We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shed with a bed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Panamint Springs Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Death Valley National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Panamint Springs Resort
40440 Hwy 190, 32 Miles West of Stovepipe Wells, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
Hotel amenities
england
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Shed with a bed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I had picked this hotel for a one night stay on the 7th June, as it was the right distance on our drive from Pahrump to Lee Vining to split the journey up nicely. We made the booking in advance, and after a lot of research.

I would like to say that I realise the facilities are offered in an inhospitable part of the world, and in difficult circumstances, and I thought about that before writing this review. Before I wrote this review I had emailed the hotel manager with my complaints, to give her a fair chance to reply. She has neither acknowledged my mail, nor replied, so her lack of courtesy further adds to my disatisfaction with this hotel.

My comments really centre around the lack of quality in the accomodation provided, the cost and the terrible food offered in the restaurant. When we checked in the gentleman who checked us in suggested that we should upgrade the room to one with air conditioning, as it would be needed. It cost us another $20 approximately, but we did it. When we got into the room we couldn't believe the state of it. We were in number 10. The front door doesn't shut or lock properly. It was dirty, the bedding smelt musty, the toilet was dirty and the walls are so thin you can hear everything from the room next door.

The room was boiling hot, understandably, so we put the air conditioner on. This unit is absolutely filthy, and the noise it made was so terrible that it made it impossible to sleep. We had to have it on just to make the room temperature bearable, I don't know what it would have been like if we had not taken the upgrade. I went to reception after an hour or so to complain, but was advised that there was no other room available, so we had to put up with. After unpacking we went to the 'restaurant', and the choice and quality of the food is very poor and limited. We had to have something to eat, so we did.

As the evening got dark it is true that the night sky view is fantastic and we really enjoyed that. However we had a terrible night, with virtually no sleep. The shower in the morning kept going cold and when we came to buy a few bits for our onward journey there was virtually nothing in the shop. As I have said I realise the conditions are difficult, but the price charged is extortionate for the terrible quality of accomodation offered. There is no excuse for a dirty room, with insufficient facilities and even the most basic level of equipment. The lack of courtesy in dealing with my email demonstrates the terrible attitude to customer service. We had also considered staying at Stovepipe Wells, but that wasn't quite as far on as we wanted to get to. I wish we had stayed there.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, either stop short of there at Stovepipe Wells, or plan to carry on past it and drive further to a better hotel. Overall a terrible experience

Room Tip: I can only comments on the rooms in the same row as ours, and they looked just as bad from the outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We have absolutely no record of this guest ever emailing our property with their concerns. We have searched back through the archives to make sure we didn't miss it and could not find anything. We always respond to any correspondence that comes to us and make sure to address any concerns.

As far as the cleanliness of the rooms go, we strive to make the rooms as clean as possible and feel that they are above the average motel room. We are sorry that you did not have that experience. If management had been notified we would have inspected the room and made it right.

Our prices are way less than any other accommodation in the park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    101
    88
    46
    75
See reviews for
72
160
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

One wants to love this place. It dates to the 1930s, everything operates on generator power, and there's no cellphone service or TV or much of any other connection to the rest of the world. On the restaurant patio is a series of planter boxes with dozens of varieties of weird and wonderful miniature cacti, and in front of the gas station a row of antique generators sketches the history of the resort. It's so remote that in July when we arrived you could stand in the middle of the highway with your eyes closed much of the day without danger of getting run over, and in the middle of the night you could probably lie down. When the lights go out at night, the stars are spectacular.

But it's a rough-and-ready environment in which to operate a motel and restaurant. The official web site does a good job of setting one's expectations; evidently the owners are in the process of turning around a property which had fallen into disrepair. The bathroom of our 2-bed room looked like it had been recently remodeled with stylish modern tile and pedestal sink, but the walls of the bedroom needed painting, the carpet needed cleaning, and there was a giant crack under the door, through which a fascinating black beetle came to visit. Hulks of dead evaporative coolers, unused piping, and building materials lie about here and there. Wi-fi worked 1 day out of 3. The general store was scantily stocked compared with the average convenience store. A bag of ice cost 4 times as much as it does at home (fortunately, the restaurant cheerfully refilled over and over again the ice bucket provided in our room.) The day we arrived (in July, probably the least popular season) there were only four cars at the motel, and the general store couldn't make milkshakes because they had run out of milk. On the other hand, the restaurant had good, fresh salad and excellent pizza, which is impressive considering how far the ingredients must travel. Employees were friendly and helpful. When it was 112-117 degrees outdoors, the evaporative cooler in our 1-bed room took the edge off the heat, but it remained a bit warmer than most people would like. Some of the 2-bed rooms have both an evaporative cooler and a wall air conditioner; when we arrived, the AC was off, and after we turned it on, it wasn't able to reach a comfortable temperature till after sunset, but once it did, it was able to maintain that through the heat of the next day. Of course, July might be the worst-case month.

