We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ranch Resort Great Place to Stay in Death Valley” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort to your Saves list
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Highway 190, PO Box 187, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Ranch Resort Great Place to Stay in Death Valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed at the Ranch Resort for 3 nights. I have stayed in many national parks in the west. The Ranch Resort is less rustic than many other national park lodges. We stayed in a deluxe room facing the pool. The room was fairly large and modern with flat screen TV and a redone bathroom. Compared to cabins or lodges at Zion, Yellowstone, Grand Canyon, etc, you don't get the national park "feel" in the room. However, the rooms were nice and clean. The pool was large and crystal clear - I have seen people say it is kept at 84 degrees but I was cold in the pool at night (maybe it feels warmer in the sun).

We one dinner at the restaurant - it was fine but certainly nothing special. They push the chocolate cake as house made - it sucked. For breakfast we had the buffet each day. Again, fine but nothing special. We had pizza for dinner twice from the salon. It was pretty good pizza. Additionally, we had the brunch at the Inn on Sunday. The meat at the carving station was dry and inedible. French Toast was spectacular, omelette was fine with many choices. Meals were all pretty expensive but it's like that in all the parks. Just wait until you have to buy gas.

Overall, not a lot of choices of places to stay at Death Valley, the Ranch was good and there are lots of things to do on the grounds.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    1,510
    705
    180
    78
See reviews for
780
1,718
68
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was my 2nd trip to Death Valley and definitely Feb is a great time to visit. Loved the Inn! I had stayed at the ranch many years ago, but this time we stayed at the Furnace Creek Inn. The Inn is the epitome of the 1930's hospitality. Room was nicely appointed, wonderful bathroom space and walk-in closet. The staff were all very welcoming and made us feel like treasured guests. Rates are not inexpensive, but the vibe was one of relaxed elegance, as if you were visiting a private home vs a park facility. At night, you can sit on the balcony with an after dinner drink and watch the sky crammed full of stars--magical!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is about the Inn. It's a love letter to Death Valley and a warning to wayfarers. We have been coming to Death Valley over the past 46 years before our wedding. We've stayed in tents, the Ranch, and countless times the Furnace Creek Inn. It has always been on the high end of affordability--rooms are now pushing $500 with taxes--but we stretch ourselves annually because we love Death Valley with its eternal hiking and the Inn has an unmatched pool, huge and hot-springs fed and kept at a constant 84 degrees. Of course the property is old, but adequately maintained; if it's luxe, it is certainly not luxury at the contemporary standard. But the rooms are spaceous, moderately quiet, and have good beds. If it weren't for the kitchen/dining room experience, the Inn would be worth its cost.

The dining at the Inn changes over the years--apparently with regeimes of chefs. It's always been expensive, but the physical room is pleasant and the service is typically very attentive. They had a pretty good chef for the last two years--Chef Mike. She oversaw meals that had a flair, even though I felt she tended to be too partial to salt and fats/oils. Chef Mike is gone this season and in her place is a named Chef who should be nameless: This was the worst food in recent memory at Funace Creek Inn. We had dinner there three nights in a row, and basically, nothing was particularly good (FrenchToast in the morning and Flat Bread Pizza at noon made the grade). Indulge my rant a tad more, while I give you the low down: the menu itself is uninspiring; but the worst is that the food is served as if the kitchen staff doesn't care and/or is untrained. I was shocked that vegetables and rice sides were almost room temperature by the time they were served (one night the rice was lumpy as well, see unappetizing picture, attached). I could go on with my complaints, but let me make my point with a shocker: order a glass of wine each, and dinner for two--not much better than a good coffee shop--will cost you over $125. And this happens to be the first year they have eliminated the traditional date bread from the dinner bread plate. Quelle dommage!

To close on the positive side: Go take a hike. Glorious! Today we did the loop from Golden Canyon up towards Zabrinski Point, and out Gower Gulch. It took exactly 3 hours and was strenuous at a low intensity. Out of this world!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

or is it "coolest" spot? We visit this hotel with groups of 20 people for 10 years now, living up the warm(!) hospitality of the Furnace Creek Ranch. First of all the booking is easy: Sharon Sheppard, the manager of the place is so nice and helpful. We just love this lady. Then: The place is so clean and the restaurants on the hotel area are all real good.
Our guests have always been happy with this choice. And don´t forget the pool. You´ll need it when you arrive on your harley ( obviously without a.c. ): It´s large and clean - they will probably never need a pool heating system... . We´ll be back. Good job Sharon!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was a good place to stay considering where it is. The main issue with this place was the air con. It's the one place you need it when in furnace creek (the name says it all!). It was SO noisy...and I'm not just talking a gentle whir. It would 'rev up' and then wind down and I can only compare it to sounding like the engine when you're on an aeroplane and it's starting up for take off. There was no option to turn it off as we would have just melted. But having to stuff rolled up toilet paper in my eyes and sleep with a pillow held over my head (by myself, not my husband!) was not ideal. Especially as we had just spent 8 hours driving through Yosemite to Death Valley, and had the trip to Vegas the next day. We left feeling exhausted. The bathroom was a bit dingy and the whole room could do with a refresh and smartening up.

Saying that, the pool was big and the shop onsite was well stocked and staff were friendly. We ate in the bar eatery and not the steakhouse restaurant. The food was okay - not great for the price and portions were on the small side, which is most unlike America and some of the other places we stayed at during our honeymoon.

This place is okay and because of where it is it doesn't really need to do much, it's not like there are hotels everywhere in the middle of Death Valley and I think it really cashes in on this fact so cuts corners when it shouldn't.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed in a Furnace Creek Ranch 2 bed cabin, which is really 1/2 of a small building. The room had a good amount of space. The bathroom was well furnished. The cabins are very quiet. You have parking next to your cabin except for the one we had, which had a sidewalk and the ice machine where our parking would have been. The cabins are located just across the parking lot from the general store, saloon, and restaurant. We were there in February so we were not using the pool - but the pool would be a little walk. The gold course is very close. We did spend our last night, which we added, in a 1 queen bed cabin. It was fine also, but the bathroom was pretty small and there was no closet. This is a great area in Death Valley - all services including gasoline are available there. The 49er Cafe is definitely the place to eat - very good food at reasonable prices for Death Valley. Centrally located to points of interest in the Valley.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

There are very few choices of accommodation in Death Valley but this is a reasonable one ...
the Ranch cabins are least expensive but my unit was badly in need of serious renovation. The floor tiles in the bathroom were cracked, curled and dirty ... carpeting in the bedroom was soiled and old. That said, it offered a comfortable bed and free internet in a resort complex that includes several dining locations with good food and an accommodating saloon. The Inn is a separate high end property ... beautifully furnished, exceptional dining room and gardens with expansive desert views ... simply stunning!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Address: Highway 190, PO Box 187, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.