We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends on what you expect” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Panamint Springs Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Death Valley National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Panamint Springs Resort
Save
You added Panamint Springs Resort to your Saves list
40440 Hwy 190, 32 Miles West of Stovepipe Wells, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Depends on what you expect”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This place is in the middle of the desert without a phone line or anything else. all you get is a room with a bathroom, 1 restaurant (with very nice food and very different beers) and 1 gas station. this hotel is just thought for over night stays during you travel through death valley. you don't get tv or anything else in this hotel (just a slow wifi over satellite).

it is in the middle of nowhere.

+ clean rooms
+ fresh water
+ AC in the rooms
+ good food at the restaurant
+ very much beers at the restaurant
+ good price


- restaurant stops serving food at 9 pm or something
- breakfast is to expensive and you get almost nothing (Don't recommend that!!)
- can't power off the AC (of course, because it would take too long to cool down the room again)
- drinking water was expensive

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    135
    115
    64
    90
See reviews for
95
207
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This place is just right for a quick overnight stop on your way through death valley. Ok so the rooms are old and there is no tv but it is clean and they have air con. The staff are amazing at the gas station and the pub (all part of the "resort")The guys at the gas station gave my husband and I tons of information on death valley, they drew us maps, travel times and all with a smile. I can honestly say they were so very helpful. This place is catered to the hungry and the tired, great food and a place to take a shower while you travel through or explore this incredible wilderness. This is not a place to sit by a pool. The wifi is slow but that's to be expected we are in a desert. The rooms could use an upgrade but in all honesty this place did the job well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Panamint Springs "Resort" is truly a rustic, Western-style motel as you find it described on their homepage. We (family: 50, 49, 15, 8 years of age) had a cabin room furnished with two King Size beds, a high-board, a table and a chair , all of them well-used but serving the purpose, which was for us to sleep after a day in the heat of the desert. We did not want to watch TV nor use our computers (which you could as there is wireless lan). The room was not equipped with a refrigerator but you could buy ice at the nearby store. We enjoyed our dinner sitting on the porch under the star - spangled banner (as well as true stars) . We had a pizza "hawaii" which was homemade and covered with fresh pineapple. A real treat! The breakfast buffet was also okay. Due to wrong expectations people might complain about the lack of cleanliness of tables and chairs. Well, yes, it could be better but we compare it to the mountain hostels/huts in the Austrian Alps. It is rustic and has a character of its own. Special care had been given to the perfect bathrooms, though. We were surprised to find that much luxury in the wilderness. Everything was brand-new: sink, mirror, toilet, huge shower, closet, marvellous white towels. In addition we found samples of soap, shampoo. The only "bad" thing in our room was the air-conditioning which was running all night . It came out of the ceiling ( a big hole, the end of a tunnel system) with undescribable power and as noisy as was the overnight atlantic flight. NEVERTHELESS.: tired as we were we slept well all night. We have been to many different hotels on our trip through California (for example, we stayed at the Hyatt Regency chain) but Panamint Springs was something special with its unique atmosphere and setting.
Panamint Springs is our son´s (15) favourite accomodation. He would rate it with five stars plus!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

First of all... This hotel is nowhere near a "resort". Our room was a cabin, decorated in 1960's style. There was nothing on the walls, the bathroom was horrible, and there we flies in the room because the front door didn't shut all the way. As we were in the middle of the desert, it was dirty and dusty... everywhere. The "general store" is a trailer that has a small selection of overpriced items. And the gas is $2.00 more per gallon, as there is nowhere else to get it. The "restaurant" food was good. The restaurant is a room with 10 tables. The waitress seemed mad that she had to work. Overall, this was a HORRIBLE experience. I would rather go camping outdoors. If you are going to Death Valley, do yourself a favor and stay at the Furnace Creek Resort, located in Death Valley. It was beautiful and had a gorgeous view. Also had a pool, which would have been nice after spending the day in 120 degree heat. The higher price is WELL worth it.

Room Tip: Get a room at Furnance Creek Resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here. I would like to address a few of your comments:

Our establishment is called Panamint Springs Resort, because it was so named in 1937 when it was built. If you look up the word resort, it means "a place to which people frequently or generally go for relaxation or pleasure." We have a lot of regular customers who enjoy coming to Panamint Springs and actually prefer it to Furnace Creek, which is a little more impersonal and touristy.

