We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape to Death Valley” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort to your Saves list
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Highway 190, PO Box 187, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
Hotel amenities
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Escape to Death Valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We needed an escape from Las Vegas and this was the perfect place. The rooms were clean and had everything you could need but shouldn't have in the desert...refrigerator, air conditioning, ceiling fan etc. The beds were small but comfy and the room though old was clean. It is nice to stay in the park it makes trips to the sites inside it convenient. There are not many hotels close by and the park is expansive at 140 miles so it's worth the extra money to be in the thick of it. The Furnace Creek Ranch is a mile away and drinks (they have a decent wine list) on the patio at night were amazing the stars are some of the brightest out here I have ever seen! Be forewarned the food at the Furnace creek ranch and Inn is expensive and not very good. But that seems to be the case at all the national park restaurants I've ate at. I appreciate the fact they cater to vegetarians and those with restricted diets ie. GF especially since they are in areas where local restaurants usually are not, the execution of it could stand some improvement though. Overall it was a great experience.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    832
    1,692
    823
    211
    100
See reviews for
871
1,977
77
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Arrive pulling a 5th wheel. Site was changed when we arrived and was nothing near what was described. Only shower is at the swimming pool and they only open that when they feel like it, I stood outside the pool gate for two hours waiting for them to open at the time I was told it would open.
They really have you over a barrel here in the wilderness and they know it. I can't imagine staying here again.
Reservation person was uninformed.
Check-in was slow and unsatisfactory.
Employees were unhelpful, uninformed and seemed unhappy to be working here.
Trailer site was similar to Walmart parking lot without the shopping.
Facilities are old, worn and needy.
The Ranch could be so much better but it isn't!

Room Tip: Stay at Stove Pipe Wells instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Our room had bed bugs hiding in the headboard. I was bitten multiple times and the itching woke me up. When I went to the bathroom, one was running along the floor. The maids and front desk did not seem surprised by this and comments were made as to the efforts they had put in to eradicate the problem. I am very upset as the infestation could get back into OUR house, costing us thousands of dollars!! We did get a full refund, but my hand itches like hell and basically ruining my vacation. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! They are not upfront about the bugs!

Room Tip: Watch for Bed bugs!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We arrived here in the afternoon after a relatively short drive from Las Vegas. We stayed here for one night in late September. Check in was slow, but after that everything was great! The room we had faced the pool and was slightly dated but comfortable. The pool was warm and it was great to have a dip after sunset. We ate dinner in the pub. My partner commented on the very good quality of the steak. There was a post office there too which was great as we had wanted to send some postcards.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at the ranch for one night as part of our tour of the west. We had a room overlooking the golf course at the back of the hotel. Our room, the corridors and all the public buildings are all in need of a lick of paint and some updating.

We had evening meal and breakfast and both were ok but nothing special.

I think because of the lack of alternative in Death Valley that perhaps the incentive to improve the hotel is not there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Furnace creek ranch is perfect for hiking death valley. The cabins are very well equiped. There are 2 or 3 eating options, rather expensive. Nice swimming pool, beautiful views. Very friendly staff. Amazing sunsets.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

It is a long drive from Yosemite and we arrived in the dark completely oblivious to our surroundings. The hotel reception staff were very welcoming and we dropped our bags straight off and headed for dinner before the chef departed at 9pm. The food was very good and the service excellent.

When we woke up and headed for breakfast - 'wow!!!!' - the scenery was unbelievable!!! The breakfast was excellent and we headed straight out to explore the amazing scenery of Death Valley.

We made sure webgot back from sight seeing by 4pm to enjoy the great pool.

I think some of the reviews are overly harsh on the hotel. It is more than I expected from somewhere 2 hours from civilisation in the middle of the hottest place on the planet!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Address: Highway 190, PO Box 187, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnace Creek Resort, situated in a lush oasis surrounded by the vast and arid desert of Death Valley National Park, California is just 120 miles northwest of Las Vegas, Nevada and 275 miles northeast of Los Angeles, California. This property hosts two hotels - the historic, 4-diamond, 66 room Inn at Furnace Creek and the more family oriented 224 room Ranch at Furnace Creek. The Inn at Furnace Creek offers guests elegant accommodations in the heart of Death Valley. This 4-diamond resort has operated for more than 86 years, and still pampers every guest. The Ranch at Furnace Creek has been welcoming guests since 1933 and offers a casual, family-like setting - the perfect complement to the classic elegance of the Inn at Furnace Creek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.