We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, clean, nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Panamint Springs Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Death Valley National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Panamint Springs Resort
Save Saved
You added Panamint Springs Resort to your Saves list
40440 Hwy 190, 32 Miles West of Stovepipe Wells, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
Hotel amenities
Ghent
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Basic, clean, nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the cottage which had a refridgerator but no microwave so we had to walk to the gasstation to heat the bottel for out toddler, but that was the only inconvenience. The cottage was simpel but clean and comfortable. Watching the sun go down and the moon rise in this quiet corner of the np really was special for us, loved staying here. The restaurant is also nice. There is no wifi but hey, we didn't really expect it anyway.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    114
    94
    49
    78
See reviews for
80
174
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chardon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed overnight on March 2nd in the Cottage. The cottage is under a tree and is not physically connected to the hotel rooms. It was basic but very comfortable, clean and quiet. It also had a small refrigerator (requirement for medication) and TV so we had everything we needed. We drove in from LAX and this was a great location to rest up and be ready to start hiking Death Valley the next day without doing a lot of driving. Across the street is the campground which has some nice short nature trails in the front near the road. We would not hesitate to stay in the cottage again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was our first time in Death Valley. This resort is in the west side so stay here if you wish to view the west side highlights. Another place to try (the only) is Stovepipe Wells Village. Panamint Springs is privately owned and they do a reasonably good job running the rv park, general store and restaurant. Gas up in Ridgecrest first because the price of gas in Death Valley will scare you- up to $2.00 more per gallon!

The rv park is basic. It's hot, dusty and has a few trees the owners try to keep alive with a drip line. The washrooms are basic but nothing fancy (I've seen worse but much better too). There are showers here (surpisingly) but no laundry (of course). Owners and staff are friendly.

The restaurant is fine for the desert and the bar has a wide selection of beer and wine. The food is acceptable although we ate mainly at the rv park.

Next time I would try Stovepipe Wells- it appears to be a bit more upscale(even has a pool) and gas is $1.00/gallon less. We are off to stay at Furnace Creek RV Ranch next...

Room Tip: I'm not sure of Stovepipe Wells prices but if they have a vacancy and you can afford them check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The rooms are small and the carpet on the floor gets very dirty every time you walk through the door.
No microwave or fridge or pool.
Easy to find and its cheaper than staying in the NP.
Free parking. And there is usually a few roadrunners in the area, ask at the front desk for directions!
Would stay there again to save money!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Marion, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

our ten day hiking adventure in Death Valley NP included stays at Shoshone, Panamint, Furnace Creek & Stovepipe so we could be closer to the trails. Trails near Panamint included the Panamint Dunes and wildrose peak which were both amazing hikes. You have to consider what you are paying at Panamint compared to the other park lodgings. Its a quaint inexpensive place to stay within the park. Fortunately the bed was comfortable. My feeling though is that if they charge a few dollars more they could do some capital improvements. The carpeting has to go. The rooms are in need of reflooring which would add to a feeling of cleanliness. Our room #9 actually had a peep hole inthe shower that permitted you to see the laundry facility and a white pick up truck parked out back. How could that be. Is the prefab shower unit the only wall? is there no wall outside? Is anyone peeking in?

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lewiston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The "resort" sits on the western slopes of the beautiful Panamint Valley, and from whatever direction you arrive, you will have had plenty of fantastic scenery, but do think about spending at least one night here to experience the Valley at every time of the day and night. I spent three nights in a comfortable room, simply furnished and clean. And if you like beer, you will find 150 varieties in the restaurant/bar, where the bartenders are glad to give you tastes of the dozen or so on tap. Power is by generator, which seemed to be noisier across the road at the campground than in the room, where it was nothing more than a gentle whirr. This is a good location if you're planning on visiting the charcoal kilns, or going further afield to Manzanar north of Lone Pine (home of the not-to-be-missed Alabama Hills Cafe), and the intriguing town of Darwin.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-4 share a little "veranda" with table and chairs, overlooking the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Whoever called this a "resort" had a good sense of humor - it's not. But it's no frills, clean, and quiet. I think walls are fairly thin so I suspect that if you had a noisy neighbor, it could be a problem. The staff is very friendly and the food is good, although more expensive than the cost of the room would suggest. Also, don't buy gasoline there as it is significantly more expensive than other places in the park.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Panamint Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panamint Springs Resort

Address: 40440 Hwy 190, 32 Miles West of Stovepipe Wells, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panamint Springs is a small western-style resort seated in the beautiful Panamint Valley in Death Valley National Park. Marvelous views of distant sand dunes and the soaring 11,000' Panamint Mountains complete the setting for leisure dining and relaxation. Panamint Springs offers 14 motel rooms & 1 cottage, restaurant, campgrounds, RV park, gas station, and mini-mart. Our motel rooms are very basic, but clean. Our rooms are cooled with an evaporative cooling system. Some units offer their own A/C window unit in addition to this. We are pet friendly, however additional fees apply. If you are planning on doing some exploring, you'll find that Panamint Springs makes a great base camp for neighboring ghost towns, abandoned mines, and even desert waterfalls. Great for 4-wheel drive exploring, hiking, biking, or just relaxing! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Panamint Springs Hotel Death Valley National Park
Hotel Panamint Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panamint Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.