Flies are a problem this time of year all over the park, not just Panamint Springs. Any establishment that has "motel" style rooms, (Furnace Creek & Stovepipe Wells included) in which the door to the room opens directly to the outdoors, will have such a problem. All of our doors close properly. The only reason for flies being in the room is that they slipped in when you or one of the housekeepers opened the door.

Our General Store is NOT a trailer, in fact it is a very large, open building. Our gas is similarly priced to Stovepipe Wells and Furnace Creek. Sometimes Furnace Creek is more expensive, and sometimes we are, it just depends on the delivery price. Our gas and merchandise is definitely more expensive that it would be in a large city. Your can't compare oranges and apples.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Did an overnight stop here and found whilst things were basic, they were clean, the aircon worked fine, good shower and liked the make up remover tissues in the amenities. Staff very friendly, and we shared a wonderful tasty pizza with a view from the restaurant verandah out the front, looking over the valley area, very ambient as the sun sets. And, who could argue with 180 different types of beer .. it's a resort without a pool, but the beer is fantastic, especially if you are from Oz ... and the stars at night are as good as ours too. One of our memorable and favourite stops on our roadie around USA/Canada.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I've stayed here before in the campsite in an RV, and then this year we came back to stay in the motel itself.

The room was basic, but fine. The AC is a little noisy, but does a surprisingly good job of keeping the room cool and comfortable. The restaurant serves great food and there's an impressive beer selection too. Breakfast is nothing special, but it's a decent buffet. There is no TV, but there is WiFi...which struggles to keep up with more than 5 or 6 people trying to use it, so get up early if you want to surf without frustration - or just get up early and look at the stars or the sunrise in the fantastic clear sky over the mountains.

The staff were very friendly and helpful - and when I left my phone charger in my room they posted it to me (a 70 mile round trip to the post office for them) for only $15.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind and honest review. I'm glad you received your cord. We hope to see you visiting again in the future.

The internet is a satellite connection, and can be slow during peak hours. After 11pm our bandwidth opens up, so the speed is much quicker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This review takes into account the remote location and incredibly harsh conditions with which the Panamint Springs has to contend. The term 'resort' is a misnomer, but you will find a clean and quaintly charming motel in an ideal location for exploring Death Valley. The staff were particularly friendly and eager to share their knowledge of the area. Dinner was actually pretty good considering where we were. Breakfast wasn't great and you don't get much for $10. There is no pool, which is a shame as a dip would have really hit the spot. In the hot months make sure you request one of the handful of rooms with AC when booking. The swamp cooling system will get the temperature from 120 to the 80s, but you'll need the extra AC to get into the more comfortable 70s. If you are a light sleeper my biggest piece of advice is to bring earplugs because both cooling systems are very loud and you might not get much sleep without them. The gas here is slightly more expensive than the Chevron at Furnace Creek and much more than outside the park. A few more tips: if you enter the park from the west, pull over and have a look at the Joshua tree 'forest' at elevations above 4000 feet, it's quite something. At night look up at the stars--Death Valley displays one of the most fantastic night skies I have ever seen. In conclusion, if you are fine with basic accommodation this is a good choice, and apart from the 5 star luxury resort at Furnace Creek (which is obviously way more expensive) the other options in Death valley don't look much better. We would come back again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind and honest review! We hope you will return to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Panamint Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panamint Springs Resort

Address: 40440 Hwy 190, 32 Miles West of Stovepipe Wells, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panamint Springs is a small western-style resort seated in the beautiful Panamint Valley in Death Valley National Park. Marvelous views of distant sand dunes and the soaring 11,000' Panamint Mountains complete the setting for leisure dining and relaxation. Panamint Springs offers 14 motel rooms & 1 cottage, restaurant, campgrounds, RV park, gas station, and mini-mart. Our motel rooms are very basic, but clean. Our rooms are cooled with an evaporative cooling system. Some units offer their own A/C window unit in addition to this. We are pet friendly, however additional fees apply. If you are planning on doing some exploring, you'll find that Panamint Springs makes a great base camp for neighboring ghost towns, abandoned mines, and even desert waterfalls. Great for 4-wheel drive exploring, hiking, biking, or just relaxing! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Panamint Springs Hotel Death Valley National Park
Hotel Panamint Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panamint Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.