We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the grid!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Panamint Springs Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Death Valley National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Panamint Springs Resort
Save
You added Panamint Springs Resort to your Saves list
40440 Hwy 190, 32 Miles West of Stovepipe Wells, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
Hotel amenities
The Hague
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Off the grid!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here in July on our way from LA to LV passing through DV. Having read the reports on this site, we knew what to expect, but were still pleasantly surprised by the remoteness and authentic rustic feel of the place. We arrived shortly before sunset, and after picking up our keys at the gas station, made our way to the one of the 3-bed rooms that were at the center of the row of cabins. We enjoyed the hamburgers for dinner, which were indeed very good. As it was a clear evening, we enjoyed the milky way and went to bed around 9. We were up before sunrise, to watch the sun rise over the valley and enjoy breakfast before heading out to the park

So, the walls are indeed thin, and there is some noise from cars & people arriving/leaving. It did not bother us; the location and general atmosphere more than made up for it

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    127
    104
    52
    79
See reviews for
85
193
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

When you want to stay in Death Valley, this place is the best.I have slept in the other 2 places there, but Panamint Springs is the best experience you can have in DV. Sre it's not a brand new luxury resort, but the rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff is more then friendly, and the overall atmosphere is so great, you have to be there to understand it.We will defintily wil be back there, and can recommend this place to everyone.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We arrived very late at the resort (plan more time to get there as it is a windy road) and had to catch the room keys at the gas station shop. but nobody informed us about the whereabout of the keys. thanks to the last person in the restaurant, who told us.
we had the last room (15) on the left side. the vent flap was making noise the whole night, which was very annoying and i could not sleep until i put my earplugs in.

The room did not have a fridge, just two beds and a bathroom, a fan, so very simple equipped.
The room and the bathroom were totally clean.

Watching the stars in the sky from there: Priceless!!!! :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This place is in the middle of the desert without a phone line or anything else. all you get is a room with a bathroom, 1 restaurant (with very nice food and very different beers) and 1 gas station. this hotel is just thought for over night stays during you travel through death valley. you don't get tv or anything else in this hotel (just a slow wifi over satellite).

it is in the middle of nowhere.

+ clean rooms
+ fresh water
+ AC in the rooms
+ good food at the restaurant
+ very much beers at the restaurant
+ good price


- restaurant stops serving food at 9 pm or something
- breakfast is to expensive and you get almost nothing (Don't recommend that!!)
- can't power off the AC (of course, because it would take too long to cool down the room again)
- drinking water was expensive

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This place is just right for a quick overnight stop on your way through death valley. Ok so the rooms are old and there is no tv but it is clean and they have air con. The staff are amazing at the gas station and the pub (all part of the "resort")The guys at the gas station gave my husband and I tons of information on death valley, they drew us maps, travel times and all with a smile. I can honestly say they were so very helpful. This place is catered to the hungry and the tired, great food and a place to take a shower while you travel through or explore this incredible wilderness. This is not a place to sit by a pool. The wifi is slow but that's to be expected we are in a desert. The rooms could use an upgrade but in all honesty this place did the job well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Panamint Springs "Resort" is truly a rustic, Western-style motel as you find it described on their homepage. We (family: 50, 49, 15, 8 years of age) had a cabin room furnished with two King Size beds, a high-board, a table and a chair , all of them well-used but serving the purpose, which was for us to sleep after a day in the heat of the desert. We did not want to watch TV nor use our computers (which you could as there is wireless lan). The room was not equipped with a refrigerator but you could buy ice at the nearby store. We enjoyed our dinner sitting on the porch under the star - spangled banner (as well as true stars) . We had a pizza "hawaii" which was homemade and covered with fresh pineapple. A real treat! The breakfast buffet was also okay. Due to wrong expectations people might complain about the lack of cleanliness of tables and chairs. Well, yes, it could be better but we compare it to the mountain hostels/huts in the Austrian Alps. It is rustic and has a character of its own. Special care had been given to the perfect bathrooms, though. We were surprised to find that much luxury in the wilderness. Everything was brand-new: sink, mirror, toilet, huge shower, closet, marvellous white towels. In addition we found samples of soap, shampoo. The only "bad" thing in our room was the air-conditioning which was running all night . It came out of the ceiling ( a big hole, the end of a tunnel system) with undescribable power and as noisy as was the overnight atlantic flight. NEVERTHELESS.: tired as we were we slept well all night. We have been to many different hotels on our trip through California (for example, we stayed at the Hyatt Regency chain) but Panamint Springs was something special with its unique atmosphere and setting.
Panamint Springs is our son´s (15) favourite accomodation. He would rate it with five stars plus!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

First of all... This hotel is nowhere near a "resort". Our room was a cabin, decorated in 1960's style. There was nothing on the walls, the bathroom was horrible, and there we flies in the room because the front door didn't shut all the way. As we were in the middle of the desert, it was dirty and dusty... everywhere. The "general store" is a trailer that has a small selection of overpriced items. And the gas is $2.00 more per gallon, as there is nowhere else to get it. The "restaurant" food was good. The restaurant is a room with 10 tables. The waitress seemed mad that she had to work. Overall, this was a HORRIBLE experience. I would rather go camping outdoors. If you are going to Death Valley, do yourself a favor and stay at the Furnace Creek Resort, located in Death Valley. It was beautiful and had a gorgeous view. Also had a pool, which would have been nice after spending the day in 120 degree heat. The higher price is WELL worth it.

Room Tip: Get a room at Furnance Creek Resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here. I would like to address a few of your comments:

Our establishment is called Panamint Springs Resort, because it was so named in 1937 when it was built. If you look up the word resort, it means "a place to which people frequently or generally go for relaxation or pleasure." We have a lot of regular customers who enjoy coming to Panamint Springs and actually prefer it to Furnace Creek, which is a little more impersonal and touristy.

Flies are a problem this time of year all over the park, not just Panamint Springs. Any establishment that has "motel" style rooms, (Furnace Creek & Stovepipe Wells included) in which the door to the room opens directly to the outdoors, will have such a problem. All of our doors close properly. The only reason for flies being in the room is that they slipped in when you or one of the housekeepers opened the door.

Our General Store is NOT a trailer, in fact it is a very large, open building. Our gas is similarly priced to Stovepipe Wells and Furnace Creek. Sometimes Furnace Creek is more expensive, and sometimes we are, it just depends on the delivery price. Our gas and merchandise is definitely more expensive that it would be in a large city. Your can't compare oranges and apples.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Panamint Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panamint Springs Resort

Address: 40440 Hwy 190, 32 Miles West of Stovepipe Wells, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panamint Springs is a small western-style resort seated in the beautiful Panamint Valley in Death Valley National Park. Marvelous views of distant sand dunes and the soaring 11,000' Panamint Mountains complete the setting for leisure dining and relaxation. Panamint Springs offers 14 motel rooms & 1 cottage, restaurant, campgrounds, RV park, gas station, and mini-mart. Our motel rooms are very basic, but clean. Our rooms are cooled with an evaporative cooling system. Some units offer their own A/C window unit in addition to this. We are pet friendly, however additional fees apply. If you are planning on doing some exploring, you'll find that Panamint Springs makes a great base camp for neighboring ghost towns, abandoned mines, and even desert waterfalls. Great for 4-wheel drive exploring, hiking, biking, or just relaxing! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Panamint Springs Hotel Death Valley National Park
Hotel Panamint Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panamint Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.