We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for the location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Panamint Springs Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Death Valley National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Panamint Springs Resort
40440 Hwy 190, 32 Miles West of Stovepipe Wells, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
Hotel amenities
usa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Fine for the location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

It's always amusing reading complaints about places like this. If you want five bars on your cell phone, don't like being hot, and want cheap gas, what on earth are you doing in Death Valley? This motel gets it water from a small creek via a five mile long 3-4" pipe that the owner has to personally maintain. Think about that when you're having your shower. There are things that could be improved here -- the check-in woman in the gas station was not exactly friendly and the owner does seem to prefer shooting the breeze with people in the restaurant to helping the waitresses, but the food was good, our room was cool enough in August, the room was clean, and everyone else was friendly. Also, check out the prices at Furnace Creek (which looks like DisneyLand) or Stove Pipe Wells. You'll find that this place is a pretty good deal. I gave it three stars because it's basic accommodation. They probably should drop the `Resort' part of the name though since it obviously misleads people.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your honest review! I'm so sorry that you did not have a good experience when you were checking in. We strive to make all of our guests feel welcome. It is quite challenging to get quality staff in such a remote environment. We will definitely address your issues with our existing staff members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    109
    91
    48
    76
See reviews for
78
166
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salerno, Italy
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I was there with my daughter and my wife during our trip through the Death Valley to Las Vegas. I think that "bicycledude" did a fair appraisal of the place: basic structure in one of the most fantastic place you can ever be. There are other mothels on the way, but they are too "touristy" for my taste (you know, fake saloons, fake cowboys and associated pharaphernalia...) and much, much more expensive! The restaurant of the motel is nothing to tell home about, but far from terrible. Overall, I believe it's a good deal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your honest review! We hope you will visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is NOT a resort by any means, just a run down motel. When we pulled in, the first thing we noticed was that gas was $2.00 more per gallon, food was very expensive and the place was very run down and shabby. Then we found our room hot with minimal working air conditioner and so run down, we could not tell if the room was clean. The shower wall had several holes in it and the room was not fit to be stayed in! NO POOL or any other redeeming quality. Owner refused to refund our payment for room, we left anyway. Do not stay here!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
This guest did not stay with us. When the guest arrived, she immediately tried to get a refund for her reservation because she claimed that our website had a pool (which we do not). This was why she claimed she did not want to stay here. Of course, we make no such claim on our website, in fact we go out of our way to say that we do *not* have a pool: http://www.panamintsprings.com/about-us/faqs/

All of our rooms are cooled with an evaporative cooling system that works quite well in the desert. The cool air comes in through a vent on the ceiling. There is no thermostat for this. We have several rooms that have their own air conditioning units in addition to the swamp coolers. The rooms with 3 beds, the cottage, and several rooms with 2 beds have a/c. This particular guest had a room with an additional air conditioning unit, so I'm not sure why she was dissatisfied.

Our gas prices are a reflection of what we need to charge in order to offer gas. Our gas prices are always higher than Stovepipe Wells, which is a subsidized concession of the national park. Our gas prices are usually similar to Furnace Creek, although sometimes slightly higher or lower. We offer gas as a service to our guests, not because we make money on it. We are very honest with everyone if they ask if there is less expensive gas nearby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Death Valley National Park hotels

england
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I had picked this hotel for a one night stay on the 7th June, as it was the right distance on our drive from Pahrump to Lee Vining to split the journey up nicely. We made the booking in advance, and after a lot of research.

I would like to say that I realise the facilities are offered in an inhospitable part of the world, and in difficult circumstances, and I thought about that before writing this review. Before I wrote this review I had emailed the hotel manager with my complaints, to give her a fair chance to reply. She has neither acknowledged my mail, nor replied, so her lack of courtesy further adds to my disatisfaction with this hotel.

My comments really centre around the lack of quality in the accomodation provided, the cost and the terrible food offered in the restaurant. When we checked in the gentleman who checked us in suggested that we should upgrade the room to one with air conditioning, as it would be needed. It cost us another $20 approximately, but we did it. When we got into the room we couldn't believe the state of it. We were in number 10. The front door doesn't shut or lock properly. It was dirty, the bedding smelt musty, the toilet was dirty and the walls are so thin you can hear everything from the room next door.

The room was boiling hot, understandably, so we put the air conditioner on. This unit is absolutely filthy, and the noise it made was so terrible that it made it impossible to sleep. We had to have it on just to make the room temperature bearable, I don't know what it would have been like if we had not taken the upgrade. I went to reception after an hour or so to complain, but was advised that there was no other room available, so we had to put up with. After unpacking we went to the 'restaurant', and the choice and quality of the food is very poor and limited. We had to have something to eat, so we did.

