We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort to your Saves list
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Highway 190, PO Box 187, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
Hotel amenities
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2007

My husband and I stayed at The Furnace Creek Ranch for one night on 06/10/07 as a stop over on part of our honeymoon. If we had known that Death Valley was going to be so beautiful we would have arranged to stay longer. The cabin we stayed in was clean, although the bathroom was a bit 'grubby'. I don't know if there were different standards of cabins available but ours had a queen size bed, table & chairs, a TV and coffee making machine. I've read that because of the location scorpions can sometimes be a problem; we didn't have any scorpions but something the size of my husbands hand did manage to fly into the cabin! Although we managed to deal with it we still have no idea what it was; it was big and had wings and that was enough for me!!! The 49ers cafe sold really nice food; it's basic and it gets very busy but the food is nice and the staff are friendly. There was also a restaurant but we didn't go in there so I can't comment on food or the service. We were both very impressed with the breakfast; it's an all you can eat buffet for $10. It includes a selection of pastries, waffles, bacon, sausage, fruit salad, tea, coffee and a variety of fruit juices etc. We didn't have chance to explore everywhere on site but we did go for a run through Death Valley in the morning; it was so beautiful and quiet. Check in was painless and efficient as was checking out. The man on reception was also very helpful and offered advice when we told him we wanted to go running. We can't wait to go back to Death Valley and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Single
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    1,625
    786
    203
    92
See reviews for
848
1,870
75
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2007

I stayed there a few years ago. The hotel was fine. The people were nice. But, the food was absolutely horrible. The eggs at breakfast were horrible - if they can't do eggs, just imagine what the dinner was like. I would reccomend the hotel but the because of the food, I wouldn't return.

  • Stayed August 2003
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2007

We stayed here for one night as a stop off driving from Tahoe to Vegas. We wanted to stay at the ranch but this was fully booked. The hotel was quite over priced but I guess when you are the only hotel in the area that's supply and demand for you!

Don't get me wrong, facilities ok (swimming pool with great view but more like a hot bath!), clean rooms, helpful staff but our room was small and the price didn't even include breakfast.

Chintz seems to be all the rage in America and although it felt a bit like my nan's house, the furnishings weren't shabby, just dated. We ate in the restuarant and the service was excellent and the food very good but again, bit like my nan's dinning room!!!

That said, there was nothing wrong with the hotel, I just didn't feel the accomodation justified the price.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2007

I went out to Las Vegas to get married. I'd been to Death Valley twice before but my new wife hadn't.
Stayed at Furnace creek on the way into Las Vegas for 2 nights & intended to go to San Fransisco on the way back. We enjoyed our stay so much, we got married & then returned to Furnace creek for our Honeymoon.
We hadn't booked but there was no problem finding a room.
On the first stay we had the rooms close to the pool which have a convenient patio door straight out.
on our return we had one of the smaller 'cabin' type rooms & apart from displacing a too friendly cricket lolved it !!!!!!!!!!
I love the isolation of this area, we visited Golden Valley, Artists Pallette & the Panamint Mountains.
This hotel is ideally located if you want a fantastic, out of this world place to stay.
This is probably my favourite hotel on Earth ( quite a recomendation !!!! ).
We intend to return some time soon, probably as an anniversary...

  • Liked — location, location, location
  • Disliked — nothing at all
  • Stayed September 2003, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2007

Basic rooms, smallest bathroom ever seen. Nice restaurant but expensive. Ok as a one night stay over if you must see death valley. Only part of our 3 week trip that I wouldnt mind missing.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — small room not very clean
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2007

Just returned from the Ranch on a "Stay & Play" golf package. We arrived fairly late but check-in was hassle free. Our second floor room was in the 900 building and supposedly overlooked the golf course and mountains. Despite the full moon, we couldn't see much past the edge of our balcony but assumed the view was there. The next morning we were treated to a spectacular sunrise over the 13th hole with enormous mountains as a backdrop. Our air conditioner was pretty new and made no unusual noises. The refrigerator worked very well but the nearest working ice machine was in the 600 building. And you will need ice since the "cold" water comes from the same spring as the pool water (see below). The shower kind of dribbled, and seemed positioned for very small people, but the bathroom (and bedroom) were clean and spacious enough to put down a rollaway or air mattress if need be. The huge, crystal-clear pool is spring fed and a constant 84 degrees. This felt fantastic at night but totally un-refreshing the next day when the air temperature was also 84. The pool was about a 3 minute walk from our building and I think we were as far as you can get. We only ate lunch on the grounds (49er cafe). The food was surprisingly good and, as mentioned by others, reasonably overpriced for a national park monopoly. We had heard about the gas prices so filled up in Pahrump. The golf course was extraordinarily beautiful and in fine shape considering it's in a desert. In fact, they may water it a bit too much since there were a lot of squishy spots even at 11:00 when we were finishing. We basically had the course to ourselves. The front nine is quite long especially when you factor in the heavy air, which believe me is no myth. Add 1-2 clubs on each shot! The grass is well maintained but, interestingly, sort of shatters when you take a divot so it's hard to fix the damage. The greens are soft and you can shoot for the pins if so inclined. They are also a little faster than they look. But the golf itself is almost secondary once you take in the scenery. There's not a single hole without a breathtaking view, and we were even visited by a coyote on the front nine. We let it play through. The staff was happy to give us a delayed check out so we could take a swim after golf. I'm looking forward to returning sometime for a longer more relaxed stay.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2007

We stayed at the ranch, which is the motel version of the Inn. Very limited accomodation in the desert, so a bit concerned at what to expect! Excellent price, clean rooms if a little shabby and basic, but good for the price. Good selection of restaurants to eat at, which were very nice. Good location for getting around and seeing the area. Gets very busy at checking in time, long queues!

  • Liked — the price
  • Disliked — comfort
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Address: Highway 190, PO Box 187, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnace Creek Resort, situated in a lush oasis surrounded by the vast and arid desert of Death Valley National Park, California is just 120 miles northwest of Las Vegas, Nevada and 275 miles northeast of Los Angeles, California. This property hosts two hotels - the historic, 4-diamond, 66 room Inn at Furnace Creek and the more family oriented 224 room Ranch at Furnace Creek. The Inn at Furnace Creek offers guests elegant accommodations in the heart of Death Valley. This 4-diamond resort has operated for more than 86 years, and still pampers every guest. The Ranch at Furnace Creek has been welcoming guests since 1933 and offers a casual, family-like setting - the perfect complement to the classic elegance of the Inn at Furnace Creek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.