We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic, very expensive accommodations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel to your Saves list
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
South Lake Tahoe, California
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Very basic, very expensive accommodations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The location is the best part of this motel - Xanterra knows this and charges accordingly. For what they’re charging the facilities should be much nicer.

The room was simple, but reasonably clean. The furnishings are a bit tired and garish. The air conditioner roared and squeeked, and the bathroom is on the small side, with absolutely no storage or counter space. The refrigerator came in handy as did the coffee maker.

The free ice maker was a life saver. The pool was pleasant and mostly clean, considering all the wind/dust storms. Wifi and cell service are nonexistent. There is a general store, restaurant and bar on site. Although overworked, their staff is professional and pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    451
    247
    78
    22
See reviews for
226
497
54
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here in May for 1 night on our way to Las Vegas.

The outside looks fab being in the dessert and having an authentic accommodation.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was a little over priced but food was fine.

The rooms were fine not great and not great air conditioning.

We would be happy to stay again. Its close to the sand dunes and other sites are around an hour or so away but being such a huge national park that would be the case anywhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stovepipe Wells is a great location for getting around Death Valley and it serves its purpose well. It is not luxurious, nor is it haute cuisine, but that's not what we were looking for. Location is all and the service, rooms and food are all fine for a remote location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Stovepipe Wells. It is a lovely hotel/model in the middle of the desert, so there is a few things to point out.
- You will love the pool, which is cool enough to enjoy when it is 45 degrees outside.
- You will appreciate the ice distributor, because there is no cold water in the room - even when you turn the cold water on, you get hot water.
- The only places you can get food from are the general store and the restaurant, and they close at 10pm.
- Food and goods are a bit expensive, but after all, you are in the desert.
- The two double beds room can get a bit tiny when you are four sharing it.
- The gift shop is actually quite good, and not too tacky-touristy.
- The fuel is cheaper there than in Furnace Creek so fill up the tank before heading south-east.
I would definitely stay again, the staff is great, there is a computer room with board games. And you can go watch the sunset in the dunes, 2 minutes away by car. If you are planning to go to Death Valley, definitely stop there!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in June 2013 as part of our Honeymoon. I know, nothing says romance quite like roasting to death in Death Valley! What can I say, I am the last of the true romantics!
It should be pointed out that the motel isn't at Stovepipe Wells - it IS Stovepipe Wells!

Other than the general store/gas station across the road, there's nothing else here. If you arrive late and have missed the restaurant & general store's closing, you've had it!

We had booked directly with the motel and the check in went smoothly enough, although there was a bit of a queue. The staff were pleasant enough.

A word of warning when you get to your room - if the door is bathed in sunlight, be wary of the door handle: it will be red hot.

Opened the door to the room and it became immediately apparent that the room hadn't been service by housekeeping. The dirty bed linens were pilled up in the middle of the bed. There was also a terrible smell coming from the bathroom.

My wife went back to reception to report the problem with the bed whilst I brought our bags in from the car. I also investigated the smell in the bathroom. It stemmed from the fact that the toilet was blocked - completely.

I joined my wife in reception and had to wait approximately 15 minutes to be served again (it was busy in there and a group of French tourists were having problems with their credit cards.) We were eventually moved to a different room, which was much better.

The food in the restaurant was, we felt, expensive and of not particularly good quality. The breakfast buffet was terrible. It was clear that the food had been standing there for quite some time and had congealed.

To be fair, it wasn't all bad - their pool was excellent. It made a nice, refreshing way to relax and was open until midnight. In the main, the staff were very friendly and chatty. It is just a shame that so little care seems to be taken with the food and cleanliness.

Room Tip: Don't miss closing time - or make sure you've got food and water. If you don't it is goi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stovepipe_Wells, Manager at Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Wildsnaps,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Stovepipe Wells Village, located in the heart of Death Valley National Park. I am glad you enjoyed our pool to cool down in the evening and interacting with our pleasant staff. I am sorry our internal miscommunication created an undesirable situation upon arrival to your room. I apologize for the inconvenience we caused you and assure you that we take our guest responses seriously. Please know I have shared your review with our management, front desk, and housekeeping staff to ensure that we do not open rooms until they have gone through our inspection process. We strive for continuous improvement and will use your valuable feedback to advance our hotel and restaurant and hope to improve future guest experiences. Thank you again for your review and for staying with us, we hope to see you again at Stovepipe Wells Village. I would like to speak to you further about your stay and make this up to you, please contact me at 760-786-2605.

Kind regards,

Lee Nelson
Director of Lodging
760-786-2605
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
655 reviews 655 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 198 cities Reviews in 198 cities
373 helpful votes 373 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This place is a real surprise. About 25 miles from Death Valley National Park Visitors Centre and Furnace Creek but perfectly located for our 3 days and 2 nights exploring the national park. All facilities are in one location including general store with gas station, gift shop, saloon, restaurant, rec area and pool open until midnight. On offer is all you need at the end of an active day. I suggest in this location you book a room that includes refrigerator and TV, not in all rooms. Rooms are spacious but don't bother paying more for a room with a view, you walk outside for that. Aircon is noisy (needs upgrade) but ceiling fan was perfectly adequate for a quiet night's sleep. Everything clean and modern. Plenty of parking and friendly staff. Wifi in rec area fair at best. Great place and good value. Given you are hostage to restaurant, it is fairly priced and reasonable value for meals, as is breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night on road trip round West US. The room could not be described as luxurious but it was clean, comfortable and had every amenity needed including a coffee maker which is something we didn't get in Vegas. The toiletries were really special too. The air conditioning was effective if a little noisy; as it was 50 degrees outside we were just grateful it was there. Happy with our choice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel

Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stovepipe Wells Village hotels, located right in Death Valley National Park is the ultimate destination for adventure travelers. Authentically western, rustic yet comfortable, Stovepipe Wells Village, with its unique hotel, Death Valley restaurant and Western saloon, has been at the end of the trail for vacationers since 1926. After hiking around the badlands, sand dunes and canyons, Stovepipe Wells hotels in Death Valley is more than a welcome sight with our friendly, knowledgeable staff, great food and cold drinks. It's a place where history is made and legends born. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel Death Valley National Park
Stovepipe Wells Village Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.