We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in the Middle of a Desert Wilderness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort to your Saves list
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Highway 190, PO Box 187, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
Hotel amenities
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A Gem in the Middle of a Desert Wilderness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Note that the Inn and the Ranch are two different properties. You would require a vehicle to travel between the two. The picture provide on TripAdvisor is of the Inn.
I stayed at the Furnace Creek Ranch during the October 2013 Federal Shutdown. You would never know about it by staying at the Ranch. The service and amenities were excellent. We were very pleasantly surprised how unique and perfect the setting was. You get the feeling of being out in the middle of the desert, 280 below sea level, still with excellent services. On the Ranch property there is a grocery store, gift shop, high end jewelry shop, three tasty and friendly restaurants, and a gorgeous 82 degree spring fed pool. I would never stay anywhere else. Arbors, putting green, outdoor fires pits, bar, horsebackriding all on premises. Many excellent sites in Death Valley National Park are just a few minutes away (one must drive deep into the park to see the sites). You could easily stay a week and not get bored.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 921 at the back of the property. This was a wonderful location, on the back edge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    847
    1,736
    843
    215
    103
See reviews for
909
2,014
78
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We spent two nights here and found it to be a very good base for exploring Death Valley. It is an easy drive from Las Vegas where we had rented a car. The resort is right beside the major National Park Centre and within a few minutes of several major visitor attractions. When we arrived quite a few hours early, the staff were very accommodating and allowed us immediate access to our room. This was very welcome as the temperature was already 114 degrees F. Our room was cool, spacious and very comfortable with an excellent bathroom and good storage space. There is a beautiful pool which we used every morning and evening. Our only real problem with the resort is the poor quality of the food offered in the restaurant and bar. We ordered a very simple meal (a hamburger and a bowl of chili) and both meals were served cold. The staff did apologise and brought hot replacement food which was adequate. Unfortunately there is no other place to eat at this location at this time of year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Spent the night here after traveling from Bakersfield to Las Vegas. The room was in the cabin and it was small but clean. The bathroom was very small and if you were a very large person you'd have a hard time with it. They had a couple of chairs outside the room and that was nice for sitting with coffee. The restaurant and bar were nice since you could walk to them and after driving a long distance that worked. The pool was to die for...nice and warm and plenty big enough. The overall cost I thought was high but then I was in Death Valley so expected it. If you want a 5 star you won't get it here but if you want a decent place to stay in the VAlley on a trip its worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed one night at Furnace Creek Ranch while on a road trip. Didn't know what to expect with it being fairly remote, but we were very pleased with the room and facilities.
The ranch and its buildings are made to have the feel of an old western town which we liked.
The room was clean and the usual pretty big size that America rooms tend to be.
Good sized pool which is warm spring fed, great to watch the sunset over the mountains.
Very friendly staff at the general store and bar/restaurant.
Only down side was the food in the bar could have been better. It seemed like generic frozen/reheated food and some chicken was served raw. Although they apologised and replaced the dish it was not ideal. I would recommend paying a bit more to eat in the steak restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We only stayed here for 1 night which was a shame as its a really nice resort in an amazing location. The resort has everything you could need, plenty of restaurants, shop, museum, golf course, swimming pool and tennis courts. The rooms were really nice, clean and spacious and look like they've just been upgraded, every room has its own balcony area with rocking chairs and we had a great view from ours. All the staff we encountered at reception, in the shop and restaurant were great and friendly. After a long drive this was just the perfect place to relax and rejuvenate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed one night at the Ranch on trip through Death Valley.

- rooms are clean and have all facilities you need
- room had seating area outside with rocking chairs, great for relaxing in the evening with a bottle of wine
- great pool and other leisure facilities, like the free museum.
- good food and drink available, reasonably priced after Vegas!
- seating area outside bar with open fire is great.
- friendly and helpful staff.

Overall, I would highly recommend the Ranch and will be back (hopefully once the government has reopened the national parks).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

If this hotel was situated anywhere else then I probably would rate the rooms as average, but staying in Death Valley is an experience I will never forget! Now I like hot weather but the heat in the valley is like nothing else - no wonder the resort is called Furnace. Consequently we did not use the pool but spent the late afternoon and evening propped up at the bar drinking cold beer. Resort is perfectly placed to see the incredible scenery of Death Valley , the rooms are basic but clean and the bathrooms modern. The store is a little expensive but well stocked and we enjoyed the food and charm of the 49's cafe.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
24.8 mi away
Longstreet Inn and Casino
Longstreet Inn and Casino
#1 of 1 in Amargosa Valley
3.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
27.3 mi away
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
#1 of 1 in Death Valley Junction
3.0 of 5 stars 385 reviews
18.7 mi away
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
#2 of 4 in Death Valley National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Address: Highway 190, PO Box 187, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnace Creek Resort, situated in a lush oasis surrounded by the vast and arid desert of Death Valley National Park, California is just 120 miles northwest of Las Vegas, Nevada and 275 miles northeast of Los Angeles, California. This property hosts two hotels - the historic, 4-diamond, 66 room Inn at Furnace Creek and the more family oriented 224 room Ranch at Furnace Creek. The Inn at Furnace Creek offers guests elegant accommodations in the heart of Death Valley. This 4-diamond resort has operated for more than 86 years, and still pampers every guest. The Ranch at Furnace Creek has been welcoming guests since 1933 and offers a casual, family-like setting - the perfect complement to the classic elegance of the Inn at Furnace Creek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.