We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desert Oasis - perfect for exploring Death Valley” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort to your Saves list
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Highway 190, PO Box 187, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Desert Oasis - perfect for exploring Death Valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed one night at Furnace Creek Ranch while on a road trip. Didn't know what to expect with it being fairly remote, but we were very pleased with the room and facilities.
The ranch and its buildings are made to have the feel of an old western town which we liked.
The room was clean and the usual pretty big size that America rooms tend to be.
Good sized pool which is warm spring fed, great to watch the sunset over the mountains.
Very friendly staff at the general store and bar/restaurant.
Only down side was the food in the bar could have been better. It seemed like generic frozen/reheated food and some chicken was served raw. Although they apologised and replaced the dish it was not ideal. I would recommend paying a bit more to eat in the steak restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    1,508
    705
    179
    78
See reviews for
779
1,717
68
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We only stayed here for 1 night which was a shame as its a really nice resort in an amazing location. The resort has everything you could need, plenty of restaurants, shop, museum, golf course, swimming pool and tennis courts. The rooms were really nice, clean and spacious and look like they've just been upgraded, every room has its own balcony area with rocking chairs and we had a great view from ours. All the staff we encountered at reception, in the shop and restaurant were great and friendly. After a long drive this was just the perfect place to relax and rejuvenate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed one night at the Ranch on trip through Death Valley.

- rooms are clean and have all facilities you need
- room had seating area outside with rocking chairs, great for relaxing in the evening with a bottle of wine
- great pool and other leisure facilities, like the free museum.
- good food and drink available, reasonably priced after Vegas!
- seating area outside bar with open fire is great.
- friendly and helpful staff.

Overall, I would highly recommend the Ranch and will be back (hopefully once the government has reopened the national parks).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

If this hotel was situated anywhere else then I probably would rate the rooms as average, but staying in Death Valley is an experience I will never forget! Now I like hot weather but the heat in the valley is like nothing else - no wonder the resort is called Furnace. Consequently we did not use the pool but spent the late afternoon and evening propped up at the bar drinking cold beer. Resort is perfectly placed to see the incredible scenery of Death Valley , the rooms are basic but clean and the bathrooms modern. The store is a little expensive but well stocked and we enjoyed the food and charm of the 49's cafe.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This TA listing should be split between the Ranch (where we stayed) and Inn (which is 1 mile up the road), and which I haven't seen.

I would certainly not choose this place as a destination, it was a convenient stopover for Death Valley on the way from Yosemite to Vegas.

We stayed in a standard room in Block 7. There are several two story blocks with rooms off central corridor. There is no lift to second floor, so if you can't manage stairs, advise when booking.

Standard rooms are large, with twin queen beds. You have to pay extra for one of the few deluxe rooms with a king bed (which have views of the pool/park). Ground floor rooms have a little patio, upstairs have a balcony. Air con, fridge. standard motel style furniture, toiletries (not 'luxury' as described), plastic cups etc. and 90s decor. Ice machine and drinks vending machine ground floor of the block. Overall in dire need of refurbishment (although bathroom looks like it has been redone more recently). Stained carpets, musty smell in dark corridor, shabby paintwork. Thank goodness we weren't staying on the ground floor which was worse. Stayed at cheaper, nicer motels during our trip, but obviously not in Death Valley, which has very limited options. If you are on a budget, think seriously about staying in Lone Pine, which has many cheap motels.

Resort fee of $12 each. Wifi covered by this, but is very slow, as one might expect for such a remote location. There are a variety of activities available 'in resort', but I think describing this as a resort imbues a glamour which I certainly did not see for $200 a night. Service was ok.

Disappointed not to be able to give this a better review.

Room Tip: Look carefully at all your options before choosing the Furnace Creek Ranch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Great location and excellent view. Pool was refreshing. Rooms were cool after the extreme outside heat. Would recommend to family and friends. The restaurant was of average standard however on the expensive side for value.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Furnace Creek Ranch (not the Inn) for three nights in March 2013. The location is perfect and pretty centralized within the park. The accommodations were clean and comfortable, with ample parking right outside the room. The only thing I noticed is that, though the bathroom looked really clean, it had an "old water" smell that never really went away. It wasn't too bad and my husband never really noticed, but I guess I'm sensitive to that kind of thing. We have only stayed in one other lodge within a national park - Canyon Lodge in Yellowstone, also a Xanterra-run property - and I would say that Furnace Creek is much nicer because the room seems recently renovated.

I would say that it's worth the value because it is located right in the middle of the park, but you can probably get nicer accommodations for the price if you stay outside of the park. Staying outside the park (any park) comes with a trade-off though, as you have to spend more time driving to and from if you're staying multiple days. So to us, it was worth the price to be near many of the must-see sites within Death Valley.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Address: Highway 190, PO Box 187, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.