We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and tired motel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stovepipe Wells Village

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Death Valley National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stovepipe Wells Village
Save Saved
You added Stovepipe Wells Village to your Saves list
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
Hotel amenities
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Old and tired motel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

My teen & I stayed here on New Years eve. Our room was located in a building around the side and towards the back of the property. The furniture, carpet, bedding & decor was beyond dated, in *great need of a remodel. The beds were uncomfortable. I went to the office for pillows to attempt to arrange for comfort. It was necessary for us to walk between & around other buildings for us to get to the office, shop & restaurant. The outdoor lighting was dim, decidedly insufficient. Being in the back location in this old room, it was creepy...so much so that my daughter demanded to sleep in the car instead, and would have if I'd allowed. The extra pillows provided little comfort for we both slept terribly. We dined at the restaurant, and were disappointed with the New Year's limited menu offerings (only about 4 entree choices) & excessive holiday price tag. We were informed wifi was offered, but it was non-existent during our stay. There was no telephone in our room. Without any other means of contact, the office staff kindly allowed us to use their line for a quick call home. The souvenir shop adjacent to the office had a sizable selection of lovely genuine turquoise jewelry pieces at reasonable prices, and the saleswoman was knowledgeable & friendly. Staff at the restaurant & office were friendly as well. All in all, our room & building area had the appearance of an old, run-down roadside motel that I'd never consider if I hadn't reserved in advance online with my credit card charged. Unfortunately, accommodations are limited in Death Valley. The following night we stayed at the Furnace Creek Ranch (for the same rate!!!) & found our cabin to be lovely, as was the overall atmosphere at the Ranch.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stovepipe_Wells, Manager at Stovepipe Wells Village, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear CocoGracieandMe,

Thank you for staying with us at Stovepipe Wells, located in the heart of Death Valley National Park. We appreciate your compliments on our friendly front desk, retail and restaurant staff. Since January, we have undergone many property changes with our new management team. We are happy to say that we have upgraded most of our room furniture and purchased all new bed linens. We agree that our property is dimly lit but it is surprisingly meant to be this way. The National Park Service implemented our outdoor light system, so we could reduce our light impact for guests viewing the tremendous desert night skies. Death Valley National Park was recently designated as an International Dark Sky Park by the International Dark Sky Association. I apologize for our limited access to the internet; we have recognized this as an issue, and currently only offer Wi-Fi in our Guest Lounge and Badwater Saloon. We take our guest comments seriously and appreciate your feedback and strive to continuously improve. We encourage you to come back again and enjoy this rugged and beautiful landscape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    380
    200
    63
    19
See reviews for
196
418
42
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Lake Tahoe, California
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The location is the best part of this motel - Xanterra knows this and charges accordingly. For what they’re charging the facilities should be much nicer.

The room was simple, but reasonably clean. The furnishings are a bit tired and garish. The air conditioner roared and squeeked, and the bathroom is on the small side, with absolutely no storage or counter space. The refrigerator came in handy as did the coffee maker.

The free ice maker was a life saver. The pool was pleasant and mostly clean, considering all the wind/dust storms. Wifi and cell service are nonexistent. There is a general store, restaurant and bar on site. Although overworked, their staff is professional and pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here in May for 1 night on our way to Las Vegas.

The outside looks fab being in the dessert and having an authentic accommodation.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was a little over priced but food was fine.

The rooms were fine not great and not great air conditioning.

