We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Panamint Springs Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Death Valley National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Panamint Springs Resort
40440 Hwy 190, 32 Miles West of Stovepipe Wells, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
Hotel amenities
Alameda, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“peaceful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

i spent a night at this resort. it was located at a very quiet place , right next to the highway. this place is good for people who love peacefulness. the doors and windows looked very old and antique. it was nice though. inside the restauarant there were hundreds of pictures of the amazing flowers and stuffs like that from death valley area.
the thing i loved the most here was when me and my husband came out at night and to our amazement we noticed so many stars on the sky. they were twinkling brightly. we totally loved it.
would definitely go to this place again. probably next year.
P.S. you have to park your car right infront of your room door, whcih was cool for me. because we didnt have to walk a long way to get our stuffs from the car if we forgot something. ;)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    109
    91
    48
    75
See reviews for
77
166
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

A couple of points:

CONS
1. Death Valley is hot. REALLY hot. And this is an old, old motel with no AC, just "swamp cooling," whatever the heck that is. Doesn't keep the room cold. Stovepipe rooms do have AC.
2. Technically has internet. Doesn't work.
3. Rooms haven't been remodeled since 1930 when the building was built.
4. Gas is the most expensive of anywhere in the entire park.
5. Wouldn't give us a refund on canceling the second night, even after telling us that they're booked 100%, 24/7/365. To be fair, this was in the policy when we booked.
6. No television, if this matters to you.
7. The place looks like it's falling apart.
8. Beds covered in crinkly plastic covers, pillows lumpy.

PROS:
1. It's in Death Valley, it's a bed, and there's water and gas.
2. Friendly employees.
3. Clean room!
4. Lotion/shampoo/conditioner.

In the end, you can stay down the road at Stovepipe in nicer facilities for just a few bucks more. If you're just looking for a place to rest your head and the heat doesn't bother you, stay here. If you're not used to staying in dumpy motels where you feel nickel & dimed, don't bother.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Death Valley National Park hotels

Barstow, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you want quiet serenity and peace, then come to Panamint Springs resort. It doesn't have a pool, recreation room, and a lot of things to do, but we didn't miss it. We camp and we have our own things to do. The restaurant is good and nice people. The store is efficient and clean. The staff are very friendly and accomodating. My wife and I enjoyed it very much. WHen we come again, we will probably come in Febraury or March because it was a little warm during the day. I can recommend to anybody that this is a nice place to camp, full hook ups and shade. Gasoline is naturally expensive so fill up in Ridgecrest because there is no gasoline in Trona.

Room Tip: I am an RV'er, I didn't notice anything about the rooms. I know that the bathrooms at the RV...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had a long drive (from Sequoia National Park) and so I picked the first place in Death Valley arriving from the west. Unfortunately, we should have driven another hour. We stayed in the cabin (16). It is OK but the AC units are very loud, the bathroom is in the master bedroom (so anyone else staying has to go through your bedroom to get to the bathroom), the ceiling fan was so unbalanced we were afraid to run it, the refrigerator was loud, the dead bolt on the door didn't work - and we could barely get the thumb bolt key to work. On the positive side - the towels were fluffy, the bed was comfortable, the tv had satellite, the view out the front was great. Oh yes, DO NOT buy gas here. It was $1.00 more expensive than 1 hour east in a much nicer resort. I know the owners only bought this place in 2006 and they are trying - but it has a long way to go.

Room Tip: You have to climb steps to get to the cabin. You can sleep several folks - 1 king, 1 double bunk, 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, IL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This small MOTEL is located in the more remote part of Death Valley National Park. I would not describe it as a resort; it is an old motel with thin walls and actual "key" locks. My husband and I traveled with my mother-in-law on this trip. We stayed in Room 5, which was a "king room". The bed was comfy and the shower was roomy, but nothing fancy - which is fine. Just a plain old shower with a curtain, pedestal sink and toilet. The room had two nightstands and a long dresser. However, Room 6, which was a "queen room", was very small and not really made for a woman for the simple fact that there was not an outlet in the bathroom to plug in a blowdryer, etc. No nightstands in this room, just wooden tv-like trays. But this is not a surprise, the website tells you it's basically a place to sleep. Afterall, you're in Death Valley. You're not going to be lounging in a room - you're going to be exploring all the wonderful sights in the park. You cannot control the air conditioning. Our room's temperature was comfortable, and it was about 98 degrees in the day when we visited. There are ceiling fans in the rooms. Be advised that the parking lot is very small. If the motel was fully booked, it would be very tight parking. There are "quiet hours" between 10:00 p.m. and 7:00 a.m., but they were not enforced during our stay. There is a gas station and small general store next to the hotel - tip - fill up before you get in the park - gas at Panamint was $5.98 per gallon. There is a restaurant on the premises with great hamburgers and pizza. The employees are friendly and accomodating. If you want more of a luxury hotel, stay on the opposite end of the park at Furnace Creek.

Room Tip: In summary, if you decide to explore this side of Death Valley, pay a couple bucks more and stay in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

little basic motal along the street, just before Death Valley. We were a family group of 5 and spent one night in the cottage. The cottage was very clean and well cooled at our arrival, the bathroom basic but clean, just the airconditioning was a bit noisy at night, but on the other hand it was a great feeling to look outside the window at night and to see the stars at the desert sky. Here being so calm you get the real desert feeling. I would come here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was the most interesting place we have ever stayed. Being in Death Valley definitely seems like you are in the middle of nowhere, so the tiny "town" of Panamint Springs is really out there. The room was exactly as the website describes: a bed and a bathroom. The carpet and bathroom fixtures were old and run-down but everything seemed clean. The bed was comfortable. All of the room are connected in a long row where you park your car right outside the door. You can hear people in the rooms next to you fairly well but no one was very loud and we did not hear anything late at night or early in the morning. The staff at the store and restaurant were very friendly. The only complaint we had was how expensive things were (restaurant, general store, gas) but when there isn't anything else for miles, people will pay higher prices! You cannot beat the view when you step outside your room so I would definitely recommend this hotel (not sure why it is called a "resort"). I believe it is cheaper than accommodations in the other "towns" in Death Valley.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Panamint Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panamint Springs Resort

Address: 40440 Hwy 190, 32 Miles West of Stovepipe Wells, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panamint Springs is a small western-style resort seated in the beautiful Panamint Valley in Death Valley National Park. Marvelous views of distant sand dunes and the soaring 11,000' Panamint Mountains complete the setting for leisure dining and relaxation. Panamint Springs offers 14 motel rooms & 1 cottage, restaurant, campgrounds, RV park, gas station, and mini-mart. Our motel rooms are very basic, but clean. Our rooms are cooled with an evaporative cooling system. Some units offer their own A/C window unit in addition to this. We are pet friendly, however additional fees apply. If you are planning on doing some exploring, you'll find that Panamint Springs makes a great base camp for neighboring ghost towns, abandoned mines, and even desert waterfalls. Great for 4-wheel drive exploring, hiking, biking, or just relaxing! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Panamint Springs Hotel Death Valley National Park
Hotel Panamint Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panamint Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Panamint Springs Resort to your Saves list