We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got a decent night's sleep” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Panamint Springs Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Death Valley National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Panamint Springs Resort
40440 Hwy 190, 32 Miles West of Stovepipe Wells, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
Hotel amenities
Northern California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Got a decent night's sleep”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The rooms were very old, but basically clean, as was the shower, which was quite small. The shower faucet was about to fall off the wall, but at least we were able to shower. The bathroom itself was large. The air conditioning was run by the employees at the gas station, so it could not be adjusted (by us). At 10 p.m. the air went off and thank God there was a ceiling fan - and we were there in "winter." My hair dryer worked, even though I could only find one outlet by the bed.
After being at a resort that included 3 meals a day, I was quite disappointed with Panamint Springs Resort. The restaurant was right next to the rooms and I thought very expensive. I only wanted soup, and they took 15 minutes to tell us they were out of soup. We wound up not eating, since my husband wasn't feeling well anyhow. I doubt I'll go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    108
    91
    47
    75
See reviews for
77
165
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dateland, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The stay was great, clean rest rooms, showers and toilets. The grounds are kept clean and the staff from the gas station-store to the restaurant are great! The food was good and they have a very nice selection of beer. We had a bike that broke the frame and Aaron dropped of a welder and grinder and saved our week. We will be back with a larger group next time. Do not miss out on the what they have to offer.

Ronnydog

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
457 reviews 457 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The walls are so thin that you can nearly hear the people next door breathe. The room was old but clean enough. Yes it is somewhat dusty but this is due to the general environment. The place is linked to the gas station (where you check-in) and a restaurant. The restaurant is actually reasonably good considering where it is. Nothing fancy.
The shower was small and old. This is the first place on my trip that I finally had a use for my hair dryer! Very basic services.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Maybe my expecttations were lower than others, but as a world trekker I found Panamint Springs Resort enchanting! We were five guys in our fifties on a weeklong motorcycle trip and found it to be a delightful place! After a delicious dinner and some great beers, we watched the moonrise of the valley which was magical! The staff were very accommodating and pleasant. Of course gas was very expensive, but what did you expect? I found the restaurant & hotel very reasonably priced in comparsion to other places in DV & was pleased it wasn't a cookie cutter place with insincere employees. Panamint Springs is tops! My only suggestion is to have a coffee station for early risers like myself.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here in July on our way from LA to LV passing through DV. Having read the reports on this site, we knew what to expect, but were still pleasantly surprised by the remoteness and authentic rustic feel of the place. We arrived shortly before sunset, and after picking up our keys at the gas station, made our way to the one of the 3-bed rooms that were at the center of the row of cabins. We enjoyed the hamburgers for dinner, which were indeed very good. As it was a clear evening, we enjoyed the milky way and went to bed around 9. We were up before sunrise, to watch the sun rise over the valley and enjoy breakfast before heading out to the park

So, the walls are indeed thin, and there is some noise from cars & people arriving/leaving. It did not bother us; the location and general atmosphere more than made up for it

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

When you want to stay in Death Valley, this place is the best.I have slept in the other 2 places there, but Panamint Springs is the best experience you can have in DV. Sre it's not a brand new luxury resort, but the rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff is more then friendly, and the overall atmosphere is so great, you have to be there to understand it.We will defintily wil be back there, and can recommend this place to everyone.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We arrived very late at the resort (plan more time to get there as it is a windy road) and had to catch the room keys at the gas station shop. but nobody informed us about the whereabout of the keys. thanks to the last person in the restaurant, who told us.
we had the last room (15) on the left side. the vent flap was making noise the whole night, which was very annoying and i could not sleep until i put my earplugs in.

The room did not have a fridge, just two beds and a bathroom, a fan, so very simple equipped.
The room and the bathroom were totally clean.

Watching the stars in the sky from there: Priceless!!!! :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Panamint Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panamint Springs Resort

Address: 40440 Hwy 190, 32 Miles West of Stovepipe Wells, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panamint Springs is a small western-style resort seated in the beautiful Panamint Valley in Death Valley National Park. Marvelous views of distant sand dunes and the soaring 11,000' Panamint Mountains complete the setting for leisure dining and relaxation. Panamint Springs offers 14 motel rooms & 1 cottage, restaurant, campgrounds, RV park, gas station, and mini-mart. Our motel rooms are very basic, but clean. Our rooms are cooled with an evaporative cooling system. Some units offer their own A/C window unit in addition to this. We are pet friendly, however additional fees apply. If you are planning on doing some exploring, you'll find that Panamint Springs makes a great base camp for neighboring ghost towns, abandoned mines, and even desert waterfalls. Great for 4-wheel drive exploring, hiking, biking, or just relaxing! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Panamint Springs Hotel Death Valley National Park
Hotel Panamint Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panamint Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Panamint Springs Resort to your Saves list