We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stovepipe Wells Village, Some Improvements over Last Year” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stovepipe Wells Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Stovepipe Wells Village to your Saves list
Stovepipe Wells Village
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
Hotel amenities
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Stovepipe Wells Village, Some Improvements over Last Year”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stay at Stovepipe Wells Village when we run our photo workshops in Death Valley, and we have seen improvements over the past several years. This year, there was new bedding, a spruced-up business center, and at least, if requested, some gluten-free bread.

The staff is very friendly, except for one in reception, but overall, they cannot do enough for you.

The rooms are comfortable, although the bathtubs could definitely use a better cleaning, and I am not talking about the unavoidable rust stains. The toilet and sink areas, however, were very clean.

Reception is friendly, although some of our group had issued with their keys not working. They were accommodating, however, allowing access to the rooms before official check-in time if the rooms were ready.

The saloon is comfortable, and the burgers were cooked just the way I like them. Being gluten-free, there is little choice on the menu, but the kitchen tried to accommodate.

Breakfast has a wide choice of eggs, French toast, pancakes, bacon, sausage, etc. The cereals, however, are all gluten-full when it would be so easy to do Rice Chex. I suggested this last year, but change comes slowly.

Also, they do not advertise that they have gluten-free bread. A small, discreet notice on the menu would be helpful.

The location works very well for us. We do our imaging in the saloon with drinks and supper brought to us.

Again, the staff is generally terrific, and compared to the other options in Death Valley, this hotel is reasonably priced.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    412
    222
    71
    20
See reviews for
202
453
49
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Check-In smooth and fast. Friendly staff at Reception.We booked Deluxe Room Sand Dune view . It has a very good location. We had Dinner and Breakfast at Toll Road Restaurant which was prepared and served well. Friendly service.

Highly recommended for stay in Death Valley.

Room Tip: Deluxe Sand Dune View Rooms have good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We were in Death Valley over Thanksgiving. The best meal we had over the entire weekend was at the restaurant in Stovepipe Wells. Great bar as well. Very happy we stopped there for dinner. There are not many choices when in Death Valley or outside of the park. I have eaten at this restaurant in the past and the meal was great that time also.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fremont, ca
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed for a night over the recent Thanksgiving break at Stove pipe wells village in death valley. We were greatly impressed with what death valley itself had to offer. The desert scenery was great and my wife being an avid photographer, found a number of spots and location to take some memorable shots. Death valley itself has a number of spots such the badwater basin, the rhyloite ghost town, the zabrinski point, among others which kept us busy visiting the whole day.

Stove pipe wells otoh was a huge disappointment. The only saving grace were the sand dunes. We did go on an early morning hike on the sand dunes and took some wonderful shots of the rising sun.
Other than that, most other visitor points of interest are way closer to furnace creek than here. The stove pipe wells village itself has a Saloon, a restaurant and a general store to go with the hotel accommodations. Those are the only good points I can score for them.
For the Bad: The hotels rooms were like ordinary motels and nothing much better than what you would find at a Motel 6 or something like that. But you may find yourself paying 3-4 times more! Also, everything here like in the general store or gas station or even the restaurant was way more expensive than what we could find at furnace creek village area.
Now for the Worse: The bed in our room had springs that poked our backs. They seriously need to replace those beds as we found sleeping on it almost impossible. Also the water available there in their taps (water fountains) has an odd taste and can easily upset ones tummy. I would stay away from that water. They claim it is from a nearby spring and they purify it with some reverse osmosis process. I would stick to bottled water. Surprisingly, we found the water at furnace creek village area did not taste like this at all. Maybe they had a better purification process. Incidentally we found that the furnace creek was run by Xanterra who run most of the other national park lodges we had been to.
So in summary, I would visit stove pipe wells village for the Sand dunes but stay at furnace creek the next time around.

Room Tip: They charged extra for a deluxe room with a view to the sand dunes. The view was only outside of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My boyfriend made the reservation to this spot.
Conveniently located to the sand dunes and mosaic canyon.

Pluses:
great breakfast buffet
Service is great, customer service at front desk friendly
Dog friendly
No radio, no telephones or televisions

Minuses:
No wifi in the rooms, must go to the small common area or the saloon
Glasses in room were not clean
Room smelled musty and old
You can hear through the walls
Not double paned windows
No microwave
Beds not that comfortable
Rooms are well heated
Walking distance to a few sites

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Very rustic with a very friendly staff and good food. We came to photograph and this was the perfect place to stay for that pioneer feeling. The last time we were there was in January 2010. The drop down below did not go back that far.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands of Scotland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We called in for coffee and found the staff so helpful that we came back for a great lunch after visiting nearby Mozaic Canyon. they were setting up for a film night (see review below) but as we were staying down the road never got back for it. sound great fun! we were also able to get limited wifi, thank you so much.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stovepipe_Wells, Manager at Stovepipe Wells Village, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Ostaigperson,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Badwater Saloon! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff, lunch and location near Mosaic Canyon. We are honored to be able to provide services in Death Valley National Park. We hope to see you again in the future and maybe next time you’ll catch our Movie Night. Please don’t hesitate to contact me to assist with future reservations.

Kind regards,

Bekah Hiestand
Front Desk Manager
Stovepipe Wells Village
760-786-2387
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stovepipe Wells Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stovepipe Wells Village

Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Stovepipe Wells Village 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Stovepipe Wells Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel Death Valley National Park
Stovepipe Wells Village Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stovepipe Wells Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.