We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Save Saved
You added Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Highway 190, PO Box 187, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
Hotel amenities
Sutton Coldfield
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night, family of 4 in one room - block 900 at the back of the resort next to equine facilities. Very comfortable room, clean & well-furnished. Lovely balcony with authentic style rocking chairs. As blocks face each other with small lawned area in between (Pontins chalet style), it had the potential to be noisy in good weather but wasn't a problem on our trip. Lovely shop on site for souvenirs but food was ridiculously expensive - $2 for an individual pot of yoghurt, $5 for a loaf of bread - we ate very carefully & would recommend stocking up on food before entering the park! We didn't eat in restaurants, as we thought they were very over-priced (big premium on location). Very good museum onsite - about a 30 minute visit does it but great to see the memorabilia of the area. Best thing about this resort is it's location - Death Valley scenery is sensational :) We loved Zebreiske's point, Artist drive & the Golden Canyon hike, all very close by & definately one of the highlights of our 1500 mile road trip!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,726 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    656
    1,291
    582
    144
    53
See reviews for
637
1470
61
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Furance Creek Ranch with 2 other couples on a long planned getaway. The cabins were small and cozy but ours had a malfunction with the water heater. The maintenance man examined the heater and then moved our party of 3 to upgraded rooms overlooking the golf course. After we saw these rooms we would suggest that it is worth it to not book the cabins but be in the larger Furanance Creek facilities. The units were way more comfortable, larger, for 3 nights and away from the road where it was quiet We observed coyotes roaming the golf course. We did day hikes and the trip was very pleasant in January.

Room Tip: Choose a room by the mineral pool or around the golf course. Avoid the cabins if staying several ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Only stayed the one night but the room was lovely, we had a lovely balcony but sadly it was too hot to sit on it! Food was a little expensive but then it is very remote - but my steak was very good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

I think the location is excellent-I spent my two mornings picking up Plastic Bags from Walmart that had blown into the desert-The food at the Fancy Restaurant was not done well- I know that they get there food from Sysco and you can get a decent meal that way-Please put some energy back into the food and Make it simple great food -Not Flavored Butter and overdone Salmon-I really want to come back and enjoy a reasonable meal-I did not get what I paid for...

Room Tip: Send your food back if it is not up to Par!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xanterra, General Manager at Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Dear Gary E,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your experience at Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort. We often adjust our restaurant offerings as new food options become available; however, we occasionally miss expectations. Your feedback is critical in assisting us with finding the best mix of food quality and price at our restaurants. Please accept our sincere apologies that your meal was less than satisfying.

Xanterra Parks & Resorts, the operator of Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort and other in-park amenities, closely monitors all guest feedback and looks for ways to improve and increase guest satisfaction. Your comments have been forward to the appropriate departments in order to ensure this issue gets resolved quickly.

We hope this demonstrate that we do care about your feedback and ultimately your satisfaction at all of our National Park amenities. Please consider revisiting Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort in the near future so I can personally ensure that we exceed your expectations.

Rich Jones
General Manager
Furnace Creek Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed at this Inn in May 2010 and we were very happy. Our room was impressive and i remember thinking 'wow' when i first walked in! It was also very clean and had everything we needed. Unfortunatly we were only there a short while but are planning to return next year. The food was very nice and the staff were all friendly and helpful. Wish we had chance to try out the pool but we spent our time out on a pink jeep tour and had a fantastic day out. This is a brilliant place and you will have a great time here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here as part of our three week honeymoon. It was only a one night stop over en route to Vegas, but I wish we had stayed a little longer.

It was such a great experience to be staying right in the desert and we would have liked to have explored more.

There was a fun atmosphere among guests and staff alike. Facilities are excellent and I loved siting in the rocking chairs on our veranda over looking the golf course as the sun was setting.

We also got up early on our day of departure to watch the sun rise over the mountains. Perfect.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed at the ranch, and got one of the deluxe rooms near the warm mineral springs pool, which stays open till 11pm. We floated on our backs and watched the stars. There are several restaurants on site. Our favorite was the 19th hole, a little hamburger shack overlooking the golf course (the course is irrigated with water drained from the pool when they clean it! Very eco-friendly). The front desk was immediately responsive to any concerns and questions we had, and the housekeeping staff were equally helpful and friendly. We wanted to stay here forever. So much to see in Death Valley, and this is the perfect homebase.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Address: Highway 190, PO Box 187, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.