We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real Oasis in the Desert” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Save Saved
You added Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Highway 190, PO Box 187, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
Hotel amenities
Bingley, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A real Oasis in the Desert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Arrived here in a thunderstorm in August in 113F heat!!
A well run and comfortable hotel/complex with value for money prices and restaurants
There are a couple of restaurants, a shop, a museum and a nice swimming pool to enjoy too...and the Golf Course of course..but I would imagine that would be too hot to play in August!
I would recommend this Hotel to anyone wanting to explore the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,510 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    602
    1,186
    538
    133
    51
See reviews for
587
1338
59
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at here en route to Las Vegas. I thought it was pretty obvious that competition was limited. The beds were clean but the room we stayed in was tired with marks on the paint. We were on the ground floor in block 7 and the noise from the floor above was significant. We were offered a choice of upstairs or down and next time I'd go for upstairs. The air conditioning which was essential was very noisy, but my clever husband rectified this but jamming the wooden cover for the tissue box under the ac unit. Sadly by this point I was no longer speaking to him. We had a drink on site margarita's with prickly pear ( sweet - ick) and dinner, burgers - looked safest, but not vey good. Good points, they have a launderette, handy if touring, and it's better than camping. You should consider bringing your own food with you and some tools for the ac.

Room Tip: Upstairs better than down
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed in one of the cabins. The overall setting of the park is very nice, it's gives you a wild west feeling. The accommodation is a bit dated and nothing really special.
We ate at the park which was very good. As others also mentioned, prices are high, it's between 1.5 and twice the normal US prices. But ok, it's in the middle of the dessert.

Be aware that the fuel prices are also high, so fill it up before you move into death valley.

Would go for 3 stars for the stay, but setting and food makes it 4 stars for me.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Note that the Inn and the Ranch are two different properties. You would require a vehicle to travel between the two. The picture provide on TripAdvisor is of the Inn.
I stayed at the Furnace Creek Ranch during the October 2013 Federal Shutdown. You would never know about it by staying at the Ranch. The service and amenities were excellent. We were very pleasantly surprised how unique and perfect the setting was. You get the feeling of being out in the middle of the desert, 280 below sea level, still with excellent services. On the Ranch property there is a grocery store, gift shop, high end jewelry shop, three tasty and friendly restaurants, and a gorgeous 82 degree spring fed pool. I would never stay anywhere else. Arbors, putting green, outdoor fires pits, bar, horsebackriding all on premises. Many excellent sites in Death Valley National Park are just a few minutes away (one must drive deep into the park to see the sites). You could easily stay a week and not get bored.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 921 at the back of the property. This was a wonderful location, on the back edge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We spent two nights here and found it to be a very good base for exploring Death Valley. It is an easy drive from Las Vegas where we had rented a car. The resort is right beside the major National Park Centre and within a few minutes of several major visitor attractions. When we arrived quite a few hours early, the staff were very accommodating and allowed us immediate access to our room. This was very welcome as the temperature was already 114 degrees F. Our room was cool, spacious and very comfortable with an excellent bathroom and good storage space. There is a beautiful pool which we used every morning and evening. Our only real problem with the resort is the poor quality of the food offered in the restaurant and bar. We ordered a very simple meal (a hamburger and a bowl of chili) and both meals were served cold. The staff did apologise and brought hot replacement food which was adequate. Unfortunately there is no other place to eat at this location at this time of year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Spent the night here after traveling from Bakersfield to Las Vegas. The room was in the cabin and it was small but clean. The bathroom was very small and if you were a very large person you'd have a hard time with it. They had a couple of chairs outside the room and that was nice for sitting with coffee. The restaurant and bar were nice since you could walk to them and after driving a long distance that worked. The pool was to die for...nice and warm and plenty big enough. The overall cost I thought was high but then I was in Death Valley so expected it. If you want a 5 star you won't get it here but if you want a decent place to stay in the VAlley on a trip its worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed one night at Furnace Creek Ranch while on a road trip. Didn't know what to expect with it being fairly remote, but we were very pleased with the room and facilities.
The ranch and its buildings are made to have the feel of an old western town which we liked.
The room was clean and the usual pretty big size that America rooms tend to be.
Good sized pool which is warm spring fed, great to watch the sunset over the mountains.
Very friendly staff at the general store and bar/restaurant.
Only down side was the food in the bar could have been better. It seemed like generic frozen/reheated food and some chicken was served raw. Although they apologised and replaced the dish it was not ideal. I would recommend paying a bit more to eat in the steak restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek
Furnace Creek Inn
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley
Address: Highway 190, PO Box 187, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.