We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, clean, nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Panamint Springs Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Death Valley National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Panamint Springs Resort
Save
You added Panamint Springs Resort to your Saves list
40440 Hwy 190, 32 Miles West of Stovepipe Wells, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
Hotel amenities
Ghent
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Basic, clean, nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the cottage which had a refridgerator but no microwave so we had to walk to the gasstation to heat the bottel for out toddler, but that was the only inconvenience. The cottage was simpel but clean and comfortable. Watching the sun go down and the moon rise in this quiet corner of the np really was special for us, loved staying here. The restaurant is also nice. There is no wifi but hey, we didn't really expect it anyway.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank josiewitchgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Chardon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed overnight on March 2nd in the Cottage. The cottage is under a tree and is not physically connected to the hotel rooms. It was basic but very comfortable, clean and quiet. It also had a small refrigerator (requirement for medication) and TV so we had everything we needed. We drove in from LAX and this was a great location to rest up and be ready to start hiking Death Valley the next day without doing a lot of driving. Across the street is the campground which has some nice short nature trails in the front near the road. We would not hesitate to stay in the cottage again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noland-b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was our first time in Death Valley. This resort is in the west side so stay here if you wish to view the west side highlights. Another place to try (the only) is Stovepipe Wells Village. Panamint Springs is privately owned and they do a reasonably good job running the rv park, general store and restaurant. Gas up in Ridgecrest first because the price of gas in Death Valley will scare you- up to $2.00 more per gallon!

The rv park is basic. It's hot, dusty and has a few trees the owners try to keep alive with a drip line. The washrooms are basic but nothing fancy (I've seen worse but much better too). There are showers here (surpisingly) but no laundry (of course). Owners and staff are friendly.

The restaurant is fine for the desert and the bar has a wide selection of beer and wine. The food is acceptable although we ate mainly at the rv park.

Next time I would try Stovepipe Wells- it appears to be a bit more upscale(even has a pool) and gas is $1.00/gallon less. We are off to stay at Furnace Creek RV Ranch next...

Room Tip: I'm not sure of Stovepipe Wells prices but if they have a vacancy and you can afford them check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skootamattaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
268 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The rooms are small and the carpet on the floor gets very dirty every time you walk through the door.
No microwave or fridge or pool.
Easy to find and its cheaper than staying in the NP.
Free parking. And there is usually a few roadrunners in the area, ask at the front desk for directions!
Would stay there again to save money!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Marion, New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

our ten day hiking adventure in Death Valley NP included stays at Shoshone, Panamint, Furnace Creek & Stovepipe so we could be closer to the trails. Trails near Panamint included the Panamint Dunes and wildrose peak which were both amazing hikes. You have to consider what you are paying at Panamint compared to the other park lodgings. Its a quaint inexpensive place to stay within the park. Fortunately the bed was comfortable. My feeling though is that if they charge a few dollars more they could do some capital improvements. The carpeting has to go. The rooms are in need of reflooring which would add to a feeling of cleanliness. Our room #9 actually had a peep hole inthe shower that permitted you to see the laundry facility and a white pick up truck parked out back. How could that be. Is the prefab shower unit the only wall? is there no wall outside? Is anyone peeking in?

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bdweave02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lewiston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The "resort" sits on the western slopes of the beautiful Panamint Valley, and from whatever direction you arrive, you will have had plenty of fantastic scenery, but do think about spending at least one night here to experience the Valley at every time of the day and night. I spent three nights in a comfortable room, simply furnished and clean. And if you like beer, you will find 150 varieties in the restaurant/bar, where the bartenders are glad to give you tastes of the dozen or so on tap. Power is by generator, which seemed to be noisier across the road at the campground than in the room, where it was nothing more than a gentle whirr. This is a good location if you're planning on visiting the charcoal kilns, or going further afield to Manzanar north of Lone Pine (home of the not-to-be-missed Alabama Hills Cafe), and the intriguing town of Darwin.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-4 share a little "veranda" with table and chairs, overlooking the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lithophrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Whoever called this a "resort" had a good sense of humor - it's not. But it's no frills, clean, and quiet. I think walls are fairly thin so I suspect that if you had a noisy neighbor, it could be a problem. The staff is very friendly and the food is good, although more expensive than the cost of the room would suggest. Also, don't buy gasoline there as it is significantly more expensive than other places in the park.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MWAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
34.5 mi away
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Reso...
#1 of 4 in Death Valley National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 4,278 reviews
64.1 mi away
Corral Creek Resort
Corral Creek Resort
#2 of 4 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
58.8 mi away
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
#1 of 1 in Death Valley Junction
3.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panamint Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panamint Springs Resort

Address: 40440 Hwy 190, 32 Miles West of Stovepipe Wells, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panamint Springs is a small western-style resort seated in the beautiful Panamint Valley in Death Valley National Park. Marvelous views of distant sand dunes and the soaring 11,000' Panamint Mountains complete the setting for leisure dining and relaxation. Panamint Springs offers 14 motel rooms & 1 cottage, restaurant, campgrounds, RV park, gas station, and mini-mart. Our motel rooms are very basic, but clean. Our rooms are cooled with an evaporative cooling system. Some units offer their own A/C window unit in addition to this. We are pet friendly, however additional fees apply. If you are planning on doing some exploring, you'll find that Panamint Springs makes a great base camp for neighboring ghost towns, abandoned mines, and even desert waterfalls. Great for 4-wheel drive exploring, hiking, biking, or just relaxing! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Panamint Springs Hotel Death Valley National Park
Hotel Panamint Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing