We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night in the desert” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort to your Saves list
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Highway 190, PO Box 187, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
Hotel amenities
Milford,Pa
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Night in the desert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a visit to Death Valley National Park. The staff was friendly and the room was clean but due to its location there was no internet. The restaurant was okay and you don't have a big choice! The location is great and there is a lot to see. Get gas before you get to park because once in the park it is expensive!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    1,510
    705
    180
    78
See reviews for
780
1,718
68
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at the Ranch for three nights. We'd reserved a cabin, but upon check-in learned they were being renovated, so were "upgraded" to a motel room. While not new, it was comfortable, clean, and had everything we needed to escape the harsh heat, incl. a refrigerator. Xanterra is very environmentally-conscious; their on-site practices are awesome. I injured my knee one evening; hotel staff responded immediately to our request for assistance, assessed the injury, offered options, and helped get me back into our room. Restaurant choices are limited to those at the Ranch (and the more formal Inn) and are not inexpensive, but food was well-prepared. General store and gas station are predictably very expensive, so it's best to bring in what you think you'll need while there.

Room Tip: Ask to face the mountains (most do).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

on arrival was greated with a warm and friendly smile.. got our room which was ok, nothing great but hey your in the death valley, air con noisey but welcome in 120f, it was clean and bed comfy that's all you need and yes a fridge for beer and wine . the local café was nice and if ur gluten free this is where to go sorted my wife out no problem which I was surprised to find gluten free in death valley but welcome.. and theres a lovely Chinese woman working there shes very helpful a star.. the bars and food are lovely plenty to check out. and the local store shop has everything you need, and of course the pool its lovely and worth a dip in this hea,t and scenery is out of this world. we got a photo of a coyote walking past on the main highway nice to see. loved our stay here scenery is amazing here and the drive to furnace creek,, we drove to SCOTTYS CASTLE 1hr away well worth a visit amazing mansion and scotty is quite a character google him hes quite a man.. cant wait to come back. as we never got to see all of death valleys history i.e. ghosts ha ha next time the ghost towns cant wait, on site here it furnace creek there is all the old waggons trains carts allsorts to read upon and take in a lot ov history well that's it for now roll on next time

Room Tip: higher rooms have a bit more protection from things coming into your room ie bottom room we found...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Check-in were quite miserable which didn't make for a pleasent start,but it was all good after that.Room was comfortable while not being opulent,so it was perfect for a one night stay.After spending day sight-seeing in 110+ degrees temperature,headed straight for the saloon-style bar,and after several ice-cold Stellas,all was right with the world.Food was OK,but small portions by American standards and slightly over-priced.Suppose they have a bit of a monopoly in the area as not many hotels nearby.Service was great and our waiter was very friendly.Would stay again for one night if in the area and highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamps
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We paid extra for the "deluxe" room but struggled to find anything deluxe about it - its was a standard motel like room but it was nice to have the rocking chairs outside. Pool is great- shame it doesn't open a bit earlier in the morning .Enjoyed pizza and beers in the saloon . Overall good for exploring death valley but would be nice if they invested a bit more money in it .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We debated detouring to Furnace creek in the summer, and we very glad we did on a 112 degree day. The spring fed pool was an oasis in the hot afternoon. We got up at 5.45 AM to tour at a pleasant 88 degrees, and we finished by 10, and were back in the pool.
The Ranch rooms are pleasant, like slightly upscale motel. Had a fridge and i think a microwave. Easy fast check in, 3 options for dinner, we ate in the cafe, and it was good. Only one breakfast option in the summer, it was a buffet, but is excellent and reasonably priced (under $12 for many choices). lots of activity choices, like the museum, tennis, golf, bocce, playground, but it was too hot all but the museum.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed here for 1 day on our road trip from Vegas to San Francisco check in was quick very nice person on check in room was nice and clean very very hot noisy air conditioner food in 49ers ridiculous prices but they've got you there it was nice though . Our server was a nice lad carnt say the same for the person that sits you would recommend as a stop off if your on a road trip

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Address: Highway 190, PO Box 187, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.