watch the sun raise and set over the desert.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We needed an escape from Las Vegas and this was the perfect place. The rooms were clean and had everything you could need but shouldn't have in the desert...refrigerator, air conditioning, ceiling fan etc. The beds were small but comfy and the room though old was clean. It is nice to stay in the park it makes trips to the sites inside it convenient. There are not many hotels close by and the park is expansive at 140 miles so it's worth the extra money to be in the thick of it. The Furnace Creek Ranch is a mile away and drinks (they have a decent wine list) on the patio at night were amazing the stars are some of the brightest out here I have ever seen! Be forewarned the food at the Furnace creek ranch and Inn is expensive and not very good. But that seems to be the case at all the national park restaurants I've ate at. I appreciate the fact they cater to vegetarians and those with restricted diets ie. GF especially since they are in areas where local restaurants usually are not, the execution of it could stand some improvement though. Overall it was a great experience.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Arrive pulling a 5th wheel. Site was changed when we arrived and was nothing near what was described. Only shower is at the swimming pool and they only open that when they feel like it, I stood outside the pool gate for two hours waiting for them to open at the time I was told it would open.
They really have you over a barrel here in the wilderness and they know it. I can't imagine staying here again.
Reservation person was uninformed.
Check-in was slow and unsatisfactory.
Employees were unhelpful, uninformed and seemed unhappy to be working here.
Trailer site was similar to Walmart parking lot without the shopping.
Facilities are old, worn and needy.
The Ranch could be so much better but it isn't!

Room Tip: Stay at Stove Pipe Wells instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Our room had bed bugs hiding in the headboard. I was bitten multiple times and the itching woke me up. When I went to the bathroom, one was running along the floor. The maids and front desk did not seem surprised by this and comments were made as to the efforts they had put in to eradicate the problem. I am very upset as the infestation could get back into OUR house, costing us thousands of dollars!! We did get a full refund, but my hand itches like hell and basically ruining my vacation. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! They are not upfront about the bugs!

Room Tip: Watch for Bed bugs!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We arrived here in the afternoon after a relatively short drive from Las Vegas. We stayed here for one night in late September. Check in was slow, but after that everything was great! The room we had faced the pool and was slightly dated but comfortable. The pool was warm and it was great to have a dip after sunset. We ate dinner in the pub. My partner commented on the very good quality of the steak. There was a post office there too which was great as we had wanted to send some postcards.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Address: Highway 190, PO Box 187, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.