We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable in the middle of the desert” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Panamint Springs Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Death Valley National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Panamint Springs Resort
Save
You added Panamint Springs Resort to your Saves list
40440 Hwy 190, 32 Miles West of Stovepipe Wells, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
Hotel amenities
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable in the middle of the desert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stopped by this hotel as on our way from Yosemite to Vegas. Room check-in at the Gas station. Convenient store is at the Gas station where open until 9.30pm. The room is cleaner and more comfortable than I expected. What surprise me the most is the towel! They are very clean and fluffy.

Great sky view at night.

Only con is the air con.

Room Tip: Has large area for RV hooked up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    127
    104
    52
    79
See reviews for
84
193
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lenoir, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

just what we expected. this place is in the middle of the desert and is so remote its powered by a diseal generator. the buildings are dated but this just added to the coolness of it. everything was very clean. very fluffy towels. all the people who worked at the resort were very friendly and hard workers. stayed one night june 4,2013 in the cottage which does have ac and tv. great place to stop, eat, and have a drink. loved it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World Citizen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Keep your expectations in check and you'll enjoy this quaint motel. Remember, you're in the middle of a desert.

This establishment rents inexpensive, small rooms that are intended to keep you sheltered for a quick overnight stop. I wouldn't plan on staying at this establishment any longer than that. Our plan whenever we stay here is to arrive late and leave early the next morning. The rooms offer modest furnishings, but they are clean and pretty comfortable given their tiny size. As other reviewers have mentioned, you cannot control the AC from within your room, and the ventilation is loud. There is a ceiling fan that can amp up the cooling feeling if you need an extra boost, but if you are sensitive to loud white noise when you are trying to sleep, bring earplugs.

Don't count on being able to use the internet. There is technically free wi-fi, but we found it jammed up and unusable. Deeper in the park, in Furnace Creek (and possibly Stovepipe Wells), we were able to get cell signals, but not data. Basically, while you're in the national park, it's safest to consider yourself cut off from the world with the exception of emergency phone calls from select locations.

The motel's restaurant is fairly accommodating of special diets. They have vegetarian/vegan items on the menu for instance (but not a lot for gluten-free vegetarians for instance -- bring your own food if you have that sort of issue, but realize the motel has a strict policy against food preparation/consumption inside the rooms). They also have a bar with lots of selection. The restaurant/bar closes at 9pm, and the gas station's convenience store closes at 9:30pm, so plan accordingly. (These times were observed in June 2013 - double check times to avoid disappointment for your own travel dates.)

Check-in takes place at the gas station convenience store, so if you plan on checking in later than their closing time, be sure to make special arrangements in advance.

If you are the sort of person who is unhappy unless in the lap of luxury, you'll be disappointed here. But if you can tolerate roughing it for a night, this is actually a fun place with a lot of character. And it's the ideal place to stay for a night if you're approaching the park from the west with a fairly late arrival time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

i spent a night at this resort. it was located at a very quiet place , right next to the highway. this place is good for people who love peacefulness. the doors and windows looked very old and antique. it was nice though. inside the restauarant there were hundreds of pictures of the amazing flowers and stuffs like that from death valley area.
the thing i loved the most here was when me and my husband came out at night and to our amazement we noticed so many stars on the sky. they were twinkling brightly. we totally loved it.
would definitely go to this place again. probably next year.
P.S. you have to park your car right infront of your room door, whcih was cool for me. because we didnt have to walk a long way to get our stuffs from the car if we forgot something. ;)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

A couple of points:

CONS
1. Death Valley is hot. REALLY hot. And this is an old, old motel with no AC, just "swamp cooling," whatever the heck that is. Doesn't keep the room cold. Stovepipe rooms do have AC.
2. Technically has internet. Doesn't work.
3. Rooms haven't been remodeled since 1930 when the building was built.
4. Gas is the most expensive of anywhere in the entire park.
5. Wouldn't give us a refund on canceling the second night, even after telling us that they're booked 100%, 24/7/365. To be fair, this was in the policy when we booked.
6. No television, if this matters to you.
7. The place looks like it's falling apart.
8. Beds covered in crinkly plastic covers, pillows lumpy.

PROS:
1. It's in Death Valley, it's a bed, and there's water and gas.
2. Friendly employees.
3. Clean room!
4. Lotion/shampoo/conditioner.

In the end, you can stay down the road at Stovepipe in nicer facilities for just a few bucks more. If you're just looking for a place to rest your head and the heat doesn't bother you, stay here. If you're not used to staying in dumpy motels where you feel nickel & dimed, don't bother.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barstow, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you want quiet serenity and peace, then come to Panamint Springs resort. It doesn't have a pool, recreation room, and a lot of things to do, but we didn't miss it. We camp and we have our own things to do. The restaurant is good and nice people. The store is efficient and clean. The staff are very friendly and accomodating. My wife and I enjoyed it very much. WHen we come again, we will probably come in Febraury or March because it was a little warm during the day. I can recommend to anybody that this is a nice place to camp, full hook ups and shade. Gasoline is naturally expensive so fill up in Ridgecrest because there is no gasoline in Trona.

Room Tip: I am an RV'er, I didn't notice anything about the rooms. I know that the bathrooms at the RV...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had a long drive (from Sequoia National Park) and so I picked the first place in Death Valley arriving from the west. Unfortunately, we should have driven another hour. We stayed in the cabin (16). It is OK but the AC units are very loud, the bathroom is in the master bedroom (so anyone else staying has to go through your bedroom to get to the bathroom), the ceiling fan was so unbalanced we were afraid to run it, the refrigerator was loud, the dead bolt on the door didn't work - and we could barely get the thumb bolt key to work. On the positive side - the towels were fluffy, the bed was comfortable, the tv had satellite, the view out the front was great. Oh yes, DO NOT buy gas here. It was $1.00 more expensive than 1 hour east in a much nicer resort. I know the owners only bought this place in 2006 and they are trying - but it has a long way to go.

Room Tip: You have to climb steps to get to the cabin. You can sleep several folks - 1 king, 1 double bunk, 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Panamint Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panamint Springs Resort

Address: 40440 Hwy 190, 32 Miles West of Stovepipe Wells, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panamint Springs is a small western-style resort seated in the beautiful Panamint Valley in Death Valley National Park. Marvelous views of distant sand dunes and the soaring 11,000' Panamint Mountains complete the setting for leisure dining and relaxation. Panamint Springs offers 14 motel rooms & 1 cottage, restaurant, campgrounds, RV park, gas station, and mini-mart. Our motel rooms are very basic, but clean. Our rooms are cooled with an evaporative cooling system. Some units offer their own A/C window unit in addition to this. We are pet friendly, however additional fees apply. If you are planning on doing some exploring, you'll find that Panamint Springs makes a great base camp for neighboring ghost towns, abandoned mines, and even desert waterfalls. Great for 4-wheel drive exploring, hiking, biking, or just relaxing! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Panamint Springs Hotel Death Valley National Park
Hotel Panamint Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panamint Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.