We would be happy to stay again. Its close to the sand dunes and other sites are around an hour or so away but being such a huge national park that would be the case anywhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stovepipe Wells is a great location for getting around Death Valley and it serves its purpose well. It is not luxurious, nor is it haute cuisine, but that's not what we were looking for. Location is all and the service, rooms and food are all fine for a remote location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Stovepipe Wells. It is a lovely hotel/model in the middle of the desert, so there is a few things to point out.
- You will love the pool, which is cool enough to enjoy when it is 45 degrees outside.
- You will appreciate the ice distributor, because there is no cold water in the room - even when you turn the cold water on, you get hot water.
- The only places you can get food from are the general store and the restaurant, and they close at 10pm.
- Food and goods are a bit expensive, but after all, you are in the desert.
- The two double beds room can get a bit tiny when you are four sharing it.
- The gift shop is actually quite good, and not too tacky-touristy.
- The fuel is cheaper there than in Furnace Creek so fill up the tank before heading south-east.
I would definitely stay again, the staff is great, there is a computer room with board games. And you can go watch the sunset in the dunes, 2 minutes away by car. If you are planning to go to Death Valley, definitely stop there!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in June 2013 as part of our Honeymoon. I know, nothing says romance quite like roasting to death in Death Valley! What can I say, I am the last of the true romantics!
It should be pointed out that the motel isn't at Stovepipe Wells - it IS Stovepipe Wells!

Other than the general store/gas station across the road, there's nothing else here. If you arrive late and have missed the restaurant & general store's closing, you've had it!

We had booked directly with the motel and the check in went smoothly enough, although there was a bit of a queue. The staff were pleasant enough.

A word of warning when you get to your room - if the door is bathed in sunlight, be wary of the door handle: it will be red hot.

Opened the door to the room and it became immediately apparent that the room hadn't been service by housekeeping. The dirty bed linens were pilled up in the middle of the bed. There was also a terrible smell coming from the bathroom.

My wife went back to reception to report the problem with the bed whilst I brought our bags in from the car. I also investigated the smell in the bathroom. It stemmed from the fact that the toilet was blocked - completely.

I joined my wife in reception and had to wait approximately 15 minutes to be served again (it was busy in there and a group of French tourists were having problems with their credit cards.) We were eventually moved to a different room, which was much better.

The food in the restaurant was, we felt, expensive and of not particularly good quality. The breakfast buffet was terrible. It was clear that the food had been standing there for quite some time and had congealed.

To be fair, it wasn't all bad - their pool was excellent. It made a nice, refreshing way to relax and was open until midnight. In the main, the staff were very friendly and chatty. It is just a shame that so little care seems to be taken with the food and cleanliness.

Room Tip: Don't miss closing time - or make sure you've got food and water. If you don't it is goi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stovepipe_Wells, Manager at Stovepipe Wells Village, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Wildsnaps,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Stovepipe Wells Village, located in the heart of Death Valley National Park. I am glad you enjoyed our pool to cool down in the evening and interacting with our pleasant staff. I am sorry our internal miscommunication created an undesirable situation upon arrival to your room. I apologize for the inconvenience we caused you and assure you that we take our guest responses seriously. Please know I have shared your review with our management, front desk, and housekeeping staff to ensure that we do not open rooms until they have gone through our inspection process. We strive for continuous improvement and will use your valuable feedback to advance our hotel and restaurant and hope to improve future guest experiences. Thank you again for your review and for staying with us, we hope to see you again at Stovepipe Wells Village. I would like to speak to you further about your stay and make this up to you, please contact me at 760-786-2605.

Kind regards,

Lee Nelson
Director of Lodging
760-786-2605
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
534 reviews 534 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 172 cities Reviews in 172 cities
296 helpful votes 296 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This place is a real surprise. About 25 miles from Death Valley National Park Visitors Centre and Furnace Creek but perfectly located for our 3 days and 2 nights exploring the national park. All facilities are in one location including general store with gas station, gift shop, saloon, restaurant, rec area and pool open until midnight. On offer is all you need at the end of an active day. I suggest in this location you book a room that includes refrigerator and TV, not in all rooms. Rooms are spacious but don't bother paying more for a room with a view, you walk outside for that. Aircon is noisy (needs upgrade) but ceiling fan was perfectly adequate for a quiet night's sleep. Everything clean and modern. Plenty of parking and friendly staff. Wifi in rec area fair at best. Great place and good value. Given you are hostage to restaurant, it is fairly priced and reasonable value for meals, as is breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stovepipe Wells Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stovepipe Wells Village

Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stovepipe Wells Village 2.5*
Also Known As:
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel Death Valley National Park
Stovepipe Wells Village Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stovepipe Wells Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.