The assortment of beer was just as impressive as the web site suggests.

We had a great time, and if you arrive primed for adventure and willing to go with the flow, so will you.

Room Tip: Consider asking for a 2-bed room with AC if it's mid-summer and you don't like it hot.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

NIce people and shade! You can camp here also!
There is a decent restaurant, even though I always received mixed reviews from others about the food. Remember, it is Death Valley! So the sightseeing involves driving and walking, best time of year to go is October through early April unless you wish to experience the true "HEAT" of DV!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We spent one night there in June on our way to death valley. The place is clean with a comfortable room although you could see it was old and freshly painted.
There is nothing around at the convenience store has really the bare minimum.
We ate at the restaurant and the food was good.
It is a great location to start your visit of the death valley.
The service is good but it feels like a touristy place where they know you will not be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stopped by this hotel as on our way from Yosemite to Vegas. Room check-in at the Gas station. Convenient store is at the Gas station where open until 9.30pm. The room is cleaner and more comfortable than I expected. What surprise me the most is the towel! They are very clean and fluffy.

Great sky view at night.

Only con is the air con.

Room Tip: Has large area for RV hooked up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

just what we expected. this place is in the middle of the desert and is so remote its powered by a diseal generator. the buildings are dated but this just added to the coolness of it. everything was very clean. very fluffy towels. all the people who worked at the resort were very friendly and hard workers. stayed one night june 4,2013 in the cottage which does have ac and tv. great place to stop, eat, and have a drink. loved it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World Citizen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Keep your expectations in check and you'll enjoy this quaint motel. Remember, you're in the middle of a desert.

This establishment rents inexpensive, small rooms that are intended to keep you sheltered for a quick overnight stop. I wouldn't plan on staying at this establishment any longer than that. Our plan whenever we stay here is to arrive late and leave early the next morning. The rooms offer modest furnishings, but they are clean and pretty comfortable given their tiny size. As other reviewers have mentioned, you cannot control the AC from within your room, and the ventilation is loud. There is a ceiling fan that can amp up the cooling feeling if you need an extra boost, but if you are sensitive to loud white noise when you are trying to sleep, bring earplugs.

Don't count on being able to use the internet. There is technically free wi-fi, but we found it jammed up and unusable. Deeper in the park, in Furnace Creek (and possibly Stovepipe Wells), we were able to get cell signals, but not data. Basically, while you're in the national park, it's safest to consider yourself cut off from the world with the exception of emergency phone calls from select locations.

The motel's restaurant is fairly accommodating of special diets. They have vegetarian/vegan items on the menu for instance (but not a lot for gluten-free vegetarians for instance -- bring your own food if you have that sort of issue, but realize the motel has a strict policy against food preparation/consumption inside the rooms). They also have a bar with lots of selection. The restaurant/bar closes at 9pm, and the gas station's convenience store closes at 9:30pm, so plan accordingly. (These times were observed in June 2013 - double check times to avoid disappointment for your own travel dates.)

Check-in takes place at the gas station convenience store, so if you plan on checking in later than their closing time, be sure to make special arrangements in advance.

If you are the sort of person who is unhappy unless in the lap of luxury, you'll be disappointed here. But if you can tolerate roughing it for a night, this is actually a fun place with a lot of character. And it's the ideal place to stay for a night if you're approaching the park from the west with a fairly late arrival time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Panamint Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panamint Springs Resort

Also Known As:
Panamint Springs Hotel Death Valley National Park
Panamint Springs Hotel
Panamint Springs
Hotel Panamint Springs
Address: 40440 Hwy 190, 32 Miles West of Stovepipe Wells, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panamint Springs is a small western-style resort seated in the beautiful Panamint Valley in Death Valley National Park. Marvelous views of distant sand dunes and the soaring 11,000' Panamint Mountains complete the setting for leisure dining and relaxation. Panamint Springs offers 14 motel rooms & 1 cottage, restaurant, campgrounds, RV park, gas station, and mini-mart. Our motel rooms are very basic, but clean. Our rooms are cooled with an evaporative cooling system. Some units offer their own A/C window unit in addition to this. We are pet friendly, however additional fees apply. If you are planning on doing some exploring, you'll find that Panamint Springs makes a great base camp for neighboring ghost towns, abandoned mines, and even desert waterfalls. Great for 4-wheel drive exploring, hiking, biking, or just relaxing! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panamint Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Panamint Springs Resort to your Saves list