As the evening got dark it is true that the night sky view is fantastic and we really enjoyed that. However we had a terrible night, with virtually no sleep. The shower in the morning kept going cold and when we came to buy a few bits for our onward journey there was virtually nothing in the shop. As I have said I realise the conditions are difficult, but the price charged is extortionate for the terrible quality of accomodation offered. There is no excuse for a dirty room, with insufficient facilities and even the most basic level of equipment. The lack of courtesy in dealing with my email demonstrates the terrible attitude to customer service. We had also considered staying at Stovepipe Wells, but that wasn't quite as far on as we wanted to get to. I wish we had stayed there.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, either stop short of there at Stovepipe Wells, or plan to carry on past it and drive further to a better hotel. Overall a terrible experience

Room Tip: I can only comments on the rooms in the same row as ours, and they looked just as bad from the outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We have absolutely no record of this guest ever emailing our property with their concerns. We have searched back through the archives to make sure we didn't miss it and could not find anything. We always respond to any correspondence that comes to us and make sure to address any concerns.

As far as the cleanliness of the rooms go, we strive to make the rooms as clean as possible and feel that they are above the average motel room. We are sorry that you did not have that experience. If management had been notified we would have inspected the room and made it right.

Our prices are way less than any other accommodation in the park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

One wants to love this place. It dates to the 1930s, everything operates on generator power, and there's no cellphone service or TV or much of any other connection to the rest of the world. On the restaurant patio is a series of planter boxes with dozens of varieties of weird and wonderful miniature cacti, and in front of the gas station a row of antique generators sketches the history of the resort. It's so remote that in July when we arrived you could stand in the middle of the highway with your eyes closed much of the day without danger of getting run over, and in the middle of the night you could probably lie down. When the lights go out at night, the stars are spectacular.

But it's a rough-and-ready environment in which to operate a motel and restaurant. The official web site does a good job of setting one's expectations; evidently the owners are in the process of turning around a property which had fallen into disrepair. The bathroom of our 2-bed room looked like it had been recently remodeled with stylish modern tile and pedestal sink, but the walls of the bedroom needed painting, the carpet needed cleaning, and there was a giant crack under the door, through which a fascinating black beetle came to visit. Hulks of dead evaporative coolers, unused piping, and building materials lie about here and there. Wi-fi worked 1 day out of 3. The general store was scantily stocked compared with the average convenience store. A bag of ice cost 4 times as much as it does at home (fortunately, the restaurant cheerfully refilled over and over again the ice bucket provided in our room.) The day we arrived (in July, probably the least popular season) there were only four cars at the motel, and the general store couldn't make milkshakes because they had run out of milk. On the other hand, the restaurant had good, fresh salad and excellent pizza, which is impressive considering how far the ingredients must travel. Employees were friendly and helpful. When it was 112-117 degrees outdoors, the evaporative cooler in our 1-bed room took the edge off the heat, but it remained a bit warmer than most people would like. Some of the 2-bed rooms have both an evaporative cooler and a wall air conditioner; when we arrived, the AC was off, and after we turned it on, it wasn't able to reach a comfortable temperature till after sunset, but once it did, it was able to maintain that through the heat of the next day. Of course, July might be the worst-case month.

The assortment of beer was just as impressive as the web site suggests.

We had a great time, and if you arrive primed for adventure and willing to go with the flow, so will you.

Room Tip: Consider asking for a 2-bed room with AC if it's mid-summer and you don't like it hot.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

NIce people and shade! You can camp here also!
There is a decent restaurant, even though I always received mixed reviews from others about the food. Remember, it is Death Valley! So the sightseeing involves driving and walking, best time of year to go is October through early April unless you wish to experience the true "HEAT" of DV!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We spent one night there in June on our way to death valley. The place is clean with a comfortable room although you could see it was old and freshly painted.
There is nothing around at the convenience store has really the bare minimum.
We ate at the restaurant and the food was good.
It is a great location to start your visit of the death valley.
The service is good but it feels like a touristy place where they know you will not be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Panamint Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panamint Springs Resort

Address: 40440 Hwy 190, 32 Miles West of Stovepipe Wells, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panamint Springs is a small western-style resort seated in the beautiful Panamint Valley in Death Valley National Park. Marvelous views of distant sand dunes and the soaring 11,000' Panamint Mountains complete the setting for leisure dining and relaxation. Panamint Springs offers 14 motel rooms & 1 cottage, restaurant, campgrounds, RV park, gas station, and mini-mart. Our motel rooms are very basic, but clean. Our rooms are cooled with an evaporative cooling system. Some units offer their own A/C window unit in addition to this. We are pet friendly, however additional fees apply. If you are planning on doing some exploring, you'll find that Panamint Springs makes a great base camp for neighboring ghost towns, abandoned mines, and even desert waterfalls. Great for 4-wheel drive exploring, hiking, biking, or just relaxing! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Panamint Springs Hotel Death Valley National Park
Hotel Panamint Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panamint Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Panamint Springs Resort to your Saves list